We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place, don't waste your money.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SunSplash Hotel

SunSplash Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added SunSplash Hotel to your Saves list
SunSplash Hotel
19th Computer Lane New Achimota | Mile-7, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 157 Accra B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horrible place, don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

i booked sunsplash hotel in accra after I read great reviews on line, only to have the shock of my life.
They agreed to pick me at the airport which they didn't happen. Their telephone was not working which they blamed on roadworks. They showed a picture of palm trees which has nothing to do with the hotel. Deceptive marketing. they claimed hotel was 10 mins from airport, it ia actually over 30mins on dusty road. The hotel is very dirty, from the outside, and the inside is even worse. no flowing water, it comes in drips.. Hotwater-forget it. You will be lucky to have your bath. the white bedsheets have become brown through dirt. when I asked that the bedsheet be changed , They asked whether i have my own bedsheet?. I asked for hotwater as i did not want to even request breakfast in such a dirty place. after 40mins of waiting they came with a broken pot of warm water. one lodger asked for breakfast, they run to buy some food from the road side. This is the worst I have seen. I think the authorities have to quickly close the place down. The room are full of mosquitoes.
They use 'prepaid electricity' which often goes off. the generator is never on.My God what a horrible experience. I am not sure how I survived the night.I later on moved to Capital court hotel at tesano which was cheaper and with better service. Accra is a beautiful, just don't lodge at sunsplash. .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent five wonderful nights in this hotel and I can honestly say it's a peaceful place to be.At the airport I realised that I had left my Notebook,usb cable and digital camera in my hotel room so I called the reception.They immediately sent the items to me here in UK by DHL at the hotel's expense.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

when i came to ghana sun splash hotel's manager was already at the airport waiting for with the company's car and drive me safely to the hotel premises which looks like paradise.
They have a nice reception and modern facilities and internet service in each with dstv aswel

Room Tip: the last room on your left hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I always stay in this hotel whenever I'm in Accra and it has always been brilliant. The courtesy of the staff, the tidiness and tranquillity of the hotel impressed me most.The beds are very comfy.I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Accra.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My Second visit to this hotel. I really like it, the Service I was given was super.
It's very peaceful there and you can relax very well.
Breakfast has always tasted good and the service was also very polite.
The evenings were also very quiet without any noise.
I highly recommend this Hotel to everyone traveling to Ghana
Pokaje

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011 via mobile

Whatever this hotel might have been; I never got to experience it. I had made a reservation and arranged for a taxi from the hotel to pick me up. I called before leaving. On arrival, I called again only to be told that there was a mix up and I wasn't being expected!!!!

Still willing to give them a chance, I requested for another taxi which I was informed would get to the airport in 30mins. I called again 30 minis later and was told; there was traffic. After another 30 minutes, I was told they would contact the driver and get back to me. They didn't. I called 30 minutes later and no one would pick my call. It was a really frustrating experience. I had to talk to the airport taxi drivers; they didn't know where the hotel was. So I ended up being taken to another hotel.

I doubt if I would ever stay @ the hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

It was my second time at this hotel and the staff gave me a warm reception.They were really nice.My room was tidy and the air-condition was perfect. The manager arranged with a nice taxi driver for me to the airport .i will stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunSplash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSplash Hotel

Address: 19th Computer Lane New Achimota | Mile-7, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunsplash Hotel is located at New Achimota mile 7 just ten minutes from the airport. 17 executive rooms (twin and double) all fully air conditioned and equipped with satellite TV, refrigerator, en-suite bathroom (hot&cold bath), and ceiling fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your SunSplash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunSplash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.