We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & nice ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Tapas Bar

Toro Tapas Bar
Liberation Avenue, Accra, Ghana
+233 20 226 1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 159 Restaurants in Accra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It took forever for Tapas Fever to hit Western Africa, but this spot in Afrikiko makes up for all those years. As the city's first Spanish tapas bar, Toro Tapas Bar fills a culinary niche. Quintessentially Spanish, our fresh and exciting menu offers something for everyone. With dishes from the sea, the field and the garden our tapas dishes are sincerely Spanish and our paella's always deliver on flavour.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food & nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Decided to try Toro Tapas in Afrikiko for a lite business lunch today, great choice of Tapas on the "menu" - actually on the tablet instead of on paper, I didnt expect that in Accra. The selection is good, Vege, Meat, Seafood etc and the taste is pretty good too. Service was a little slow eventhough we were the only guests but the ambience and the tasty food more than make up for it. Well worth a try, even if it is a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice service, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've to say that I like afrikiko, so first the location for Toros is very good, the tapas are also very good, They have several options and well prepared, and tasty. The "Piquitos de solomillo" is one of my favorites.

The place have a nice "Spanish" ambiance, Last time I seated inside and I was surprise to hear some spanish music like ketama, kiko veneno, some flamenco, etc. I also have a good surprise when I noted that one of the waiters was learning Spanish, I have a nice time making her practice her Spanish :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Spanish food and decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first introduction to spanish food and we selected toro bar on recommendation of a friend.

As soon as we reached the place, the warm welcome, lovely spanish setting with red shades and toro elements around, we were prepared for an excellent evening.

Then, maitre gave us a detail of what to expect and what to choose basis our preferences and he was spot on.

We loved our food and whole experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoradi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deliciously Spanish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Delicious and consistent food. Live in Takoradi and visit this place every time i am in Accra. Consistent food and service, one of the best in Accra. Only disappointment is the terrace which is shared with other restaurant is really noisy with loud and not good music from another restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
“best mojito ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Toro tapas bar is just an amazing place. i spent hours there. is located at afrikiko and thus very central but is very quiet too and a wonderful place to hang out. The food is delicious and so are the drinks. Especially recommendable are the fried aubergines with feta and honey and the mojito.
The staff is very friendly and obliging. I really loved being there:)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Tapas Bar also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Toro Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.