We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel next to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Accra Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 19 & 20 | Airport City, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Grosseto, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“good hotel next to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is placed so close to Accra airport and it offers a very good shuttle service. Personnel is courteous and experienced. The rooms are enough comfortable and clean. Breakfast has a large variety of international dishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    121
    88
    29
    12
See reviews for
10
15
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The only reason that I opted to stay at this hotel since it is very close to the airport and commuting and avoiding traffic scene between Tema and Accra highway. I had booked this online for 5 days and was shocked to see that Holiday Inn Accra was not even bothered to review your booking at the reception desk. They insisted me to show my records of booking and then when I asked them if I am going to get an upgrade as I was a gold elite member (normaly I get this previlage when I stay at Holiday Inn) they simply refused and said this is not a policy with Holiday Inn Accra and upgarde is only for platinum members.

I was pretty upset as I had been offerred by Holiday Inn at all other locations, the reception desk was not even bothered. I decided to cut short my stay and asked my office colleage to book my next day and balance nos of stay at Royal Nick Hotel in Tema. All that these people said was that there are no rooms available for upgrade and even if it is there they cannot give. The service at the front office is very poor and gave me an impression as "not bothered, if you want to stay .. stay otherwise find your own stay somewhere else"

I stayed just one night and shifted the next day to Royal Nick Hotel. The rooms were pathetic and found cockroach and smelly. Bad smell was continously coming from bathroom. Old furniture gave a bad rainy drenched smell / odur. It was dreadful experience for me to stay there.

Could not get a good food to eat as the limited items of food was listed in the room service menu, you ask for water it comes after christmas. Breakfast spread was also not very exciting. Frankly quite a disgusting experince and will nto recommed anyone to opt for this hotel as an option.

Please try to avoid staying at this hotel even if you have to stay at some other hotel and pay a little more as this hotel is not worth paying this amount for the kind of service and attitude of people working.

When I was checking out, the front office asked me why I am checking out earlier when I had booked for 5 days, I explained to her my problem and issues that I faced just in one day. She asked if I want to speak to the duty manager, I replied I have no issues, to my surprise she went inside his office and told the story, this man did not even came out to greet nor respond, I was told that he is busy, I left this hotel with more bitter to taste of this hotel.

I only hope through Trip Advisor, some one at the top Holiday Inn management reviews this property of theirs as it is loosing its market in Ghana.

Room Tip: No advise as I would request to avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear DeepakAmin,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold Elite member and for leaving us a feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay in particular with guest services, room quality and cleanliness and breakfast option. Also, we regret that you were not given a room upgrade as this is subject to hotel's availability. We do always ensure we provide the benefits according to each level of our loyalty scheme. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

After a long flight and arriving late at night the experience at the hotel was just dreadful. At check in I was served promptly by robotic staff and allocated a room.

Went up to my room, opened the door only to find that someone is already in the room! The poor women got out of bed with such a fright, I apologised and went back to reception. (stairs and two suitcases along)

Reception apologised (not sincere at all) and started talking to each other in another language while finding me another room.

Went up to the next room and found the cleaning trolley parked outside the room and the lights and TV on, I thought it was strange for a room be cleaned at 23:00. I walked in and was just shocked! The cleaning lady had put a towel on the floor and was asleep on it - she had her cellphone plugged in next to her with music playing (she had to have been there for a while as she was snoring)

Now really angry went back to reception, the usual sorry and yet another room allocated. Got to the room and it smelt really bad, it was a smoking room. The room also had this damp smell and feel to it. The carpets were really dirty.

The bathroom was tired, shower in the bath but served its purpose.

Food quality was a hit and miss, breakfast was fairly ok but dinner - stay away. On night two I ordered fish and chips which was inedible.

All in all for the price I would stay elsewhere - there is better options in Accra in the same price range even close to the airport. Staff are clearly not trained well and the hotel as seen better days - its time for a refurb!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAccra, General Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us, We met each other at the hotel a few months ago having shown you around the hotel as a Travel Agent.

I apologised for the very poor first impression you received on arrival, and I have taken measures to ensure this incident is not repeated.

As for the food quality you and your colleges actually commented on how nice the food was.

Please contact me directly.

Kind Regards.

Bruce Potter
General Manager
Tel: +233 0262 352233
Email: bruce.potter@holidayinnaccraairport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at the hotel 3-4 March and from the moment i entered the hotel, i was disappointed.
1) Customer service at check-in was poor: no speed of service, no eye contact, seemed to prefer serving others instead of me who was patiently queuing (obviously need to be less British).
2) The room i stayed in was dreadful. It smelt of a musty/dampness that made all of my clothes smell. I was actually concerned i would catch some kind of respiratory condition. Everything needed a thorough wash when i got home.
3) food was very poor (at best). There is such good local food, but the buffet at breakfast and at dinner was bland and tasteless. I couldn't find anything i would like to eat.

For the extortionate price i paid, I will not be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAccra, General Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
April 14th 2014
Dear Guest.

I am sorry to read that my reception team did not give you the warm welcome that you deserved, I would like to apologise on behalf of the Holiday Inn Team.

I am disappointed that you were unable to find a suitable taste from our Buffet selection.

Regarding the damp smell in the bedroom, please contact me direct in order for me to fully understand this matter.

Bruce Potter
General Manager
Tel: +233 262352233
E-mail: bruce.potter@holidayinnaccraairport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

1. The gym is very small and poorly organized and maintained
2. The pool is very small
3. No sauna, jacuzzi, and massage
4. Their room service menu is very unsatisfactory with very few items
5. Cable service only offers very few channels
6. Most importantly, the staff are very inadequately trained and very very slow.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear ATMourad,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I truly regret the inconvenience you may have had with the level of customer service received and if the hotel's facilities and amenities did not suit your liking. I have taken note of your valuable feedback and this shall be addressed with the appropriate departments to ensure similar incidents are avoided in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First, I must say that unless they are airport hotels, I usually don't review hotels if I only stayed one night (the same way I don't pay much attention to reviews if the reviewer only stayed one night: in my opinion, it's not enough to make a real, thorough assessment, especially if you came the night before and left the next morning). But as this hotel sells itself as an airport hotel, it is befitting to tell how it stacks up against other airport hotels.

I ended up in this hotel because I was transiting through Accra on a return trip from neighboring Ivory Coast, to catch a KLM flight from Accra to Amsterdam. A week before, on my outbound transit through Accra, (on my way TO Ivory Coast), I had stayed at a backpacker sort of hostel in East Legon, simply because on Expedia, that hotel was one-fifth the night rate for the Holiday Inn . I was going to be only in Accra for 10 hrs between check-in and check-out, so I thought that didn't justify paying the 5 times higher room night at the Holiday Inn when a similarly-rated hotel could be found for a fraction of the H.I's room rate (both hotels are rated 3-star on Expedia). Granted, after staying at the Hotel Obama, I realized that the 1st mistake was in the rating, as perhaps the Holiday Inn is the only 3 star of the 2. (I already reviewed the other hostel, hmm,... sorry, hotel.)

First of all, the H.I Accra has an airport shuttle and does have a receptoin lounge (just as you exit the arrival hall of the Kotoka airport, before turning to the sliding glass doors that would take you outside where drivers of taxi cabs (legit or not) will pounce on you to offer their services. The lounge is air-conditioned, and if you've ever been in Accra during its hot season (which seems to be about any time in the year), you'll appreciate that lounge (however, don't expect any welcome drinks, this isn't the kind of lounge). Nonetheless, that bit of unexpected anticipation of customer needs was already a huge plus over the other (equally-rated 3-star hotel of my first transit). So, I was in high spirits and my expectations for the rest of the stay were riding high.

The ride to the hotel was really short: it might have been 5 minutes, not more. The hotel lobby was pleasant and spatious. Check-in was fairly quick: I was being ushered into my room within 15 minutes. It was a little after 6pm. My previous flight was only 1-hr long, and I wasn't very tired. So, after securing my laptop in the safe, I decided to go have dinner in the hotel's restaurant. As I was coming out in the hallway, I heard some noise of people talking loud. As I got by the eleveator, I saw some uniformed cleaning crew (why were they still there at this hour is another question). But they were talking loud to each other, right by the rooms. I went to the reception and told one of the clerks that I needed a massage. Luckily, the lady who does the massages was still in (I think they close at 7pm), and I was told to go quickly. I'm not sure if it is because I prevented the masseuse from leaving early, but she looked surly and never even asked me if the pressure was good, too much, not enough. As the massage was hurting me more than anything, I told her that I would like it a bit less firm and more sooting. Didn't register. After 30 min, she stopped. I found out later in the evening that it should have been 45 min (so she cheated me out of another 15 min). Not knowing that, I still tipped her 15% of the massage cost. Would you believe she didn't have the decency to say thank you for the tip. At that point, I couldn't hold it any more. I told her: listen, you could have said "Thank you". I don't HAVE to tip you, especially since a tip is technically a reward for good servcie, and throughout the massage, you hurt me and bruised me more than anything". She was embarrassed, she apologized and then thanked me. At that point, I no longer wanted to eat in the restaurant (so I can't tell what it looks like). Sections of my arms and legs were sore if I touched them. Went to my room and ordered some dish with gambas (it's the name for huge shrimps). It took over an hour. I had to call the kitchen twice after my initial call. But the food was good (I was hungry too). The room was very very average. In some countries, I actually prefer not to have a carpet, as I'm suspicious of how often these carpets get a good steam cleaning. The room had a section that was covered a rug/carpet. But that rug was dirty, which didn't make much sense, as I knew that this hotel was fairly new: I used to live in Ghana and when I left in 2009, that hotel wasn't there yet (the building housing the hotel had been in construction for years, abandonned and I guess taken over by H.I. after I left). So, I couldn't understand why the carpet /rug was in such bad shape. In any event, this hotel did not go through the same make-over that all the H.I hotels in the state went through some 3-4 yrs ago. I haven't stayed voluntarily at any of the H.I. hotels in the US, but one night Xmas 2012, my flight out of Atlanta was canceled and the airlines put us up in a nearby H.I. I was pleasantly surprised: new bedding, new design/decor, nice (though small) onsite deli; everything seemed brand new. In the H.I Accra, the bathroom was the most pleasant part: the toilet (or WC) was in a separate, small room with a small sink (that is handy when staying double, but I was alone) and the tub/shower was in a separate, adjacent room which had a bigger sink with more counter space. As a woman, I always appreciate to have counter space, but that night, I didn't unpack much of my skin care products as I was leaving the next morning. Remove the bathroom, and the room itself was absolutey at par with any 2-star Howard Johnson or Comfort Inn on the highways, not at all like the Holiday Inn hotels in the US as they are now.

So, if you've been at the Holiday Inn hotels in the US and are expecting the one in Accra to measure up to those, you will be in for a big and bad surprise.
Don't get me wrong. the H.I. Accra is way better than the one I stayed on on my outbound transit, but still it doesn't justify the +$300 night rate. I had vowed to never stay again at the other one, but now (I have to be honest), if I'm offered again the same rates and need to choose between the 2, I think I'll do the following (and I think you should too):
1) chose to stay at Hotel Obama for 80 bucks
2) on day of departure, get up 2 hrs before I would have if staying at the H.I Accra,
3) brave the East Legon traffic (but if your flight is in middle of the day, #2 could be reduce to 1 hr); and
4) save over 230 bucks for more pleasant endeavors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear WittyCutie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When being in town for business, we are usually staying at the Holiday Inn. Good location, close to the airport, hotel does even have an arrival lounge at the airport terminal. Transfer from the airport to the hotel, with a own shuttle. Check-in is usually fast, WIFI complimentary but sometimes weak in the rooms. Rooms are clean but a little bit outdated. Upon arrival did find fruit platter in my room. Food is good, especially the pizza is excellent. Overall a place, which can be recommended, but a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear TravelALot1061,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Address: Plot 19 & 20 | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Accra Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.