We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 star hotel - 5 star price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The African Regent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The African Regent Hotel to your Saves list
The African Regent Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2.5 star hotel - 5 star price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hmm, my first visit to Africa but probably couldn't have picked a better place to go than Ghana. Certainly a 3rd world country but what lovely people! No crime to speak of, no violence and a population that respects the rule of law. This trait spilled over into the majority (not all) of the staff. Daniel on the door is the best.

The food in Africa is very ordinary. Usually overcooked chicked and lots of carbohydrates such as baked tarot and potatoes plus heaps of (again overcooked) rice. That summed up the restaurant although to be fair, the salads were nice and fresh. Only problem is you don't know what they were washed in.

The eggs are the most aeonemic looking things where you have trouble finding where the yolk ends and the white starts. Again overcooked to 4wd tyre proportions.

However, probably the best of a bad bunch but at US$375 qa night you'd think they would remember to pick me up from the airport rather than leave me standing there for an hour, only to have to get a taxi in the end.

Would I stay there again - yes. Why - everything else is worse!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    94
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
14
17
10
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was able to spend about 10 weeks in Ghana at a worksite just out of Kumasi, so I spent a lot of time coming in and out of Accra for weekend trips. I stayed at several different hotels while in Accra and The African Regent was my favorite. The decor is elegant but culturally relevent and the service was phenominal in a country where tourism and customer service is a new concept.

What I liked best about it other than I felt I could relax, was it's location. Not only is it near the airport but it is also near the Accra Mall where I was able to enjoy some comforts of home such as going to the movie theater.

The hotel is a little pricey, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I used a day room for a 12 hour layover I had in Accra and it worked perfectly - very convenient to airport and with free shuttle to and from, large and well-kept room to shower and work, high speed internet via wifi, expansive lunch buffet and very efficient service.

It was good value and a good atmosphere - upscale African chic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was set up here in Transit to work. The room was clean, internet was slow but worked ok, the staff was amazing. They made my short visit as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was great and the hot chicken soup was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very surprised by the quality of the hotel. Other than a little confusion about room numbers, everything went very smoothly. My room was big and clean, the bed comfy and the shower had good water pressure. I experienced breakfasts only but I can say the buffet was definitely up to occidental standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was there recently for the night before and the night after a mission trip in Kumasi. This hotel is wonderful. Was wondering if we were in the states. Clean, comfy, hot water, and great food! Ten mins from the airport and walking distance to an indoor shopping mall.

Room Tip: stayed in two diff rooms, both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here recently while traveling through Accra for business. There was a slight mix-up with my reservation but the front desk took care of it in an efficient and businesslike manner. My room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The AC as wasn't on when I first went in, but it didn't take long to cool the room down. I was in room 5008, a corner suite on the 5th floor which was bigger than my condo. Very, very nice.
My friend and I ate lunch by the pool and it was reasonably priced and very good. I recommend the steak panini.
What really impressed me was the genuine friendliness of the staff, much like most of the people of Ghana I met.
Close to the airport and walking distance to bars, shops etc. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT6143, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The African Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.