We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small hotel but lovely peaple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon to your Saves list
Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon
2 Nai Tetteh St, East Legon | PO Box CT 5248, Cantonments, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 154 Accra B&B and Inns
Ustica, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“small hotel but lovely peaple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

it's a 12 room hotel which is very very small for their rate's $160 for a standard room, but i like the fact that the staff's there are very lovely. l like the very beautiful Hartwill and Mary who always greet me with my name.Mary especially calm me down with her smile's.l always like's food prepared by chef Rhoda. The only problem i had was their room rate's which is higher than their facilities.l really enjoyed my self with the help of the staff's there.

Room Tip: The down rooms have the best WiFi service.For WiFi upstairs please choose 111,112,117 and 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

They provide false advertising as they dont provide all the tv channels they promise.They dont serve hot meal breakfast everyday but rather when they have enough bookings(And they will not even bother informing you).They dont replace cosmetic (lotion / shampoo.etc when they are done)..also dont replace the coffee..The table in the room was very small.The shower was terribly designed as after shower there will be a pool of water in the bath room,which guaranteing you slipping and falling.The room size was small.The reception ladies develop and attitute when raising issues you not happy with.Manager does not bother providing the clients feedback when there is a complaint.No correlation between staff about client complains so one can follow up with client.Restaurant service is so bad you have to spell everything out.I asked for the study lamp and got a bed site lamp and nobody bothered to confirm if is what i requested.Received a lot of calls as wrong number from the reception.No swimming pool. No fitness centre.No emergency numbers in the room.No menu.The reception lady Mary in particular is more likely to urgue with you as a client than to assist.If you order something and they say 15 min then expect it in an 45 min....This is my 5 weeks of experience at the hotel.I will never recommend to anyone that is around for business or having a long stay.It is located at the corner in the small street where there are no street lights.No taxi service available around at all times.You will need to walk to find the taxis more especially at nite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fab experience,impeccable service,courteous staff.well-kept pool, room came with breakfast and Wi-Fi and the airport shuttle was ideal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I was in Accra on business. The hotel looks like a former mansion and has a "bed and Breakfast" feel to it. The rooms are nice and clean.

The best thing about this place is the service. I stayed here for 6 days and almost everyone knew me and my collegues name. Every time I entered, I was greeted with a smile.

The breakfast buffet was good and was included in the price. It consisted of the standard breads, jams, rolls, etc. Also, eggs, bacon, vegetables and fresh fruit.
The food from the restaurant is excellent.

As someone else mentioned, the Wi-Fi service is a bit spotty in some of the rooms, but decent nonetheless. But you're in Ghana, so it is to be expected. No pool or gym, but I was told they would take you to the other location to use their facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was put up at the East Legon Oak Plaza by my new inlaws here in Accra, they decided it was the right hotel for my visit. The hotel is very nice overall - tile floors inside and out (the parking lot is even tile) kept clean and mopped (outside as well). The people who work here are most pleasant and very helpful. It is a pretty building, a former mansion. My only complaints are minor - the standard rooms have a small shower stall, no baths. The room I was put in had extremely poor wifi reception so I was moved to another room and had no problem with the wifi. This second room the shower stall had a missing door, not sure if it was intentional. The satellite tv is very very limited channels, only 11 to choose from. The people who live in the house next door don't seem to care about bothering their neighbors in the hotel, and cranked up the volume on their tv to apparently full volume, sharing what they were watching with the entire neighborhood. I asked the hotel man to ask them to turn down the volume, it required him 4 requests before they turned it down, temporarily. Then it came on at 7am at full blast again on several days. The dining room is very nice and the food served is very good. There are no amenities of any kind besides the wifi and free breakfast.
While it is a nice place to stay, next time I visit Ghana and need to stay in a hotel, I will find another. The cost of this one is not worth the experience, it should be priced nearly half what it is. I like it yet it is just too expensive for what is offered, I honestly cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Note: At time of writing there were TWO Oak Plaza hotels, and people do get them confused. I am staying at Oak Plaza East Airport, whereas their other property is East Lagon.

The airport location is fairly new - less than 9 months old. So while the property is built and functioning, I suspect there are a few kinks they are trying to work out still. For example: The fitness center, advertised on their website is not ready yet; Using credit cards other than Visa is a manual, time-consuming process; My bathroom was missing a shower curtain and rod. Overall, these are minor issues.

The swimming pool is pleasant but rarely used by other guests. Rooms are clean, and well-kept, with basic non-brand name toiletries. Flat screen TV with ~10 channels. Beds are FIRM, and the a/c is amazing; you would never know it's nearly 100 degrees outside. Internet is hard-wired in rooms; I was able to make Skype calls with no problems. Wi-Fi also available with generally good service.

Food is offered in the lounge or restaurant. A fair variety of food and drinks are available. Breakfast was complimentary, and featured generally the same hot food each morning. The food was hot, and delicious, just didn't change much day-to-day. The lounge has sandwiches and drinks available with cozy couches, American 80s pop, 90s hits and recent r&b music. We commented about all the "fun" music in the lounge.

The price for the hotel was quite high when compared to local cost of goods. But, prices are consistent with other hotels in the area. The limited hotel industry is making some big bucks until more competition arrives.

Staff were pleasant, friendly and quite social, and added value to the stay.

Location: It's near the airport. A few minutes drive to the small Accra mall, further for everything else. There are no other businesses immediately in the area. Roadway in front of the hotel is under major construction/expansion, and for now has plenty of traffic.

Overall, I rated this hotel a 4-star, recognizing non-U.S standards of hotel ratings. In other words, this is closer to a 3-star in the U.S. I would return to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I have stayed at the Oak Plaza Hotel a number of times now. During my last visit I noticed some improvements (flat screen TV's in the rooms, etc.)
The rooms are very spacious and stylish, and provides you with everything you need. The mini bar is always stocked with soft drinks, beers, water, nuts and chocolates. The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist where they can. The hotel's shuttle is reliable and they have always ensured that I am picked up from the airport on time, or dropped off at my requested time.
The wireless internet access at the hotel is free and generally provides a good connection.
The selection of meals in the restaurant are a bit limited, but at least the food is good.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon

Address: 2 Nai Tetteh St, East Legon | PO Box CT 5248, Cantonments, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are accustomed to the requirements of a King or Queen. Whether on business or pleasure, we provide you with all the necessary amenities to make your stay both enjoyable and fruitful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.