We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the real Gambia experience stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel to your Saves list
Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Marina Parade | P.O. Box 296, Banjul 1602, Gambia (Formerly Corinthia Atlantic Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banjul
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you want the real Gambia experience stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our 6th visit to this hotel and we stayed from 4th January to 1st February. As on every occasion the staff were helpful, polite and very friendly. The food was good and plentiful, the happy hour has been extended to 3-6pm and again 9-11pm so drinks were much more reasonable. Some people complain that only local drinks are included but this applies to hotels in Europe too.
The pool area is great and the beach area has been cordoned off to prevent disturbance from the locals, who are only trying to make a living but can get a little persistant if not kept in check. Babu sells postcards and rents windbreaks when needed, he's a great guy who'll run errands and get you a local newspaper (very interesting).The fruit sellers are good and reasonable, the juice boys are great and offer local trips at cheap prices and lots of amusement for free. The Black and White Bar, on the beach to the right, is a must! A local bar owned by 'The General' with Max and Momo the friendly waiters. No hustle allowed and if they don't stock your particular drink 'the General' will get you a bottle in and keep it to one side for the duration of your visit. Banjul has not been taken over by the tourist industry, it's a bustling dusty mass of people and cars going about their business, lots to see if you just open your eyes. This is real Africa, the people are friendly, goods are cheap -haggling is expected aim for half of the original price.
The only upset was that the previous manager, obviously suffering some kind of breakdown, had sacked some very good and experienced staff and others had been down-graded to 'casual' status. Hopefully this will be remedied by the new manager (he only started a week before our stay) who seemed to be open-minded, interested in guests suggestions and fair to the staff - who do work very hard for low wages.
The hotel is still looking a little tired but give the new manager time and I'm sure he'll make changes, he already started whilst we were there.
We love staying in this hotel and will be going back for a month next year, if you want the real Gambian experience give it a try.

Room Tip: We like a quiet, front facing room but appreciate everyone has different requirements. If you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which I will share with my team and for your support. It is great to see that you had a great Gambian holidays with the right balance of hotel and local experience!

We are looking forward to welcome you back for the 7th time in The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of The Gambia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    369
    141
    55
    31
See reviews for
112
433
70
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This will be our 8th visit to this hotel and we haven't been disappointed yet.The staff will do what they can to make your holiday an enjoyable one. So for those that moan about the mozzies and drink prices, just one answer to this problem GO TO SPAIN or stay at home, and let somebody else who likes the LAICO have thier room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and your support.
We are looking forward to welcome you back for the 9th in The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of The Gambia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just returned from our weeks holiday at this hotel and what a good time we had. This is our third time staying at this hotel were nothing is to much trouble for anyone ,and you are always greeted with a happy smiling face.
They food is good always something there for everyone to enjoy.
They pool is always kept clean with plenty of sunbeds poolside and on the beach and always ready for you every morning.
Rooms are adequate and we never had any mosquito bites the whole time we was there and we had a garden facing room on the second floor..
We will certainly be going back to this hotel to meet up with some of the great gambian people that we met this year and previous years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which I will share with my team. So far the change of schedule for mosquito spray seems to be effective!
We are looking forward to welcome you back in The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of The Gambia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastington, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

When dropping off at other hotels along route I feared the worst. What a pleasant surprise, The exterior and some of the decorative issues need a tidy up and a few modern updates. The good points are the Staff, Location, Beach and relaxed approach to everything.
On the down side mosquito bites a lift that didn't work the whole stay and the food is warm at best. Some of the tactics used by locals to extract money from you can get the better of your patience ( this can include the hotel staff so be warned).
Overall a great holiday that ended far too soon our teenage boys loved every minute from playing sport with the locals to exploring the outside world they (hotel and Banjul) are very different..........will return ....so it must be goog !!

Room Tip: ask for a pool facing room they dont get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments which I will share with my team.
You will be please to know that we finally received the part for the lift, so it is now under repair. I would like to point out that the second lift was working well so the disruption was minimum to our guests to reach the 2 floors of our building.
I will review as well the comments regarding the tactics used by some of my staff for extracting money which I am not supporting at all.
We are looking forward to your return to The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of Africa.
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

4th time in Gambia first time in this hotel.
We had a great time the staff were excellent and made the holiday.
James pool man was very good looked after us well. Sunbed and brolly always ready for us in mornings.(maybe something to do with the £2 every other day lol)
We found the food good although not always warm.
The bloody bar kept running out of Vodka.
Our room overlooked the front of the hotel onto the reception roof so not much of a view but it was very clean and the a/c was a blessing.
we did not need a mosquito net in our room and only had one or two bites in the two weeks we were there.
The lads hanging around outside the hotel and on the beach were a bit of a pain but as long as your firm and polite you should have no problems.
My wife and I walked into Banjul to the bank and to St Marys church without any problems three or four times.
Take cash with you and use the banks in town not the hotel if you can help it.
Hotel rate 40 Dal to £1
Bank or Western Union 47 Dal to £1 (With every £100 you change you get an extra £15.
I love the Gambia and would use this hotel again
one tip if you have any money left at the end of your holiday get a taxi to the airport and not the bus 700 Dal about £15 well worth it the bus takes about 1.5 hours the taxi takes 20 mins.

Room Tip: You can up-grade your room if you pay extra at the desk. We had one over-looking the reception roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments which I will share with my team.
We have listen to you and you will be happy to know that we have already adjusted our currency exchange rates for the satisfaction of all our guests.
We are looking forward to your return to The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of Africa.
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Laico Atlantic which is a very clean hotel with great staff. Our room was clean, the food excellent and pool wonderful. We noticed that people in the hotel were afraid to leave the grounds which was a result of the guys outside who wish to act as your guides. The thing is that these guys really know Banjul and can offer you a great time at little cost.

Head out on the beach, go left and you will see Jola jfruit bar, a bit further and you will meet the Juice boys. Richie, Bullie, The minister, Kaleh and others can offer you a guided tour of the local area.

Heading right from the hotel onto the beach you will come across the other Juice boys, ask for the artist Zig Zag.

These are guys trying to make a living and are really friendly, they are organised and have even started a face book page,

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Banjul-Beach-Community-Atlantic-Hotel-Banjul-The-Gambia/171090252947746.

My wife and I had trips to Banjul, took a ferry trip, evening out and really felt as though we got to know these guys. This is Africa, people are friendly and helpful, similar service in European capitals is the exclusive privilege of the very wealthy.

So go to The Gambia, meet the locals and have a good time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view of the beach. Take £ (pounds) not Euros Master card was not accepted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us.
You are a great ambassador for The Gambia! I am glad you found nice "guys outside who wish to act as your guides". I will have a look on the Facebook page as I did not know that the name of the hotel was used in this way.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of The Gambia.
Pascal Demarchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just got back from Laico atlantic in Banjul, this is my first time to the gambia, all the staff at the hotel were very helpful even the locals were helpful. My only complaint was that the room I was allocated on my arrival was very dark and I was facing the gardens which made it a haven in my room for the mosquitos, I was bitten to death. they sprayed the room at night and I slept under a mosquito net but they still got me. I would certainly go back to the hotel but armed with stronger mosquito lotion. Its certainly a place to go if you want a lazy beach holiday to relax and read.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool or a suite if the money allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal D, General Manager at Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to let you know we have increased the schedule for the garden and outdoor spaying and changed the timing to make it more efficient.
We are hoping to welcome you back to The Gambia, The Smiling Coast of Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel

Address: Avenue Marina Parade | P.O. Box 296, Banjul 1602, Gambia (Formerly Corinthia Atlantic Hotel)
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Banjul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banjul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Banjul
Corinthia Atlantic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laico Atlantic Banjul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.