We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jane's Boats

Jane's Boats
Denton Bridge, Banjul, Gambia
+220 7768074
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Banjul
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A restful day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was a very good day out. Relaxing on the top of the long boat, watching the world go by and enjoying the sun, a good book and the glasses of fizz, alcohol from the pay bar and a pleasant buffet lunch. Good friendly staff. Something I would recommend. Perhaps be explicit about families with children - as this can change the dynamics of the day and make it noisy or child-centred as a result of the boat size. Just something to think about.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out every time,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Third time in The Gambia, sixth time on janes boats, every time different day out , crew very friendly and knowledgable on the wildlife to be seen. We have been on most trips around Gambia but this is our favourite by far, already looking forward to next time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yet another great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Thanks again to Jane and especially to the boat crew. Fantastic time had by everybody and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who looked after us every minute with lots of food and drinks available on request.

Thanks again Jane.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A day to remember !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was my birthday and we decided to spend the day on Janes Boats around the mangroves from Denton Bridge near Banjul. Lunch was great and they made me a birthday cake to as a surprise !! the crew were friendly and attentive and shared the pleasure of my day. The area is a great place for bird watching so don't forget those binoculars and a camera. If your staying in the Banjul/Kololi area and want a day out then go for it and you will enjoy it. Thanks to Janes Boats.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went creek fishing on Jane's boat twice during our stay and had a great time on both trips. It's a lovely relaxing day peacefully cruising through the creek and it gives you a good chance to look out for wild birds and soak up the sun if you wish. The boat we went on both times had a top floor for sun bathing or taking in the beautiful view, so the deck below where we fished from was shaded from the heat of the sun.
The staff were all very fun and friendly and were helpful in pointing out the wild birds as we sailed by and tell you the names of the fish you've caught. The food on the boat was very good and drinks very reasonably priced. Don't book the trip through your holiday rep, just ask the reception staff at your hotel to book with Jane's boat creek fishing from Denton bridge, Thomas cook charged us nearly twice the price for the same trip! They collect you from your hotel, give you a substantial free lunch, use of their rod, bait and fishing expertise and then drop you back at your hotel all for £25 per person. We were out from 10am to 4pm so a great price for a good fun day out. We've never fished before but had a great time, and always felt totally safe on the boat. Would recommend it to anyone!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane's Boats also viewed

 
Banjul, Banjul Division
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Jane's Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jane's Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.