We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being Renovated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okoume Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Okoume Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Okoume Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Boulevard de Nice B.P 2254, Libreville 2254, Gabon (Formerly InterContinental)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Libreville
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Being Renovated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is currently being renovated. It is a huge property that will be a stand out hotel if renovated and run properly. It certainly has the potential. The staff are OK though not overly friendly. You will not face a problem even if you do not know how to speak in French. The restaurant is good although that is the only option currently. The buffet spread for breakast, lunch and dinner is good but for the latter two the main course is always the same. No variety at all. The salad bar and appetisers do however, change and provide good variety. Location of the hotel is also pretty OK if you do not need to go the centre of the city too often. This was my second visit and am certainly looking forward to a third.

Room Tip: Take any room that faces the sea - currently in the renovation phase take the rooms with even number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    40
    22
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
1
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Okoume Palace Hotel was the former Intercontinental Hotel. However, over decades this hotel was neglected and run down until Intercontinental discontinued its franchise. The hotel was recently acquired by new investors who are renovating it to be reopened as a RadissonBlu hotel.

Currently about 130 renovated rooms are available, as well as a small bar and restaurant on the eight floor. The rooms are comfortable with a good TV and A/C. Wireless internet service is fast, but often inoperable. So far it was free, but management announced that it will be charging for it when it becomes more stable. As the hotel is under renovation, dust and noise prevails during the day, no pool or other amenities are available, the reception is small and improvised, and the entrance is in the back via the parking.

Nevertheless, the hotel is still the best option in town, given that the rooms are fine, and the restaurant with breakfast buffet is satisfactory. The hotel plans to open a major wing in September 2013, and to become fully renovated by September 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loango National Park, Gabon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My first review of "the laico" was quite a bad one. However, I have now stayed here twice more, and am pleased to say things have improved. The beds are still as hard as nails, but generally the 2 rooms I have had have been much better.
Staff also seem a bit more relaxed.
Try the cocktail bar on the 8th floor, a great addition to the hotel.
Things are looking up for the Okoume Palace aka The Laico.
Still expensive but a decent clean place to stay, the dinner buffets are very good.
I would prefer to rate it as good but TA will not let me.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FussR, Manager at Okoume Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear BillieBird,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Okoume Palace hotel on Tripadvisor and are happy that you have found improvements in both the service and general condition of the hotel versus your last visit.

As you might have noticed during your stay with us, we are currently renovating part of the hotel to open as Radisson Blu Okoume Palace and Park Inn by Radisson Libreville by September 2013. During this time we will remain open with a reduced inventory of 133 rooms, restaurant, bar and conference facilities. We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Ronny Fuss
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was booked on my behalf by my business hosts, I'd read the reviews and was expecting a bad experience. Pleasantly surprised by a recently refurbished room (maybe somehting to do with Gabon co-hosting Africa Cup in Feb?) good size, good air con and very clean. Beds were new and very, very firm but not uncomfortable. Food was good and service is polite if maybe not as speedy as European or US travellers expect but this is a country that aspires to becoming seen as a "developing" nation so have to see the context. So people speak French with little English - it's a French speaking country so what to expect? I have a little French and had no problem being understood or understanding, front of house staff in the hotel have good basic English, maybe not the gardeners or housekeeping staff. It's expensive but not out of the way for Gabon which has a higher cost of living than some other countries in Africa. A happy, safe hotel just don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Some airport noice in rooms on airport facing side but few flights during the day and none during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

When someone discusses the Atlantic, I remember my first encounter with the Atlantic in July, 2006. I was sent to Gabon and on reaching Intercontinental Hotel, I found the Atlantic right across the hotel on the other side of the road. I was very excited and wanted to take a dip in the Atlantic to register another milestone in life. So, I quickly checked in and went to my room and changed into a shorts and took a towel and ran out the room, then out of the Hotel and then across the road and was on the beach. I was running on the beach as fast as I could towards the Atlantic when I heard someone screaming from the back. I turned to see that a soldier was running towards me with a gun pointed at me, ready to shoot. I stopped and soon he reached me and put the gun on my chest and started to shout something which I did not understood (possibly he was speaking French). He kept at it for sometime before lowering his gun and nodded his head which I understood as signal to get away. On getting the signal, I ran back on the path I had treaded faster than what Saurav did on getting Pieterson's wicket. I ran across the beach, then crossed the road and through the lobby and straight into my bed

Next day, when going to exchange some dollars in a local bank, I saw that a few blocks away from the hotel was a grand building and I was told that it was the residence of the President of Gabon

This hotel used to be called the Intercontinental Hotel when I stayed here in July, 2006. The stay was very comfortable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Poor service and damed expensive. Love the location around the beach. Staff are grossly deficient in English and appear unfriendly. The management need to improve on the quality of service. If I have another opportunity to visit beautiful Libreville definitely not this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Unfortunately this hotel doesn't fit in the "new Gabon". The country wants to be the Switzerland of West Africa, fairly enough. This should be taken into account by this hotel management. There is work to do in business services, room upgrade and staff attitude (unfortunately at times you may think here you are in Paris) outrageously expensive wifi in the rooms that worked poorly.
The only + is the location right in front of a beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Okoume Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okoume Palace Hotel

Address: 5, Boulevard de Nice B.P 2254, Libreville 2254, Gabon (Formerly InterContinental)
Location: Gabon > Estuaire Province > Libreville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Libreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okoume Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient located to explore Libreville. This ocean front hotel is within easy reach of the airport yet in close proximity to the city's central business district, ministries and embassies. Please be informed that the Hotel has started renovation works on September 1st 2012 to prepare for the opening as RADISSON BLUand PARK INN by Radisson by end 2014. During this period the Hotel will operate with 133 rooms, restaurant and bar.Conference facilities are also available. Our swimming pool will be closed during this period. In order to reduce any disturbance to you,works will be executed between 9:00 am and 6:00 pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Okoume Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Okoume Palace Libreville
Inter-Continental Libreville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okoume Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.