We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip To Addis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beer Garden Inn
Save Saved
You added Beer Garden Inn to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 119 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Nanyuki, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend Trip To Addis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The drive from Airport was approximately 15 Minutes during the busy period, car can be booked when booking rooms at no cost. The hotel rooms are spacious and room facilities very good, always hot water at any time night or day. The staff are friendly and helpful always. The restaurant food was good with a good variety of german choices, and the beer is very good. This is well worth a stay, some good bars and clubs wuthin walking distance as it is safe all the time. If you are to go go out at night just remember Addis is split in regions and no main centre so a taxi is required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
4
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are good and the price is average for Addis. The internet (avoid the 5th floor at all costs, no internet there) is unreliable. The service at the restaurants both the 1st floor and the beer bar is terrible - we waited over 1.5 hrs for food and then up to 45 mins for the bill. The reception staff are charming and helpful. there are plenty cockroaches but this is to be expected in a building of that age. On checkout you cannot get an invoice, which is a big problem. The area is a hotel district, with many new hotels being built which will offer more modern and clean facilities than the BGI; the area is also full of brothels ("massage"), beggars; and bag snatching. it's near a major church and mosque - early morning prayers are broadcast from both: you will definitely need earplugs! There are lots of good resturants around, rather go out (but dont carry any bag) than eat in the hotel

Room Tip: avoid the 5th floor if you want internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was able to visit the bar and restaurant many times. The style is unique for Ethiopia. They brew their own beer using German technology. It is unique and tasty light beer draught. Their food is also delicious especially chickens. Located in the main city and has enough parking spaces. The price is a little bit expensive but worth paying to have a wonderful beer and food. Services are also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our company has used this hotel many times in the last year, because its good value and very close to our office. But this time, because of a problem with flights leaving Addis, my room was double booked, They did get me a room 5 mins drive away for the one night, but I didn't want to have to unpack and then again straight away. Gone to The Harmony just up the road - more expensive, but seems very good - clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful staff.
Not really a review of The Beer Garden, which does have good food, but I was disappointed

Room Tip: Have a back up hotel ready!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Beer garden inn is just 10 minute away from the airport in a busy business location. It offers never the less quiet and very good hotel rooms at an absolutely reasonable price.
For an African Hotel it’s just unexpected to find a very well-managed, perfectly organized hotel with friendly staff, service orientation and all you need facilities.
The restaurant offers very tasty dishes and the beer it’s not only the name, brewed on the premises following good old german rules is a real experience.
The shuttle service form and too the airport is include in the room price a very nice touch. The breakfast buffet was perfect serving for every taste, continental with a variety of cooked options to order separately (include in the price) and nice fruit selection, fresh cheese and a variety of bread.

Room Tip: The higher floors are generally less noisy and offer additionally the nice overview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was nice and staff was help one and breakfast good.
This was also restaurant beer garden, where one have lunch and dinner
and friends for beer.
The room had nice and the view was good. The location was easy to work
and shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We decided to stay at the BGI because of their website claim of having 2 king beds in the room (which we called the hotel to confirm, and they assured us that they did indeed have this room type). When we arrived (2 adults + a child) we were shown to a room with 1 full sized bed. I went back to the lobby and explained that we had reserved a room with 2 king beds and I was given the key to another room...which had 2 twin sized beds. I took my computer to the lobby and showed them the page that stated they had 2 king sized beds indicating that this was the room we wanted. They apologized and said that it was a mistake and they didn't have this type of room.

They offered us a connecting room, which we reluctantly took, mainly because we were exhausted from travel, but also because they had a nice playground area in front of the hotel where my daughter could play.

The room itself was adequate, but noting to write home about. The beds were uncomfortable though the sheets were nice and soft. The bathrooms were tiny and the towels very worn.

When I took my daughter out to the playground I was stopped by the security guard and told that it was "forbidden" to play there. I asked why and he said that it was not yet complete (which was BS - it was totally complete). I went back inside and asked the receptionist why we couldn't play there and she said it was not allowed, but couldn't give me a reason. They wouldn't even let us walk along the gravel pathway alongside the playground, but instead made us walk through the mud driveway (in the rainy season).

Also, when we checked out and tried to pay with Visa they said that it was not working and that we'd have to pay with cash - in US dollars. Since we didn't have enough cash, they wanted me to go to a bank and take a cash advance on my credit card. All the while displaying a giant VISA sign on their reception desk. Ridiculous.

We definitely would not stay here again, nor would we recommend it to anyone that we know.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beer Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beer Garden Inn

Address: Bole Medhanialem Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beer Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Beer Garden Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.