We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in most respects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dessalegn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dessalegn Hotel
Save
You added Dessalegn Hotel to your Saves list
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good in most respects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The main Dessalegn hotel is an impressive glass fronted, western looking hotel. Inside it is unmistakably African, slightly darker colonial feel, which I felt was quite comfortable.

Wifi access is fast but intermittent. During our 3 day stay it was operational for approximately 60% of the time.

There is a fairly large gym on the first floor which is a major feature of the hotel in that you can see in as you walk past to the breakfast room, or (if inside) look out on the street. Although I didn't use it on this occasion, I am a regular gym user and to me the equipment looked well above average for a hotel and I know is used by affluent locals.

The rooms are big enough but look smaller due to the yellow walls and dark furniture which gives them a 1970's look. The bathroom, again 1970's fixtures and fittings (remarkable for a hotel that was build in the last 10 years), but clean and quite spacious.

Pillows are Ethiopian standard issue polystyrene (I have not stayed in a hotel in Ethiopia that has better).

Rooms at the front of the hotel are affected by noise from the road. Rooms at the back sre subject to a wake up call from the nearby mosque.

Room Tip: If you check in as a couple immediately ask for more towels. Rooms as standard are issued only with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    31
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
4
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swaziland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel seen it’s best days and rooms would need renovation – especially the bathrooms are quire uninviting. Noisy: as if there was no door to corridor, all the noise from the corridor comes in, and the music from restaurant next door. Definitely not cosy! Furnishing and decoration very bare. My window was facing a concrete wall of the next buidling a few metres away and made the whole room feel gloomy. Doesn't have the friendly touch you get used to in Ethiopia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doba, Logone Oriental, Chad
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had a 7-hour lay-over and stayed at the Desalegn. I stayed at the one closest to the airport; about 12 minutes away. The room was a suite, with a sitting room with desk, lounge chairs and couch. The kitchen has electric hot plate, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo unit. The bed was very comfortable. The whole place was clean. The service staff was very good. The shuttle took me back at 03h00 without any trouble. The restaurant was clean and nice. The food was good - not great but good. For the price it was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have been visiting Addis for quite some time now and have seen many other hotels in the past, Desalegn is one of the best you can get in that price tag. Their staff is very friendly and food is also very standard. I would recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Dessalegn could be a nice hotel, that offers clean and reliable services to the business traveler who doesn't want or who cannot stay in the affluent Hilton or Sheraton. The free airport transfer for instance is a big asset.
My room at the top floor was ok, with its somewhat older furniture because the wooden floor was spotless clean. The bed was a little short for a 6-feet person, but ok one can deal with it.

What made my stay at Dessalegn particularly unpleasant was that the doors to the room were very poorly islolated against noise and that you could hear every sound from the people walking past my room.

Very disappointing was that they charge extra for the gym access. Having seen the gym from the outside, I would not recommend it , as it is quite small. But as a guest in the hotel to pay extra for the gym? No way. I have travelled extensively, but never before was I supposed to pay extra for the gym. Hotel staff was moreover not willing to raise my complaint with the management.

Poor service and I will avoid this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The top floors of the main building have a nice view in most of the directions. Try to get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights. I was in one of the newer blocks not the main original hotel...the service is really bad. room service is so inefficient and unprofessional. breakfast is really awful with non existent service. the waitresses just stand and gossip rather than serve you or pay attention to what needs refilling.
the rooms are ok, big but again dingy and the carpet makes it worse. No sound proofing so you can always hear doors slamming other peoples TV etc...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a clean and friendly hotel in a good location. My room was quite large and comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom. There was a nice buffet breakfast each morning. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. I’d be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

Just across the road from the hotel is a very nice little Ethiopian garden restaurant. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dessalegn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessalegn Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Dessalegn Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dessalegn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.