We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK midrange hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ghion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ghion Hotel
Save Saved
You added Ghion Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“OK midrange hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed in the Ghion 3 times during a tour through Ethiopia. Admittedly the rooms are a bit dated, but were clean. There are computers/ internet in the lobby and also WiFi (both for a charge). There are several souvenir shops in the lobby, and it is worth looking around, as the offer similar items to different "fixed" prices. There is a moneychanger/ bank in the lobby with good rates (same as the airport) who is open till 8pm. The hotel is pretty central located (near Meskel Square) set back from the road in a large garden area with a nice garden cafe if you need a rest. It also has a 50m pool (unheated). OK, it is well known that there are pickpockets and kids with "bendy fingers" around, therfore the hotel offers safe deposit boxed at the reception- please use it! There is also a supermarket withhin a few min walk (turn left after exiting the security gate). If you are hungry, and don't fancy eating in the hotel: there is a good Chinese restaurant 1min to the left after the security gate, or the Cottage restaurant (Swiss) 7 min walk to the right along the road. Alltogether a good/ safe midrange option in Addis!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    76
    32
    12
See reviews for
17
29
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotels in Ethiopia are, with very few exceptions, shabby, poorly maintained, with rather lacklustre service. The Ghion fits this bill, unfortunately, but is better than some of the other, similar styles of hotel outside the capital. The place to stay in Addis is the Jupiter Hotel. We stayed in two rooms at the Ghion, the one at the front on the first floor being better - bright and clean and comfortable, albeit with the usual grimy-looking bathroom. In the first room the toilet flush broke more or less as soon as we walked into the room, a common problem in a country where no-one really knows about the hotel business, and care even less. There is no sense whatever of hoteliers wanting to try harder and do better. Outside the Ghion is a sinister street of marauding muggers and thieves - indeed, the whole country is unsafe and threatening in this respect. Public areas are fine, though with a noisy television spoiling the retro ambience of the bar, with its attractive hookers and down-at-heel waiting staff. Breakfast tolerable, with a nice egg-stand where a fresh chilly omelette can be rustled up for you with good coffee.

Room Tip: Front rooms on first floor are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Ghion Hotel is long overdue for redecoration. The carpets in the rooms are well well overdue for shampooing - they brought to mind the carpets of my Woodbine-smoking grandfather's house. The rooms generally are a bit depressing. It is a shame really as the hotel has other things going for it: a good location, a sunlit restaurant and reasonably quick wi-fi (pre-paid cards). But the hotels real great asset is the 50m swimming pool next door which is also open to the public for a fee; great for a high-altitude workout. It is much less crowded than other hotel pools - being colder and at 50m more of a challenge for the average Ethiopian. Do use the lockers (available for a nominal fee). Do be careful on some of the nearby streets - pickpockets using distraction tactics are an issue. The hotel has safety deposit boxes and I would urge people to keep credit cards and surplus money there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I didn't mind the well-dressed, quiet prostitutes sitting in the bar area of an evening, though their burly Russian clients were somewhat unprepossessing. However, the main street just outside the hotel grounds is a dangerous place to venture if you value your possessions, especially your smartphone. Mine was grabbed in broad daylight from a zipped bag, while my brother had his stolen the following evening from his shirt pocket. Our tour company (Ace Cultural Tours) made no mention of this street's very bad reputation, though all the locals seemed perfectly aware of it.
The hotel itself is a perfectly good mid-range hotel, though the refurbished rooms at the front are far superior to their shabby counterparts at the rear. Attractive public areas on the ground floor, and several shops, including a rather shambolic duty-free outlet. Don't walk the streets, get a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Ghion takes you right back to the time of the communist hotels of the Cold War. It´s old-fashioned and over-priced (93 $ for a double room). The rooms are shabby, the carpeted floor in our double room was dirty. There were fleas in the bed, but the bathroom was ok. Breakfast was only average. Most annoying was the staff: extremely unhelpful and unwilling to show any commitment to their job. When we wanted to pay the bill, they refused my creditcard ("machine doesn´t work") and demanded an exchange receipt from the bank if I pay in birr (nobody else wanted to see this receipt on our 14-days journey through Ethiopia). It´s incomprehensible why so many foreigners still stay at the state-owned Ghion hotel while Addis has quite a few good, reasonably priced, privately owned middle class hotels by now. The only good thing about the Ghion is the huge and beautiful park in the city center of Addis (which is not open to the local people - like most other parks in Addis).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here with a tour group and agree with everything that has been written. What I should like to add is a warning to travellers who wish to walk outside the hotel. There are gangs of kids who target farangis (foreigners) for pickpocketing, seemingly controlled by older boys. in the 20 minute walk from the Ghion to the Hilton we were targeted 4 times. The boys have boxes or magazines in their hand and sidle up to people, jostling and have succeeded in stealing wallets and passports from pockets. We managed to spot them having been warned and once they know that they have been rumbled they move off. I shook a walking stick at them which kept them at bay. An older man spat on my husband's trousers with the intention of having his accomplice pick his pocket but we did not allow him to succeed. Of our group of 12, the majority were targetted in this way. Please leave valuables and passports in the hotel, either in the reception's safe deposit box or like us, locked in a suitcase. Alternatively, take a taxi to wherever you are going. This is not representative of the rest of the country which is beautiful and comparatively safe.

Room Tip: The bungalows are far superior but I do not know the prices as we were with a tour group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ghion reminds me of the glory days of hotels in Zimbabwe right after independence, in the 80's. Its hay day has past, to put it that way. But it still retains some charms - it does; you just have to disregard all the quirks: slow hot water, the woody decor and the ridiculously shoddy service in the terrace restaurant (cheese platter with hair...Excellent coffee!) There is a lovely swimming pool and ample, shady grounds where to perambulate. There is a park just outside the premises where wedding receptions are held en mass, and on wedding days the atmosphere is festive and lovely. To be awoken by singing wedding guests is something! The price is not bad and staff friendly (though apparently Soviet trained...) I certainly recommend Ghion for an out-of-the-ordinary African hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ghion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghion Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ghion Hotel 3.5*
Also Known As:
Ghion Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.