We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some final touchesv” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodite International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aphrodite International Hotel to your Saves list
Aphrodite International Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kazanches Area, Addis Ababa 9568, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off on Holiday Travel
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs some final touchesv”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for two nights which were unfortunately spoilt by a noisy generator from another building next to the hotel. The airport shuttle was there on time , but then I had to wait for over an hour to get to my hotel as it waited for another passenger who we eventually left since the person had not arrived. Check in went smoothly and the wifi worked in the lobby and it appears all floors ( based on comments from colleagues) but not in my seventh floor bedroom. The room was spacious , sheets and bathroom were clean, but the mattress was rather hard. There is equipment for making tea but no kettle. I did not bother to ask for hot water in the thermos jug provided.
Room service- a response took so long I decided to go to the dining room instead, where the food was fine but rather bland.

Would I return, with the abundance of competition from other hotels- perhaps not. I would also request for a room at the front of the building away from the noise of other people's generator. The front desk did offer to change my room, but early in the morning, which would have been a major upheaval. The staff are very polite. Management just needs to be wary of being happy with standards which can easily be improved. Addis is also still appearing as a major building site, so somethings are out of the control of the hotel management e.g. Muddy sidewalks.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front. Which might drown the generator noise which is not the hotel's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I like the cost of accommodation. But my room had a broken, leaking sink in the bathroom for a fairly new hotel. I think the workmanship at some level is wanting. But the staff is very friendly and will respond to your needs immediately. And they prepare great Ethiopian fare in their restaurant.

Room Tip: Request to have a look at the room first before it is allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, right by the UN. The hotel is new, the rooms are nice and spacious and the bathrooms as well. The beds are very hard so its good to ask for and extra duvet to sleep on to soften it up a bit. It also has no heating so it can be a bit chilly but I saw some rooms had heaters so it seems there is a solution if it's too cold for you.

You can see they have really tried to make a nice hotel but little details would make a big difference. The bathrooms are new and modern with nice design and with good taste in the selection of tiles and fittings but it seems the bath tub curtains were selected by a different person because they don't fit in at all.

The breakfast is OK, the restaurant food is also good. The service is good, staff is very helpful and friendly.

I was not blown away by the hotel but I would definitely recommend it because of the location and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Aphrodite is a modern hotel in the UN district of Addis. The rooms are clean and the hotel is quite good value for money. However, you need to be aware that the rooms have no heating of any kind and in the winter (when night time temperatures are routinely 5 degrees c) it gets very cold in the bedrooms. As a result the bed linnen is damp which makes the problem worse. The hot water system is under powered and so the showers are tepid at best. At other times of year it may be OK but my advice would be to spend an extra $20 and go to the Jupiter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aphrodite International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite International Hotel

Address: Kazanches Area, Addis Ababa 9568, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aphrodite International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aphrodite International Hotel is a four star luxury hotel situated with in the heart of Addis, A walking distance from UNECA & having 52 comfortable & spacious Rooms, Conference & meeting facilities, restaurant & cafe, Grand & Piano Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Aphrodite International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodite International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.