We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taitu Hotel - info” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Save
You added Taitu Hotel to your Saves list
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Taitu Hotel - info”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The shared bathroom means, in Taitu, that there are two bathrooms per floor. I was also staying in one of the back buildings. Do not expect/imagine anything... somebody called this plays iconic... it is indeed the oldest hotel in the capital and has its charm altough I got it only after coming back there after four weeks travel around the country.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    49
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
8
37
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I will be there in October. I have reservations for a room in the back with shared bathrooms.
My question is when they say shared bathroom, is it just one bathroom for the whole building?
They quoted me $11 to $15 I guess they are going charge me the higher price.

Thanks in advance

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's nice to sit in the balcony and think you are standing where the first explorers, businessmen and diplomats in the town used to hang out. The building is beautiful, but worned out. The restaurant is good value and offers a large menu, the terrace nice and the jazz club brilliant, both for the music and the cocktails. I am happy with the choice, but they should put some effort in upgrading the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonder, Ethiopia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Taitu was the very first hotel in Ethiopia established in the 1880's by Queen Taitu. As such it has a special attraction to the visitor. If you can afford the extra all the fun lies in the resilient slightly mauled historic building, with its stout wooden balcony columns, hardwood parquet floors, titanic doorways, and over engineered antique furniture. The central feature is an extravagant swirling wooden staircase of burnished redwood opening onto an upstairs hall off which the historic rooms are accessed. The dining area is friendly and atmospheric, the food pretty good. A vegan buffet is laid out daily ( fitting in with Coptic fasting practices). The staff come over as slightly harassed, but are not unfriendly. The budget traveller can stay in the adjoining blocks, but they are very plain. My room, 110, was spacious with a long delapidated corner balcony, great for people watching but not so quiet at night. The bathroom was typical of Ethiopian plumbing, a tinkered mess, but adequate for all that. Value for money? Just about. Even if you don't stay, come and have a beer in the restaurant and absorb the history emanating from the walls.

Room Tip: For the fuller experience request a more expensive room in the historic building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesiluzumlu, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a work trip
In room 105 - the best room in the main building - by far! Was 450 birr in August 2013. Stayedin room 106 first night which is big, but felt grimy, and the Jazzamba bar right below the room was noisy every night, so stay at the back not the front of the building
Had a flea problem in the bed but the manager changed the sheets and provided a powerful flea spray. This did the trick. Other than that, the place was a pleasant home for 8 nights. Lunchtime piano echoes through the upstairs, which was nice for my afternoon nap
Filthy cats scowl and skulk about
Waitresses seem more keen to take money than deliver a decent coffee.
Money-focussed management

Place could be a charming as hell place, but it's a cash cow for the owner and that' s all

Room Tip: room 105 upstairs in main building - definitely the best one If it wasnt for the atmosphere here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Taitu is a very cool historic hotel with a nice atmosphere. Visiting during the chilly rainy season, however, turned cool into downright cold! My friend and I shared a basic double with private bath. There was plenty of hot water at the appointed times, but the room could have used a touch of heat. Compounding the discomfort were the damp beds. I wrapped myself layers of clothing and slept on top of the covers, yet still felt like I'd been camping in the rain. Taitu offers cheap rooms and a fantastic location (in the heart of the Piazza), but be careful, or you'll end up with a case of the sniffles like me!

Room Tip: Definitely look at a few rooms, and consider poking around in the beds, to find something you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On my return to Addis I decided to try this property as it had passed my friends hotel standard. I also didn't think the Lions Den was worth almost 100 USD. The main building is beautiful and the restaurant is nicely done. Our triple share room was in the main historic building, and as soon as you walk upstairs you realise the hotel is definitely a low priority in comparison to the restaurant. We paid slightly extra for the private bathroom (the toilet leaked continuously and in this instance I am not 100% sure it was just cistern water). The shower was basically just a tap and the bathroom was so dirty I ended up using the shared shower and toilet at the end of the hall - which was cleanish and did have hot water.

Its such a shame as all the place needed was some simple changes to the bathroom and the broken linoleum ripped up and it would be lovely. The linen on the beds seemed clean enough although the walls were slightly dirty. No problems with anything going missing and we did leave stuff in reception in the deposit box.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Number of rooms: 264
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taitu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.