We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and less good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taitu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taitu Hotel
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Good and less good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The refurbished ground floor of the hotel is gorgeous. The attached jazz bar is rather spectacular. The outdoor terrace is very nice. The food in the restaurant is good.

The rooms in the annexes are less than mediocre. Water isn't always available. The hotel-arranged airport pickup is expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    46
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
7
35
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am rating the hotel, not the restaurant that is nice with wifi and nice garden.

The rooms are quite expensive (266 Birr for a single with private bathroom) and the quality is terrible. There are problems that you frequently find in Addis: plumbery not working, frequently no hot water, but in this hotel it is moreover moist, very dirty, you don't dare touching anything. I have friends who actually had rats in their room!

The worst in my experience there are frequently people that come there to "buy a night with an ethiopian woman" which creates a gloomy atmosphere and makes you hear fights you wouldn't want to hear...

But I've had a nice contact with the staff members, who were helpful and friendly despite the rest.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the main building are better, but also more expensive. You might want to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Dirty, no charm and poor service.
After several attempts to get cleaning staff to clean, I gave up. Staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Upstairs rooms open up to a verandah, but the shift locks actually do not lock.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Taitu is something of a hit-and-miss, depending on what you want in a hotel and which room you end up getting.

The old building and great terrace oozes character and history, and offers an undisturbed view over Addis. Great to sit and enjoy a drink, or some Ethiopian food from the good kitchen. The place is also buzzing with people such as backpackers, tourists, students, artists, NGO types etc.

I was located in the 'new' wing, and as soon as I returned to my room my good 'vibe' about the Taitu disappeared... The new wing is a concrete structure that reminds me most of a prison. The rooms were also very basic and run down. The bathrooms worked and had hot water, but needed a good clean and redo.
I couldn't be placed in the old wing, but I would imagine that this offers a better experience.

Otherwise, The location is also quite convenient, about good 20 min walk to the National Museum. The superb Tomoca coffee shop is about 5 min away.
At night the awesome Jazzamba club is located in the main ballroom, great for nice evening discovering fabulous Ethiopian jazz. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.
Regarding value, I felt this was ok looking at the total package.

So, it's probably up to you whether you fall in love with the Taitu or run away as soon as you see your room. For me the upsides were more than compensated by the downsides, as you're hardly in your room anyway. And after a night 'in prison' walking up the stairs to the old building and ordering a coffee on the terrace the room quickly becomes a distant memory.

Room Tip: Probably the old wing/building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Character? Yes. Good location? Yes. But the shared bathrooms were absolutely disgusting. I've done a lot of budget travelling and this was one of the worst - non-flushable toilet, barely functioning and super-grimy shower (which was a hand held showed in a slippery bath), leaking taps and constantly wet floor, etc etc (check out the photo). They've got a lot of staff kicking about, but no-one seems to care to clean the place up a bit, a shame given the character of the place.

Horrible bathrooms aside, even if you don't stay there, the vegan lunch buffet in the restaurant should not be missed - just excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The messed up the booking they had confirmed by email the night before - charged me double for a single room with shower than I could have got down the road at Baro. But no complaints about restaurant - good food, good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethiopia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You like something else than a concrete building to sleep.
Taitu is the right place.
You like to sit quiet outside in a nice compound ?
Taitu is the right place.
You like to meet other travellers ?
Taitu is the right place
Even they managed now to cook well.
All to Taitu.

Room Tip: Just look in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#4 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tizeze Hotel
Tizeze Hotel
#3 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#30 of 69 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#65 of 69 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#36 of 69 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#23 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitu Hotel

Address: Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Also Known As:
Taitu Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taitu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taitu Hotel to your Saves list