We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enlightning and original” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 attractions in Addis Ababa
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum’s greatest treasure is the partial skeleton of "Lucy," a tiny human believed to have lived over three million years ago.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enlightning and original”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In center of town, tired building and tired show cases.
I only put 3 stars for what I thought is extremely interesting displays of "Pre - Human" species.
Dating from millions of years and displayed in a clear, interesting and sequential way.
Home of the famous 'Lucy" (Humanoid species)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    106
    97
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This small museum has improved over the last 2 years. It is worth a visit and go to the' Lucy' restaurant next door , it is great and a real find for good food and clean touilets. Also check out the real live tortoises in the garden at the front. Amazing !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Lucy exhibition is top notch, kept up to date, and ever improving. When I came it was only a temporary exhibition as they worked on the display downstairs.
The rest of the museum is interesting but a bit outdated. I really enjoyed the artwork and the ancient figurines and pottery (especially because they resemble their Grecian contemporaries). The three floors can be appreciated in the course of an hour. Not worth a whole afternoon, but at 10 Birr for entry it is worth the price and it expanded my understanding of Ethiopia.
Bonus - at 2 Birr each, the cheapest post cards I've seen in Africa can be purchased in the souvenir... more a corner than a shop... on the top floor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Patchy museum, but some worthwhile stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The collection is decidedly uneven in the range of its coverage. There is a nice selection of pre-Axumite material from Yeha and other places, but little from Axum itself, or indeed from medieval Ethiopia. The extensive anthropology exhibit is currently being relocated, but this means that the original bones of Lucy are on display (usually you only see a cast). This provokes a strong emotional response, and is undoubtedly the high point of the musuem. Many of the other fossils are just casts. The ethnography and art galleries upstairs are much less interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Our only museum experience in Addis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in Addis for little less than a week but throught that if we were going to see any museums it would be the National Museum to check out the display on evolution and the Lucy skeleton.
So with nothing to compare it to I would say that it is quite good and interesting with most of the displays having to do with skeletons found throughout Ethiopia as well as a few relics from the different kingdoms which have reigned over the ages.
As far as the quality of the museum don't expect too much and to say that some of the relics are not really treated well (for preservations sake) would be an understatement, but then Ethiopia probably doesn't put too much funding aside for such ideals.
Many of the displays on the first and second floor had English translations, however on the third floor there were none.
The cheapest postcards we found throughout Ethiopia were in this museum, not the most exciting though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Museum to your Saves list