We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to see Addis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Eats Walking Food Tour

Addis Eats Walking Food Tour
Walking Tours, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
+251 93 848 6425
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AddisEats is Ethiopia's only food tour company based in the capital city, enabling tourists to eat like locals and experience Addis Ababa like few tourists ever do. AddisEats leads walking food tours through local neighborhoods where guests sample the best dish at several restaurants so that they experience a wide range of local, traditional foods, just as Ethiopians eat them. AddisEats also offers market tours of the city's largest fruit and vegetable market and quaint spice, textile and pottery market. AddisEats' guides paint a picture of the culture, giving insight into everyday life. Finally, AddisEats offers guests custom tailored day and overnight trips.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see Addis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a great concept this is - we learnt about the local food and experienced a wide variety of local eateries. Perhaps even more impressive than the actual "food tour" were the hosts; within a minute or two of sitting down with Eliza and Xaiver - cold St George Amber beer in hand - it felt like we were catching up with old friends, rather than being escorted around Addis on a tour! They are great guides - now good friends - both extremely knowledgeable and respectful about the food and culture of Ethiopia, and we could not have imagined a better introduction to the city in our brief stay there. Thanks again!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A 'must do' in Addis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Forget visiting the cultural restaurants, this is the best way to discover the real cuisine of Ethiopia. The wonderful hosts, Xavier and Eliza, have really got beneath the surface of Addis Ababa and will take you to restaurants you will never find on your own. They will explain the mysteries of Ethiopian food to you, and show you how to eat like a local! I had visited Ethiopia before and had been underwhelmed by what I had eaten, this tour changed that and I have a trusty list of great places to eat for my next trip!

Definitely a highlight of my trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“Good food, nice walk, and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The email message directed us to meet at 1717 before noon so that we could miss the lunch rush. What was 1717? And where was the tour going to proceed from there? These were my questions. 1717 is a local neighbourhood restaurant. Our hosts, Eliza and Xavier, over a cold beer gave us the itinerary for the afternoon. It was thoughtfully laid out covering all the main ingredients of Ethiopia food. Walking from the meat bistro to the fish entree and onto coffee, I got to see parts of Addis that would have escaped me. Sitting at the sidewalk cafe eating shiro beside a group of men sipping coffee conjured memories of Italian cafes at home in Ottawa. Elize and Xavier are great hosts for this tour; their comfortable, respectful attitude coupled with their ability to speak Amharic. I would highly recommend this tour for people in Addis over a weekend and wanting to experience local neighbourhood food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful way to spend the afternoon in Addis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We so enjoyed our afternoon with Eliza and Xavier! The food was delicious (some of the best I have had in Addis), and we were introduced to restaurants that we would not have found on our own, and will visit again.They are both very knowlegeable about the amazing food and coffee of Ethiopia, in addition information that is interesting and helpful for visitors to Addis and Ethiopia. Amongst our group we were frequent and first time vistors to Ethiopia, and all enjoyed and got something different out of the outing. Eliza and Xavier's layed back, friendly, and personal approach make this such an enjoyable experience that I will be reccomending it to all friends and colleagues who will be in Addis! Karla

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Secrets revealed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Eliza finds the most authentic establishments, makes the arrangements, introduces Ethiopian cuisine, and delivers interesting information along the way! It was a lovely introduction to the art of injera (how to properly eat without utensils!) and the culinary delights of Addis eateries. The coffee served cannot be overlooked. It is a beautiful art form in a cup and so delicious. Eliza and Xavier are so enthusiastic and their extensive travels in Ethiopia made such a difference to us as we made plans for our next adventure. They gave us such insights into local sites as well as the Simian mountains and the Bale National Park. We feel like we hit the travel jackpot!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Eats Walking Food Tour also viewed

 

Been to Addis Eats Walking Food Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Eats Walking Food Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.