We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience that gets even better with time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RiverSide Apartment Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverSide Apartment Hotel
Save
You added RiverSide Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Bole sub city Kebele 01, house number 746 | Rwanda Embassy, Addis Ababa 5088, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An experience that gets even better with time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Between tenants and staff, including both owners Yousef and Mousse, being on a first name basis, and the immediately catered 24 hour service, Riverside is a lodge as homely as they come. Securely isolated, with spacious apartments, one could easily live here for years on end... and some do. Any apprehension about the high price can be put down to the nature of the local landscape. Addis Ababa is an expensive place for foreigners who don't wish to assimilate within the indigenous population.

From the attractively playful Kokeb at the front desk to the two brothers who run the establishment, you can expect committed assistance with anything you need. This is particularly significant since it is an almost institutional fact that locals will attempt to fleece foreigners at every turn, and acquiring a helping hand with everything from recommendations to guidance around town is paramount. Riverside is certainly not meant for the tourist on a budget but, for those backed by corporate or NGO funding, this is the premium location for residing and mingling with similar professionals for extended periods of time.

Room Tip: Reserve or request a room that ends in an odd number. Regardless of what floor you are on, the odd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My family has been staying at the Riverside Apartments in Addis Ababa for over three months now while adopting children. We have been so pleased with the kindness of all the staff, they are watchful for your needs and warm in their service. Yosef is the owner and is very gracious and attentive as is his entire team, we have not just been comfortable but have enjoyed getting to know our friends at Riverside. I highly recommend this location if you have a reason to stay an extended length of time on Ethiopia. It is clean and comfortable and if you have a need or concern you will be heard and taken care of. One more thing, if you have children or babies they will be most welcome and accommodated!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I can really highly recommend Riverside Apartments! I stayed there for several weeks with my son (1 year old), people are extremely friendly and helped me out with everything I asked for. You can imagine with a small child and just arrived to Ethiopia I had many questions and demands. The team and even the owner helped me with shopping, transportation, food, washing, etc. Even if I do not stay there any more I go back and I am happy to meet the people again and drink a coffee with them.
Thank you guys for the help, I felt truly welcome in your country!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 weeks during my first trip to Ethiopia and we are so happy we choose Riverside. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We really liked the modern feel. The view we had faced the river and was a great addition. The bathrooms were the best we encountered in Ethiopia. We loved the rain-shower heads! The WI-FI internet had excellent connection, and was faster than anywhere else we visited while there.

The staff were very friendly and could not have provided better service. Whenever we needed anything at all, such as coffee, our needs were met. They helped with recommendations for a spa, coffee shops, taxi service to and from the hotel, places to visit (we decided on Lalibela) and where to stay once we got there.

During our stay, the owners hosted a Christmas Party cookout! We had a chance to meet most of the residents there as well as the owners, Yosef and Mussie. The residents were very nice and most were UN workers that came from differing countries. The entire experience was very welcoming and included extremely good food.

All in all, we had a great experience and would recommend this for anyone visiting Addis for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yosef and his staff were extremely accommodating. The two bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable. Best of all were the comfortable beds, soft pillows and comforter. Even after a 24 hour flight, I slept comfortably only to be woken by a good breakfast. I would recommend for business travelers including people traveling with their families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was a little unsure about the riverside apartments as even though the reviews were good there weren't many of them. As soon as I arrived I was treated very well by the management team Yosef, Mousi, Kokeb and Mimi. The apartment was clean and had the furnishings one would expect of a luxury apartment, nice tiled floors, attractive modern sofas. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone needing accomadation central to Addis centre, breakfast isn't bad either.

Room Tip: Request riverside view in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We intended to only come short term to Riverside but charming Yosef and his team built a gem in the middle of buzzling city having kept us long.

The 2 bedroom appartments are spacious and very well furnished in attractive, modern style. Service is truly excellent, just a phone call away, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Ethiopia is a special place, with lots of power & water issues, and has many limitations on importation, therefore most places have huge issues with finishing and reliability. However, Riverside delivers peace of mind, value for money and convenience with great hospitality.

This place compares extremely well against Ethiopian standards and local competitors. What sound like an advertisement is just reason for us staying long term and having recommended it to many friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosef T, General Manager at RiverSide Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear valued Costumer

We at River Side are always glad to know that our clients had a great experience. We will continue with our service to our clients standard. On behalf of all our employee and management team thank you.

Sincerely,

Yosef Tsegay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverSide Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverSide Apartment Hotel

Address: Bole sub city Kebele 01, house number 746 | Rwanda Embassy, Addis Ababa 5088, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm reception and an uplifting ambiance are what make Riverside Apartment Hotel one of the finest serviced luxury apartment hotel in Addis-Ababa, Ethiopia. All our bedrooms are functionally designed, with a complete kitchen arranged alongside stylish and immaculate living area, giving you everything you need for a comfortable visit and stay. Our outstanding services include complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverSide Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.