We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable stay in Ethiopia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethel Guest Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bethel Guest Home
Save Saved
You added Bethel Guest Home to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 119 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“Great, comfortable stay in Ethiopia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Bethel Guest Home is a new, modern guest house offering numerous ammenities and upgrades. Our room was very spacious with multiple closets and an en-suite bathroom including a tub and separate shower. While at Bethel Guest Home, we had access to high speed wireless internet which made communicating back home very easy. Plus, the cooking staff was amazing! We had delicious meals like grilled chicken and pasta, fresh produce, and cold Coca-Cola. Definitely plan on staying here during all future trips back to Addis. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
1
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, uganda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in a number of mid-level hotels in Addis, and this Guest House far exceeds any of the standard name hotels. Most hotels in Addis look good on the outside, but are outdated, worn, and fading on the inside. Bethel Guest House is definitely the exception. The inside is even nicer than the outside!

It has very clean rooms, spacious closets, large bathrooms with hot water (!), simply, but nicely decorated and comfortable beds. It has free high-speed internet, which is very unusual for mid-range hotels. The staff speak English and are very helpful. There was no TV in my room, but I don't speak Amharic, so I didn't mind not having a TV.

The only downside is that it is a bit off the beaten track and away from many offices or sites in central Addis. But, the staff can easily call a taxi for you.

I've stayed at Bethel Guest House twice now. The second time I had to move from there to a well-known hotel in town that was at least twice as expensive and half as nice. Bethel Guest House is exceptional accommodation and great value.

They have provided an airport pick-up each time I have stayed there, and they answer e-mails when making arrangements.

Highly recommend Bethel and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have traveled extensively in East Africa and Ethiopia and thought I had pretty realistic expectations. Bethel GH shattered them. It was clean, spacious, and the friendly staff members understand customer service. Great towels, comfortable beds, hot water, high speed wireless internet! I have now stayed at Bethel GH 3 times and will plan to keep staying there every time I visit Addis in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Bethel Guest House is an extremely nice facility with immaculate accommodations for any size group while traveling to Ethiopia. The rooms are very spacious and clean; the common areas are comfortable and inviting; and the staff is perfectly gracious and helpful. The meals we ate there were delicious, and everyone in our group enjoyed the facility. We will definitely be staying there when we travel back to Addis in the future. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family and I, stayed at the guest house in July of 2012 during a mission trip. The house is surprisingly immaculate and spacious. New, new new and the staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. We were a bit unsure what the accommodations would be like and we were surprised to the upside. We would not hesitate to stay here again and will be in 2013!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Bethel Guest Home for 8 days while visiting a coffee conference in Addis. The place was immaculate. The food was fantastic and the staff was very helpful. I will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were very pleased with this guest house. Super clean and modern, much nicer than many places I've stayed in Europe. My husband and I traveled with two kids and the set up worked perfectly - there was a very large master bedroom with tons, I mean tons, of locking storage cabinets, and then a door which led to a smaller room with bunk beds, which led through another door to the bathroom. We could stay up after the kids went to bed with no problem. Staff was very friendly and the food was delicious.

We felt very safe, our kids could scamper around the guesthouse while we took short naps.

All the rooms have private baths, which is not the norm in Addis.

Food was great, and a major bonus is a washer dryer on the premises. Super important when traveling with kids!

The fact that the proceeds from Bethel go to fund organizations that help orphans in Ethiopia is just the icing on the cake.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethel Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Guest Home

Address: Bethel | Kolfe Keranio Sub City, Addis Ababa 41943, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% of profits are given back to the community to care for impoverished children and orphans in Addis Ababa. All of our accommodations at Bethel Guest Home are furnished to the highest of standards with custom built beautiful furniture, comfortable new mattresses, fine linens, and locally made art and decor. Bethel Guest Home makes your stay an experience closer to home. Beautiful, newly built guest home with twenty bedrooms, 8 of which have their own large, en-suite baths. Three living areas, two kitchens and a manicured courtyard. 24 hour security and front desk staff. Full time chef. Complimentary: shuttle to and from airport, homemade breakfast, high speed wifi internet, Ethiopian mobile phone, bottled water, gourmet Ethiopian coffee. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethel Guest Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.