We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ag Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ag Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Ag Palace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ag Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Mazorea | P.O.Box 680, code 1110, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but visited for lunch and must recommend it because of the food! It was probably the best meal we had in Ethiopia. Traditional Ethiopian food can get too much for us after a few days, and though you can get international food easily, it tends to be a bit bland and not too interesting, so we really appreciated the delicious spicy checken kebabs at the Ag Palace. We saw the rooms as well and they seemed nice, good value for money. Really nice and friendly staff, and a nice view from the rooftop terrace. Lots of construction around the hotel, but that's typical of Addis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
12
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews that I read on Tripadvisor. To get to this locally owned hotel in the city centre one has to drive on an unasphalted road in the middle of construction which disappoints when you first arrive at the hotel.... But the hotel itself is a new building that opened last January with some 19 rooms spread over five floors but without an elevator. The reception is located on the first floor while the restaurant/bar is located on the ground floor. I had a room with a double bed (good matress and excellent linen) overlooking the back of the hotel (view of huts, buildings and green fields); there was a shower with good water pressure, a nice writing desk with a kettle and a bottle of mineral water, two comfortable chairs. Unfortunately light at night was coming through both the curtain at the window as well as from a window above the room door (overlooking the corridor); additionally there was noise both from the corridors and the outside as the window and door are not properly insulated. The breakfast and all the meals that I had at the hotel restaurant were good. The staff as all Ethiopians could not have been more accomodating and kind. Their English was good and tried to anticipate the guest's needs at all times. The hotel rate is indeed a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharjah
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This march I stayed in AG Palace hotel Addis for 6 nights. The hotel is new, the rooms are good, the decor is also good. They have a restaurant which gives a basic breakfast ( not too much selections). The chef will cook you dinner also.

One main advantage is that this hotel accepts credit cards. My stay was comfortable baring few issues. One is that this hotel is far away from the restaurants in Addis. One dog troubled my sleep on few nights.

The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift. so request for rooms 101 to 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They are new and clean but too much light and noise coming into the room during sleeping.
They gave us 3rd floor but no elevator. It was a bit tired to carry up myself and luggeges with this high attitude.
Restaurant was ok but very slow and expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It`s a pleasure to write a good review. We only stayed 2 nights but spent lots of time at the hotel. The staff were exceptional, and spoke good English. The owners, two warm yet professional women went the extra mile for us. We each had four meals of which seven were out of this world, one was average. The chef is definitely world class. The immediate area is in a quiet neighborhood, and do not be taken back by the unpaved street that leads up to the premises. The room were not oversized but were very comfortable and came with a balcony. Once the roof top is furnished and completed with a bar, I can see many people spending their spare time up there enjoying the city view.

Room Tip: Grab a room with double balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The AG Palace is a wonderful out of the way Hotel. Fairly new but it has at least in my opinion managed to make a name for itself amongst the established hotels in Addis. The Hotel itself is very modern, stylish, comfortable and most of all it has "HOT" showers!
The staff is very professional, friendly and helpful. I have had the pleasure of meeting each and every staff memeber and must admit that they are all great! The front desk and kitchen staff are at your beck and call 24 hours a day and if the kitchen is going to closed for any reason after a certain time they will let you know in advance so you can order something.
The accommedations are 4 star and if you enjoy WIFI then this place will not let you down as the connection is great in your room and in the dining area.

Just want to say thank you all AG Staff for such a warm and pleasant stay.
I will be returning!!!!!

AG Palace "KONJO"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Ag Palace. They were one of the few places that let you pay by Visa, which was nice and the hotel restaurant, while not amazing, was at least reasonably priced. It is so new that our driver had a hard time fiding us.

If you get an airport pickup and you do'nt see anyone at the main gate inside the airport, be sure to go outside and down the ramp, which is where most of the drivers have to wait.

The staff was very helpful. Some noise from the street was audible in the room but we fell asleep anyways. Rooms were small but clean and good wifi. CLose to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ag Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ag Palace Hotel

Address: 22 Mazorea | P.O.Box 680, code 1110, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ag Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small quality driven hotel found in the heart of the Ethiopian capital, Addis Ababa, also known as the capital city of Africa.Ag Palace hotel offers a choice of both full hotel service operations as well as self catering facilities. Our portfolio includes standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel suites and single rooms . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ag Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ag Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.