We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jrome Guest House

Save Saved
You added Jrome Guest House to your Saves list
Jrome Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jrome Guest House
Bole Michael, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 114 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Teddy, the proprietor, is very service oriented, which is extremely pleasant, going out of his way to help us out.

The guesthouse and rooms are nice, though the location, close to the airport, is either very convenient or not ideal, being a while away from Addis' sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in dec 2012.

The management is exceptionally friendly. Teddy, an Ethiopiawho grew up in the us, will go out of his way to help you.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The guesthouse has a relaxing atmosphere.

The guesthouse is located at bole Michael, at the intersection of the ring road and Rwanda St. This is an easy 2km (approx) ride from the airport and perhaps 6km or so to meskal square. You can take cheap minivans to get to/from the centre. For some destinations (eg piazza) buses run direct from bole Michael; for others it is necessary to go first to the nearby bole intersection by the airport (this may only be a temporary issue;there are roadworkson bole road causing traffic diversions at the moment). The minivan system is reasonably straightforward once you get the hang of it. Trips usually take between 30-60 mins. We would typically head in to the city for day trips and relax a the guesthouse in the evening, eating dinner at an excellent Indian restaurant nearby. Realistically, the location won't suit everyone, but we found it convenient, particularly when having early or late flights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorizia, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very cozy guesthouse and super friendly owners, always willing to help. The guesthouse is pretty close to the airport (with free pick up and drop off!) and yet not far from the city centre. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are clean and breakfast was divine! Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gondar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

teddy and kaly were very nice, driving me all around the city. they helped me in meeting the best people for my trip around ethiopia. free breakfast and free connections are a plus, taxis at the door, on bole michael roundabout. perfect for a relaxing time whenever no garden in the pension.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

a very nice place to stay with lovely rooms (free water bottle and welcome tea) and great staff who take their time for you and willing to help with any problem. then it's very central and very close to the airport, plus: free pick up and bringing to the airport! i stayed a night only, but i'll definitely come back whenever i'll be in addis ababa again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkwiro, Coast, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a lovely relaxing place to stay. The owner and his nieces made me so welcome and took me out to the bank and for a meal which was such a lovely touch. Lovely room and I enjoyed all the cups of tea they gave me regularly! Would definitely visit again but this time I would make sure I read my email and take advance of the airport pick up. Thank you guys. X

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott, Mauritania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can not say I felt at home, because actually I was at home.
The manager Jrome and his staff Kali and Teri are adorable and do whatever they can to make your stay as confortable as they can.
Just five minutes by taxi from the Bole Airport, the place is perfect for the first contact with Addis Ababa.
Jrome just arrive from Us where he lived for 25 years and he is trying to improve all the details in his brandnew guesthouse.

Definitly, I recommend.

Rafael Pacheco

Room Tip: They have two rooms and both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#4 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis
Sheraton Addis
#6 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tizeze Hotel
Tizeze Hotel
#3 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#23 of 69 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Room Service, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Atelefugne
Atelefugne
#8 of 114 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jrome Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jrome Guest House

Address: Bole Michael, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home! It is one of the finest and most affordable guest houses in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jrome Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jrome Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.