We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Addis to your Saves list
Sheraton Addis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Libreville, Gabon
1 review
“Wow..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed there while on transit in Addis. Must say, it is a mind blowing hotel, with helpful staffs, great and comfortable rooms, very good food. The ultimate luxury stop over in Addis. Will surely visit again..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    146
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
34
64
40
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hadn't ventured into Addis for about eight years. Hotels can change a lot in that amount of time. Happily the Sheraton Addis is still one of the nicest hotels on the continent. The staff are still amazing and efficient. Rooms are well appointed and appropriate. The grounds are fantastic for an early morning walk or an evening stroll after a fabulous meal in one of their restaurants. The spa features a great sauna and an amazing whirlpool. Overall, still a five star experience, although the 22.00 USD Cheeseburger is a six star price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis.
We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service of our associates.
We always strive hard to deliver the best service experience to all our valuable guests at all times and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely Yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director Of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

having heard about this gem for the past 20 years I finally managed to stay for 2 nights.
From welcome, to restaurants, to room to pool ... All great, grandor, luxury collection.
Italien restaurant, yummy, try the gratinated gnocchi, Indian restaurant check the lamb curry, well the breakfast quality could be improved but hey T.I.A. = this is Africa....
What really gets you is the old style grand hotel atmosphere, not a servile colonial style but a genuine Grand Hotel which could be in Paris, London or Roma. . .
Will certainly return when again in this part of our beautiful blue plant

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis.
We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the hotel.
Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Sincerely Yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director Of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If, like many visitors to Addis Ababa, you reach saturation point with the "real" Addis, you know, you've 'done' Mercato, the museums, the churches, eaten the local food, drunk the local wine and gone totally ethnic, but now, exhausted, just need to escape into a world of sumptuous luxury, elegance and grandeur, look no further!!! The moment you arrive at the Sheraton you can kiss goodbye to local flavor, and do what you really want to do, which is pamper yourself with every imaginable luxury! This is a superb hotel in a magnificent setting, and in my experience is well worth the money. Is escapism acceptable when you're in Addis?? You may experience a twinge of conscience as you sip your cocktail by the pool or launch into an enormous steak or seafood platter, but just for a while, and come on, we're only human, right???

Room Tip: Ask if they have any special promotions going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on our property. We are glad to know that you liked our overall services and facilities, guest reviews like yours help us reach the urge for perfection.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again at the Sheraton Addis and reassure you of our best attention at all times.
Sincerely yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a weekend in Addis staying at the Sheraton Addis. The hotel is located in a compound comprised of a hotel, large recrational area with pools and several free standing villas. It is located near Prime Minister Office and close to the main government offices and residences. The hotel, rooms, food options and leisure and entertainment facilities are on par with any high end place in Europe or North America. We have looked at other hotel options in Addis including Hilton and Raddisson Blu and this is by far the best option to stay in Addis or even in this part of Africa at present. It seems many local people and expats are coming here to dine and rest duirng the weekends. The bar with live music is an excellent place to see local elite and yappies.

The hotel has a free airport transfer shuttle and the concierge can arrange tours of Addis and car with a driver to visit locations around Addis which we found very helpful vs local yellow taxis at the taxi stand at the Bole airport.

Moreover the hotel is an excellent base to explore Addis and Ethiopia via 1-3 day trips (we hired a driver a drove on a very good paved road 100km north of Addis to Debre Libanos visiting markets, villages, local houses and churches. Near Debre Libanos there is a nice restaurant run by a German. There are wonderful views from the edge of the gorge of a river feeding into Blue Nile. We also recommend a walk into the Portuguese Bridge ca 200m from the restaurant. The landscapes and views on the way there are unforgetable. The trip is an excellent and very civilised intro to Africa. We also recommend local show at a restaurant near Bole airport and drive up to Entoto Hills.

Last but not least the visa can be obtained upon payment of 20USD on arrival at Bole airport for most of the OECD / EU countries.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director Of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback in regards to your recent experience at the Sheraton Addis.
Your comments are invaluable to us and it is through these types of constructive feedbacks we strive to continue improving our services.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience


Sincerely Yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director Of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a nice hotel!!
Nice atmosphere
Spacious and modern room
Everything is nice in this hotel except the noise as its in the middle of the town
I think this is one of the best hotel in addis, the only problem was the price it's more Expensive than other hotels

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on our property. We are glad to know that you liked our overall services and facilities, guest reviews like yours help us reach the urge for perfection.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again at the Sheraton Addis and reassure you of our best attention at all times.
Sincerely yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel for work quite regularly and usually don't stay in very large chain hotels. However, I was recommended this hotel by a friend and I knew that I would really enjoy some creature comforts at the end of a hard days work in Ethiopia.

Put quite simply, this is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are well appointed and the price is well below what you would pay elsewhere in the world. It's all fantastic!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selamawit A, Director of Revenue Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our property. We are glad to know that you liked our overall services and facilities, guest reviews like yours help us reach the urge for perfection.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again at the Sheraton Addis and reassure you of our best attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,
Selamawit Alemu
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis

Address: Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Addis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.