We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, first choice in Addis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice, first choice in Addis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rooms are spaciuos and clean. Overall property is very nice with excellent swimming pool. There are 3 different restaurants, I went to Italian one and the food was good. Prices are decent, drinks very affordable. The biggest concern was AC because it was very ineffective. The bar is very good, live music on Thursday and Friday. Service is sometimes very good, but you can expect to be ignored by some staff. If you wish to have a tour of Addis the concierge can arrange private tour approximately 300 birrs per hour. The driver will have his own reccomendations, but I suggest do your own reseach and let him know where you want to o and what you want to see. If, by any chance, you are in the hotel when live music at the bar is available you will need to see a "dancing star" of the hotel for last 5 years. A middle age man will entertain everybody with his weird way of dancing the whole night. He will dance like he is alone and nobody will pay attention since apperantly he is doing that every night when live music is available. Everybody will tell you that he is a nice man, but noboy will be able to offer any kind of explanation for this strange, but funny dancing. If I ever go back to Addis I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottoreK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Addis for business. The hotel is very posh and reminds you of a North American hotel. You forget you are in Ethiopia at the Sheraton.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool/spa area is beautiful. I only negative is the air was not working well in my room and would not go lower than 19C (which was still hot) and the service at the pool area was a little slow. I would stay here again the next time I am in Addis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The was one of the most luxurious hotel I have stayed at in one of poorest countries I have ever visited! It really looks out of place. It is of course a fabulous hotel but the pool gets used by all the expats families living in Addis at the w-e and gets very crowded and noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christel88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Sheraton in Addis. I will start off by saying that it is my first choice hotel to stay at in Addis only because there are no other hotels that I think have the equivalent amenities.

Having said that, the Sheraton has a lot of work to do if they want to pass this hotel off as one of their luxury lines.

I travelled with two other colleagues and all three rooms AC did not work. I travelled for 36 hrs and when I am paying what I am paying for this hotel room I expect the AC to work. I like having a cool room when I sleep but the temp in my room was well over 22C. I had to sleep with the balcony door open just to make it bearable.

The hotel grounds incuding the pool are excellent. Everything is clean and well maintained for the most part. Prices for drinks and food are reasonable.

The service is hit and miss. Some employees go out of their way to help you while others ignore or act put out when asking something. Most of the service is good.

Checkin and checkout can be a gong show if you are doing it at a high traffic time. Most hotels have a que system. This hotel doesn't and makes it extremely frustrating when it comes time to do this.

I will stay again but if a new hotel opens that compares to this Sheraton I will be try that out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

By far the nicest hotel in Ethiopia. The Hilton in Addis is pretty good too, but a step down from this place. It is very large, with lush gardens and a nice pool, even a spa. Rooms are nice, not spectacular, but clean. Service is quite formal.

You will pay through the nose for food, which is average.

Very private, very safe (metal detector at front door) - which makes sense, as lots of UN and AU people stay here.

Transport service from the airport is available, though I didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank epmerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I frequently travel on business and have stayed in a variety of business hotels in different countries in Africa. The rooms are spacious, and the facilities clean.

However:
- The air-conditioner is pretty ineffective. Everyone else on my team had the same problem in their rooms. Oh and if you open the windows to let some breeze in at night, the aircon switches itself off. Frustrating.
- Their food menu has 2 ethnic items and they're both pretty rubbish. If you want to get a feel for local cuisine, there is absolutely nothing on offer. In fact, when I decided to buy some Ethiopian at a recommended restaurant in town and brought it back to chomp on whilst working in my room, they stopped me at security and said that the hotel does not allow guests to bring in their food into the hotel. Bizarre.
- No tea or coffee service within the room. If you'd like to wake up and get a fresh cup, the only option you have is to pay USD 3 (+USD 2.50 + taxes) for delivery to your room.
- The breakfast buffet is expensive (USD 30 + taxes) and really not great. The room a la carte breakfast menu isn't great either and you end up paying a lot again.
- There is no gym. They say they're building one and it should be ready in 2 years.

So, if you decide to stay in and eat, be prepared for pastas and pizzas and other boring fare. Nights aren't comfortable. No gym to start the day with, and breakfast a let down.

In short, its the sort of hotel that is nice-looking and reasonably comfortable, but it makes you feel cheated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cleocabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis. We are very concerned that you are unhappy in your stay experience with us as you have mentioned in your review.

Regarding air-conditioning, we would like to inform you that we are working on the problem and the issue will be resolved soon. Concerning the gym, it is true we do not have the gym facilities, however, we provide exercise bike to guest rooms up on request and based on availably in an attempt to meeting their need of the fitness center; again please accept our apologies if the bikes were not offered for you. The other concern was about unavailability of tea/coffee making in the room which we would like to let you know that we do provide tea/coffee free of charge all day long via butlers in room.

We certainly hope this experience won't deter you from staying with us on future visits to Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a private location near the second Palace. The facility is well maintained and the staff anxious to please. This is my first trip to Ethiopia, and with that in mind the hotel was more than acceptable. I can only assume that world class amenities and food are challenging to come by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
2.3 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
1.5 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#4 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#3 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#26 of 92 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 92 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Taitu Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing