We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Addis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Addis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Centrally located with easy access to taxis and other means of transport. Not far from the airport. Property is large and sprawling with manicured grounds, pool and fountains, The roses are spectacular. Good assortment of restaurants and bars. Good for business or a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    133
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
32
55
37
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Sheraton in Addis is impressive as you arrive. It is in a quiet area, and we felt very safe. However, it is rather isolated, although you can find taxis to take you any where you want. We checked out other Trip Advisor top rated hotels, and although I didn't love the Sheraton, it was still the best of what we saw.

The rooms are sort of standard Sheraton fare, nothing bad but nothing great. Clean. But I must say I was shocked at the prices. Way more than you would expect to pay in this part of the world. We had our breakfasts at the hotel, which was fine, but the one dinner we had was inedible. It seemed as though the food was days old and had just been reheated. Not good at all. Note that when we were there, at least, they told us there was an Ethiopian law making it ILLEGAL to use skype or other VOIP to make phone calls! Also, there was a sign on the in-room safe recommending that the safe NOT be used, and to store valuables in the main hotel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Seen some reviews that qualify "by Addis standard". Not the case here. This is an excellent hotel period. Staff seem knowledgeable and friendly, and the facility is top-notch. An oasis of comfort in a challenging city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

In a city where accommodation can still a bit of an adventure, the Sheraton is still the best option. Surely, we they will make you pay for it as well...
The only disappointment I experienced was the "Executive Lounge": while it comes as a courtesy when booking an executive room, most waiters there obviously expect to be tipped all the time. Otherwise, they will simply ignore you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

No question, the Sheraton in Addis Ababa is lovely. A grand hotel with beautifully appointed rooms. The food in the restaurant was disappointing however, fish overcooked, salad swimming in dressing and service slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the overall view of the hotel. While, we are concerned that the foods and service delivered to you in the restaurant was below your expectation. We would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback you have provided to make immediate steps to correct any inconveniences.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Abeba, Ethiopia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It´s a great hotel, where you can switch on another atmosphere, while you live in Addis Abeba, relax, try the nice big pool with optimal swimming temperature, have a rest at the nice bar, live music at the "Office bar", or some silent moments to understand your conversation in "Stanley´s Bar", enjoy great food in some of the nice restaurants, especially the "Summerfields" or the Indian, French or Italian Restaurants, or just enjoy a tea or coffee in the lounge.
It´s just another world to recreate in Addis from noise and pollution after a stressful day.
There is a lot of green around and inside, some artwork to watch and some piano music to enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback after your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our facilities, products and services. The management and the team always strive to keep up good work.

We hope to welcome you back in Addis Ababa soon!

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ethiopia, Addis Ababa is amazing. The weather is perfect, the people are so friendly, the food is very interesting. The hotel Sheraton for AFRICA is outstanding. Great restaurants, ate at the Italian one, wonderful pool and gardens and really nice shopping mall attached. It has it all.

Room Tip: We stayed twice at the Sheraton and had two different location , both were quiet, and perfect. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis. We would like to say thank you for your compliment about our facilities and appreciated also that you rated us as outstanding hotel in Africa which we continuously strive to keep to the same level.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis

Address: Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Addis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.