We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Sheraton I've been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Addis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Sheraton.com
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Addis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best Sheraton I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was not expecting this swanky hotel in Ethiopia - it really took me by surprise. The hotel is within a beautiful green estate with beautiful buildings and still surprisingly close to the town center - and a real haven when you come in after business meetings from the overcrowded & disorganized slum city called Addis Ababa. Weird in a way that you can take this hotel and place it by the ocean in Long Island - it wouldn't look out of place :) Rooms large & clean with all the amenities. The indian & italian restaurants at the Hotel serve good food esp recommend eating at the restaurant if you have a sensitive digestive system as you can't really predict what you are eating any other place in the city. Boutique at the hotel is a good choice if you wanna get some souvenirs and not so keen on checking the Mercato or any other souvenir shops nearby in the city. Great coffee - it's Ethiopia anyway - served at the hotel lobby; kind staff esp ladies at the Reception deserve two thumbs up. If you need to go to Addis on business, do not think twice - just reserve your room at the Sheraton Addis. There are so may horror stories about rats, bugs & other kinds of insects at other hotels in Addis that this venue is your safest bet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receiving your feedback means a lot to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and recommending our hotel to others. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and happy with all our facilities and services which we always strive to keep it up.


We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    123
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
53
36
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am regular visitor to the Addis Sheraton, I have noticed a marked deterioration in service over the past 6 months.

The exterior and public parts of the hotel are 5* all day long. A beautiful building with lovely grounds.
The amenities within the hotel are 4*, i'm not sure you can be a true 5* hotel with no gym and entertainment 4 nights per week.
Pool looks 4* with 2* service and is probably the weakest part of the hotel. They allow 100's of non residents to use the pool over the weekend, leaving no room for residents. Ironic that you may be $450 per night to stay at the hotel but a day guest paying $20 gets priority.
Food is a firm 3*. Incredibly expensive with poor to medium quality.
Staff service varies greatly from 5* to 2*, depending on the individual member of staff. There is zero latitude for staff to accommodate guests individual requests. Some of the staff are great but again "rules are rules".
Taxi service from hotel is hugely expensive and you frequently get overcharged.

I had reviewed the hotel 6 months ago it would have been 4.5* now it is a solid 3*.

I sincerely hope some of these issues are addressed as a trip to Addis is a lot more comfortable when the Sheraton is working well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side of the hotel will have loud music till 11pm tues to fri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

The management team has reviewed your comments regarding the pool, food quality, service and the lack of a gym facility. It is a disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We endeavor to provide a consistent level of high service to all our guests. We are looking into the details of your comments to see the areas that need special attention and take the necessary action to ensure that we continue to provide the level of service the Sheraton Addis is renowned for.

The limousine service is contracted to a 3rd party and we have addressed the issue directly with them in order to have a printed price guide available for guests so that they there is no misunderstanding to the prices paid.

We hope you will consider staying with us again during your next trip to addis.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I use this hotel often and in the last few times I see a gradual decline in services and facilities -even in the food - options and portions. I booked pick up, it did not show until after 2 hours. Arrived and was told that my SPG card was rated basic - even though I presented the card clearly labelled "Gold". Paid an arm and leg for a room, was put on a floor where a plumbing problem had caused a stink bad enough to have all guests evacuated in a hotel of this standard. There was really poor air-conditioning, I could hardly breath. Requested a solution after five hours of trying to bear it, the best the duty manager could do was try to relocate me to a room where the air-conditioning did not work at all! At this point the headache I developed waiting two hours for the driver and staying in the room for almost 5 hours with no air-conditioning was almost exploding. Finally I had to open my windows to avoid passing out and a fan was brought...In all of this, there was no genuine concern at the discomfort I was going through. I guess there were options and I chose to be here...

Room Tip: If you are compelled to stay perhaps you avoid the second floor or insist on checking the air -condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, The Management at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis Hotel.

Unfortunately, a section of the plumbing of the hotel developed a leak which caused the inconvenience during your stay. The problem has since been rectified. The air-conditioning is a challenge for the hotel as the chillers are not functioning adequately. We are currently working towards replacing the chillers which will be done soon.

We hope this experience won't deter you from staying with us on future visits to Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Sheraton Addis Ababa is like an island in the city of Addis. From a negative point of view: you wouldn't see and feel anything of the city if you just stayed here and wouldn't leave your room and the hotel premises as such. On a positive side: in a country not blessed with many good accommodation options, the Sheraton offers incredible professional service on the highest international level. If you search for a guaranteed pamper in Addis this is the place to go. If you prefer to have at least a bit of Ethiopian look & feel than you might prefer one of the other city hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and had the chance to observe the uniqueness of the hotel as you mentioned in your review that “Sheraton offers incredible professional service on the highest international level”.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good restaurants . Early morning catering and services. Very nice pool and spar.indian and Italian restaurant on site. There is also a very good buffet and bar area by the pool which say open until 23:00.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback after your recent stay at the Sheraton Addis. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our facilities and products. It is our goal at Sheraton Addis to provide exceptional service and we are glad that we had the opportunity to do so.

We hope to welcome you back in Addis Ababa soon!

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It seems to be the best hotel in Addis Ababa by far. All the facilities in the hotel is nice. The rooms are allright. The building is very nice. Seems to be the best option for business travelers.
The restraunts are all exceptional and live music at the office bar is fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and had the chance to observe the uniqueness of the hotel and enjoyed the restaurants and the band at the Office Bar as you mentioned in your review.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

since its opening i was a regular guest in this real palace island in addis...enjoyed the absolute beauty of its decoration, the good restaurants, the very comfortable rooms, the pools and so on...
there is one big drawback... this hotel hosts all major UN and other government-meetings, sleeps its VIP's presidents, ministers, princes, queens ... during these meetings the hotel is overbooked your rate is doubled and you are hindered by security lines waiting to up to 1 hour to enter the hotel when one of the presidents/ministers is leaving or arriving... so avoid this hotel on any international conference...
also there is no GYM on the facility, they send you to some city gym... the Spa is below average and too small... this made me decide to go for the addis hilton...for my business trips to ethiopia...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your long experiences at the Sheraton Addis. We are delighted to learn that your overall experience of the hotel was wonderful as you have mentioned in your review and that you enjoyed the beauty of the decoration, the restaurants, the rooms, and the pool, etc.

We currently do not have a gym, however, we can provide an exercise bike to your room on request and this can be arranged through the reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis

Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Addis
Address: Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
#3 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Addis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.