We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, histroical looking very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Addis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Addis to your Saves list
Sheraton Addis
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Istanbul Turkey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean, histroical looking very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It seems to be the best hotel in Addis Ababa by far. All the facilities in the hotel is nice. The rooms are allright. The building is very nice. Seems to be the best option for business travelers.
The restraunts are all exceptional and live music at the office bar is fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and had the chance to observe the uniqueness of the hotel and enjoyed the restaurants and the band at the Office Bar as you mentioned in your review.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Addis Ababa.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    146
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
34
64
40
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

since its opening i was a regular guest in this real palace island in addis...enjoyed the absolute beauty of its decoration, the good restaurants, the very comfortable rooms, the pools and so on...
there is one big drawback... this hotel hosts all major UN and other government-meetings, sleeps its VIP's presidents, ministers, princes, queens ... during these meetings the hotel is overbooked your rate is doubled and you are hindered by security lines waiting to up to 1 hour to enter the hotel when one of the presidents/ministers is leaving or arriving... so avoid this hotel on any international conference...
also there is no GYM on the facility, they send you to some city gym... the Spa is below average and too small... this made me decide to go for the addis hilton...for my business trips to ethiopia...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaderAddisAbaba, Management Team at Sheraton Addis, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and share your long experiences at the Sheraton Addis. We are delighted to learn that your overall experience of the hotel was wonderful as you have mentioned in your review and that you enjoyed the beauty of the decoration, the restaurants, the rooms, and the pool, etc.

We currently do not have a gym, however, we can provide an exercise bike to your room on request and this can be arranged through the reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Addis Ababa.

Sheraton Addis
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In general I would like to say that my overall view of the hotel's appearance is one of pleasant delight. It certainly is a particularly charming place to amble around and take pleasure in the attractive surroundings both inside and out.
We were not staying in the Sheraton but factored in a visit to avail of an evening snack in the piano lobby. In total there were eight of us dinning and I would have to say that I have enjoyed, by far, much superior food in regular cafes here in Northern Ireland.
However, I could not fault the staff for their genuine friendliness which was the only saving grace as the actual service and food left a lot to be desired. The bill although not particularly high was none the less VERY OVER INFLATED for Ethiopian standards especially when the quality and service did not equal.
Obviously everyone has their own personal expectations and standards expected of individual hotels. For myself I fail to see how the Sheraton received such an award. First impressions are lasting impressions. For some of my companions this was not their first visit yet they too were not impressed on this occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Sheraton Addis is a large, luxurious hotel set in the centre of Addis Ababa. Owned and built by a Saudi shiek, it's all that you would expect it to be - thourougly enjoyed our say and would go again. The highlight was hiring Barack to guide us around the city - he was awesome, safe, and very reasonably priced. Details below:

Room

Very clean, well appointed with super comfortable bed. The bathrooms are great with separate shower and bath, in room safe, wi-fi access throughout the entire hotel and a neat little cordless phone system to remain in touch when you are out of the room. All rooms have balconies with great views of the city,

Facilities

The pool is great with a 35m pool for swimming laps if you like and it's maintained at 30 degrees so nice and warm at all times. Bar service is prompt and professional and prices are same as North America. Spa facilites are very good, and cost less than North America. Reataurants area ll very good, especially the Indian One.

Service

Service was very good as you would expect. Once the hotel learned it was my wife's birthday they delivered a cake that would feed at least 15 people which was a nice touch.

Activities

Do yourself a favour and arrange a tour of the city with drive through the hotel. We hired Barack for the day and he was absolutely amazing. Worked out to be about $14/hr for is time and car and he was fantastic. He took us to all the sites in a nice car and treated us to drinks to celebrate my wife's birthday. Definitely a highligh of our stay.

Overall, great stay at a price I would expect to pay in North America. Would go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Sheraton in Addis Ababa is a case of getting what you pay for. I love this hotel!
It's expensive, and the price is all the ore outrageous considering the low cost of e erything outside of the hotel's gates. There is a bigger issue there, but this is not a social critique, it's a review of a hotel which is fabulous!

Everything you could want From a hotel you get at the Sheraton in addis. The wireless works well, the rooms are gorgeous, clean, and updated. The staff is spit spot on task and ready to serve and help in all ways. It's a luxury hotel and the staff takes great pride in providing a luxurious experience. The doormen wear high top hats. The check in process is one on one and highly personalized. You are made to feel like royalty during your stay. Fr Starwood members, breakfast is free and the lounge is well stocked, quiet, and reading materials are provided.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view or a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have stayed at Sheraton Addis three times and I must say that overall I am impressed with it. It is a top notch high quality hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean and the service from reception and housekeeping is always prompt and courteous. The room service menu and the room service food has room for improvement. The menu isn't as extensive as it should be and the food isn't as good as it should be. The outside swimming pool is fabulous (heated) and the sauna area is good but needs a makeover. If you are used to 5 star hotels this is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I must say its nice hotel (for African standard) but I can't see anything that make it stand out from other hotel, personally i prefer Addis Hilton, on my stay Sheraton hotel had been where I had the best sandwiches (you must have the tuna with avocado) sandwiches, I had few - outstanding. One of the best I had.
Server was very very slow, you just have to stand to get attention or walk to the desk. It's over priced, specially for locals.
The main entrance was a bit disappointing, security was high, for hotel i thought that was too much, I been told all the hotels in Addis have that kind of security, fair enough but I think they should monitor the 'working girls' who sit around looking for business inside the hotel rather than watching guests.
The other best thing in the hotel was the outside garden with nice calm water fountain and neatly cut grace.
All on all its nice Hotel but my heart was taken by Hilton, the staff members, the rooms, the traditional way of acknowledging guests and service. So I will say pay half of Sheraton cost & stay at Hilton.
p.s there is nice club call Gas house if you can afford the price for bottle of Vodka (1,400-1,800birr) a bottle :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Addis

Address: Taitu Street, PO Box 6002, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Addis Ababa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Addis 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Addis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Addis Hotel Addis Ababa
Sheraton Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Addis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.