We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Addis Ababa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Addis Ababa to your Saves list
Hilton Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Menelik II Avenue, Addis Ababa 1164, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Old Hotel,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very interesting hotel. Reminds me of what old Africa used to look like before it became a tourist destination. You can tell that this hotel was designed for business not tourism. Its old and a little dilapidated, but nevertheless has some charm to is. Good location, quiet, and makes for interesting people watching. The only real issue is the how they charge for every little thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed certain elements of the hotel and we apologise for any dissatisfaction you faced with our service.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

Vijay Shanker
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    197
    191
    96
    31
See reviews for
37
45
76
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The feedback which you have read before about the age of the hotel and the tired interior is true, but change is on it's way

- The Executive Lounge Buffet has been fully redecorated and now offers full Breakfast and good Dinner
- The Lobby has been tidied up and you find apples and mints again
- The Buffet in the Evening in one of the best ones in Addis

I stayed in the Executive Lounge overlooking the Pool and enjoyed it!

The staff is fantastic and very friendy and here to read any wish from your lips!

Room Tip: 12th Floor Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We are very happy that you are a return customer and that you are happy with some of the upgrades within the hotel. I have passed on your positive and constructive comments the the relevant departments

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

Vijay Shanker
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Hiton Hotel in Addis many, many times over the years and like me it is getting old and tired !! The hotel needs a complete make-over. The furniture in the rooms is old and worn , especially the wardrobes. The carpets need replacing both in the corridors and the bedrooms. The standard of food in the main resteraunt is not very good but the gazebo resteraunt is still OK if you stick to the Nile Perch and sizzling beef/chicken. Prices are now comaprable to UK so no longer can you expect "real value for money". Addis Ababa at the moment is a nightmare of traffic as the Bole Road is being dug up and anywhere within a half mile of this area is one mighty traffic jam and the dust is quite something else. Le us hope it gets finished soon !!! One last comment, you can get the best Pizza in Addis at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or one of the "garden" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We are very happy that you are a return customer and that you are happy with certain elements within the hotel. I have passed on your positive and constructive comments regarding the food to the Executive Chef.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

Vijay Shanker
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in serious need of a refurbishment. It's old and overpriced for what you get. No wifi in standard rooms only Executive suites (floors 10 - 12). The standard rooms are fitted with antiquated cable internet, which DOES NOT WORK! It's basically a 70's era African hotel hiding behind a strong international brand. I won't be back again, especially because other hotel chains like the Radisson have newly built, modern hotels in the area, with wifi in all rooms.

Room Tip: Only rooms floors 10 - 12 have Wifi, so dont bother with standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and service. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

Vijay Shanker
Director of Buisness Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I checked out this morning. And after all these years, it was only last night I found out that the hotel was inaugurated by Haile Selasie in 1969. That is a long time ago. So it is really an old place. I love the history/functional/reliable nature of the hotel. The food is okay and the pool and gym attract folks from outside.

It is rather on the high side.. but it has personality, it has a soul. It is also a working distance from most of the UN offices (if it is not very cold).

Room Tip: Choose the rooms higher up. The noise level below is much
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to the team.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Centrally located, but quiet, the hotel has huge, lush grounds and the best swimming pool in town. The juice bar located at the pool must be visited, as well as the independent coffee shop and the well-stocked grocery, on the hotel grounds, but around the corner from the beauty salon. Located just a block away from the many UN and other international NGO offices, it seems that everyone comes through the lobby, meets friends there, and stops for breakfast/lunch or dinner. Try for a high room facing the pool - there is a very nice executive floor. I have stayed there many times, and have never been unhappy with my room, the food, or the staff. The bell staff and front desk are particularly helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you have visited on several oaccasions.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room almost clean and wide BUT Service is very poor
stuff not frindly and they put charge for internet for 1 hour 6 USD and there is no air condition in the rooms
the hotel is in isolated area no super market becide and no free service at all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys O, Guest Relations at Hilton Addis Ababa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Greetings from Hilton Addis Ababa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your feedback and the experience of your stay. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you faced with our facilities and service. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.

To answer your thoughts regarding the condition of the building, the hotel has been scheduled for major refurbishment for a while now and the plans are soon to be finalized, we realize that this has been a long drawn out affair and again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused but we are seeing very positive steps being taken for this process to begin especially with the arrival of our new Hilton Serenity Beds and Flat screen TV's.

Thank you again for staying at Hilton Addis Ababa and we hope to be welcoming you back again in the future.

John McAree
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Addis Ababa

Address: Menelik II Avenue, Addis Ababa 1164, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Addis Ababa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Addis Ababa 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Addis Ababa is situated in the heart of the political capital of Africa. This landmark hotel in Ethiopia is inspired by the famous Lalibella Cross Church and is complete with its own outdoor geo-thermal swimming pool, plus an 18-hole mini-golf field. This unique hotel in Ethiopia is set on 15 acres of lush foliage, surrounded by expansive gardens. Each of the elegant guest rooms and suites offer a balcony with scenic views overlooking the gardens, mountains or the city skyline. Hilton Addis Ababa also provides a wide range of recreational options including a fitness center, tennis courts, outdoor geo-thermal pool, indoor squash court and mini-golf. Choose from a variety of restaurants and bars in Hilton Addis Ababa, offering exceptional menus, live entertainment and romantic settings. Host a meeting in one of our sophisticated event spaces or catch up with work in the business center. The hotel also features a 24-hour bank and tour operator and is the only hotel in Ethiopia with parking for more than 600 cars. Conveniently located close to Bole International Airport, this Addis Ababa hotel is situated across from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, National Palace and major ministries, and is only five minutes from the ECA conference center, the premier business destination in Ethiopia. Discover nearby attractions including Meskel Square, the Parliament building and the Ethiopian National Museum. .Highlights •15 minutes from Bole International Airport •3 meeting rooms and ballroom for up to 600 guests •6 restaurants and bars Fitness center, health club and outdoor pool •24-hour business center with translation services •Airport shuttle bus every two hours; private transportation is available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Addis Ababa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Addis Ababa Hotel Addis Ababa
Hilton International Addis Ababa
Addis Ababa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Addis Ababa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.