We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Addis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dina & S Guest House

Dina & S Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dina & S Guest House
Save Saved
You added Dina & S Guest House to your Saves list
Debrezeyt Road near to Global Hotel 100ms in to Greece embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 116 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place in Addis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here just one night in Addis Ababa, but it was a really nice guest house with lovely host Dina.

In general, room was great, clean and good value with fantastic service. The location is also very good, however currently (as at Jan 2013) there is construction along the road toward the airport so you need to take a longer route to and from the airport. The early morning pick up option from the airport was much appreciated as we arrived at 3am.

The best part of our stay was when we accidentally left our coats in one of the rooms, but the staff went out of their way to help us find them again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

In total we stayed in 4 hotels while in Ethiopia, 2 of them in Addis. The first night we stayed at the nearby Global Hotel. One of the worst experiences ever. Separate negative review coming for that place.

Dina & S, however, was a great treat! The location is just off the main road so you have access to a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance as well as, of course, taxis and minibuses. **Hint hint** Try the greek place just 50 feet down the road, it was delicious and Dina & S has a menu if you want to order in. The staff was always friendly and willing to help from the reception desk to the doorman. Hannah was at the front most of our stay and she was always very friendly. Beautiful too! The building is new so it is in great shape. The main area with the spiral stairs was cleaned every day and always looked nice, the rooms were cleaned on request, but we never required it and kept things tidy ourselves.

We saw a variety of rooms before picking ours and all of them seemed to provide a good sized bed, enough space, a fridge, a lockable wardrobe and drawers, and clean bathrooms. Oh, and the bathrooms, this was the only place out of the 4 we stayed during our travels that had plenty of hot water and plenty of water pressure to get it to you!! Also, there was a separate kitchen on the floor we stayed that they said we were free to use in case we wanted to cook our own food. Awesome! The beds were a little hard for my personal taste, but not unbearable. My girlfriend didn't have an issue because she likes stiffer mattresses. Also, past the kitchen on the second floor is a patio that gives you small views of the surrounding neighborhood, and is a nice place to read or hangout for a sunrise and sunset.

Another blessing was that they have working wifi networks. Reception was always good because they have one network for the main floor, lobby, and dining room. The other network covers the floors above. In the week or so we stayed there it only went down once for a couple hours.

Breakfast was included and both my gf and I found it to be really good. Choices included fir-fir, veggie omelette, french toast with syrup or marmalade, scrambled eggs, toast, or pancakes. I would recommend the french toast with some eggs on the side. All breakfasts come with bread with butter and, my favorite, a fresh fruit salad. Coffee or tea too. You can call ahead from your room and have it ready downstairs in 10 minutes, or do like I did and just order while you are down there and catch up on the daily news on my tablet while its prepared.

Finally, I'd like to mention a wonderful favor they did for us during out stay. We were there for 4 days and decided to take a trip to Gondar and Bahar Dir. After learning of our plans they offered to keep the room available to us for our return, and they kept our extra luggage locked up in their office while we were gone. That was of major help because it would have been a real nightmare trying to hall our luggage around those cities since we were only staying in the hotels overnight and checking out each morning to tour the cities. When we got back to Addis we stayed for 3 more nights.

To summarize:
- location is nice because its very close to main street, but far enough away to keep street, bar, and club noise to a minimum.
- staff was extremely friendly and accomadating
- rooms were clean, nice looking, and spacious for travelers
- hot water and lots of water pressure!
- working wifi
- good breakfast included

Finally, we found the price very, very reasonable. Much cheaper (about half) than Global Hotel down the road and much cleaner, nicer staff, better breakfast, and had working water and wifi. Our friends also stayed here for a few days when we went to Gondar and Bahar Dir and they mentioned that you get a lot for the money. They stayed at the Dreamliner for a couple days and they said the guesthouse was better.

If you are in this area of Addis then I DEFINITELY recommend looking at this place. We definitely will again when we go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I just got back from Addis and stayed at this guesthouse. The owner and staff were so nice and the room was great. There was good water pressure in the shower and as a bonus it was hot! There was also wifi and it worked our entire stay. We liked that it was close to a grocery, Kaldis, bakery and restaurants. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was by far an unexpected treat. We stayed in the GH twice. (coming from the north and after visiting the south) Dina came twice to pick us up from the airport which was a great help and very generous. The rooms (being 4 we needed 2 rooms) are great and most important with a great water pressure. Actually this was the only place in Ethiopia with a great amount of water in the shower. The location is very convenient. Hanna is so sweet. Every request was fulfilled with the most willing smile. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came to Dina based on a recommendation. It was a mistake. The house is nice, with a round staircase and an impressive entrance. The location is good – just off Sierra+ Leon road, near the Greek embassy. However, the rooms were extremely small and gloomy. The beds - small and inconvenient, and the breakfast was poor. Dina was not around. The team did their best, but the very poor English was an obstacle, and they could not really help us. For all of that we paid $57 which was extremely overpriced. As I said – disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Dina's when I first arrived in Ethiopia. Everything was excellent. First I was able to make all the arrangements over email which was key. Second, Dina met me at the airport even though my flight was 2 hours delayed and it took a really long time to go through customs, she was there waiting for me at 11:30pm! She also dropped me off at the airport 2 days later for my flight to Lalibela! The guesthouse is located off one of the main roads in Addis and there are restaurants, shops, etc a few mins walk away, and a nice greek restaurant next door. It is about a 30 min walk to Meskel square or you can catch one of the minibuses or a taxi on the main road a 1-2 min walk away. The rooms are clean with en-suite bathroom, TV and fridge and there is free wifi in the rooms! Breakfast is included in the morning and is quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dina & S Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dina & S Guest House

Address: Debrezeyt Road near to Global Hotel 100ms in to Greece embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dina & S Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.