We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, view, ambience, and rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kefetew Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kefetew Guest House
CMC Road | P.O. Box 888, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 110 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Bamako, Mali
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, view, ambience, and rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Genet's home when I travelled in Ethiopia on vacation. I live and work in Africa, and often have to come through Addis on the way to other places. I will definitely be coming back. The house is located about 15 minutes by car from the airport, so it is very convenient. Rooms are comfortable and decorated with care, as is the common living room which is a great place to take a break.. Breakfast and dinner are delicious! There is also a nice view over the city. Finally, Genet and her staff really make you feel part of the family. Wonderful place and not too expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at Genet's home twice during my 2 week trip to Ethiopia and had a great time. The owner is welcoming, interesting, helpful. The place is quiet, beautifully decorated. I really enjoyed learning about Ethiopian culture, her activities, and vision of this fast developing country. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonville, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Genett and the team are the friendliest people we met. The house is marvellous and whether you are working or on holiday there is few better places to base yourself.

The ambience, cosiness and great food and company really made our time there enjoyable.

Of course you have to bear in mind the occasional "Addis" powerout, which takes out the normally good internet connection, this is only an issue if you need to work a lot on the internet.

Room Tip: Upstairs front room or downstairs back rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the second time, I am staying in Kefetew Guest house. First time, I stayed in the main guest house. This time, we, a 12 member team from India, stayed in a Villa from Kefetew GH. We stayed there for 3 days from 10 May 2013. This was an excellent mansion. The mansion was very clean and well furnished. I liked it more than any star hotels in Addis. Genet's hospitality is beyond explanation. She visited us everyday and ensured that everything is in place. She arranged ethiopian ethnic food and a cofee ceremony for us. She also accompanied us to a Botanical garden and a cultural restaurant(Habesha 2000).

Full credits and many thanks to Genet and Kefetew GH. My first reccomendation to anyone tarvelling to Addis is Kefetew GH.

Warm Regadrs
Salim M.K

Room Tip: If you are a team of 6 or more people, then choose teh Villa. This will be exclusive for you. Upto 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here twice during my 2 week trip to Ethiopia and loved it!

Genet, the owner, is warm, gracious and beyond helpful with anything you need. It was a joy to talk to her about her life, Ethiopian history, culture and the many changes happening there.

The common rooms are beautifully decorated with artisan crafts from all over the country. I loved the look so much I went to nearly every store Genet had used to buy my own souvenirs. :)

The rooms are spacious, super clean and very comfortable. And the food is delicious!

Make sure to stay in one night for dinner. The staff makes wonderful, traditional meals and when the house is full, it feels like a terrific dinner party. There's good wine and interesting conversation with people from all over the world.

Genet can also arrange for an affordable driver to take you around town, which I highly recommend. They are sweet, helpful and always on time.

After a day spent in the hectic capital, I always looked forward to going back to the calm of Kefetew Guesthuse. It was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Kefetew guest house is a great place to begin your Addis and Ethiopian experience. Friendly and welcoming, Genet will help and and advise with places to see and eat as well as help with taxis if required. After a long hot day seeing the sights of this vibrant city it is the perfect place to relax in the evening. The staff are all helpful and the home cooked food is delicious, making us want to return to the Kefetew after our short trip North to Adowa before leaving Ethiopia.
The best guest house in Addis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B last week and overall, it was good experience. We are very budget conscious travelers so that affects our reviews wherever we travel to. We do not throw money around willy nilly to ease our consciences as that just contributes to inflation; instead we donate to schools where the long term effects of education can lift the people collectively towards prosperity.
Genet was a good host and upgraded our room from standard to master at no additional charge. Be aware that seemingly everything in Ethiopia is subject to an additional 15% VAT and a service charge which is often 10% at the restaurants. Taxis are, in our opinion, very expensive here - 150-200 Birr. Genet has some taxi contacts so if you choose one, we recommend that you choose one that speaks English, else the taxi driver will have to call Genet quite often and that may strain the relationship. We had negotiated a daily rate with one of Genet’s taxi drivers for 500 Birr and as we started late (in the afternoon) and got back around 7pm we thought the agreed price was reasonable but we were surprised when we got back and the driver claimed 600 Birr was the price as we had arrived late. Not keeping to the negotiated rates is a black mark because trust is important. Getting chiseled is not a cultural thing; it’s about heart and soul of the individual. Believing that it is okay to cheat people because you will never see them again is short sighted particularly in this day and age of the Internet and seemingly instant communication. My advice would be for the owner to cultivate better taxi contacts that can give better rates than the street and in return that taxi can get more referrals and therefore greater total revenue. The Kefetew is a little ways outside of town so getting downtown can be on the expensive side. But we found the 83 bus (walk to the end of the street to catch it) would take us to the National Museum (about a 30 minute ride) for 2 Birr versus 150 Birr for a taxi. The people on the bus were friendly and helpful and many spoke English. Then we took the 31 bus to the Hilton (10 minutes) where some of our friends were staying. The conversion last week was 18.2 or 3 to the dollar and at the black market, 19.
By the way, you CANNOT reconvert your Birr to dollars at the airport when you leave. The banks make up a story that they don't have dollars to convert into even thought their rate sheets clearly show both buying and selling of currencies. I found this quite dishonest and disturbing and another black mark for Ethiopia. We have travelled worldwide and this was a first for us.
The rooms at the Kefetew were nice. If you want 100% no mosquitoes, bring a net with a frame - there were a few mosquitoes but nothing outrageous. However the flies were a completely different story. Although none were in our room, the living room and dining room had quite a few and we had to fend off the flies whenever we tried to eat our meals or worked outside of our room. This needs to get fixed. I would also recommend that the Kefetew invest in some screens so that fresh, cool air can circulate throughout the place as it does get a little warm at times. February is in the dry season in Addis. A modest breakfast was included and the dinner meal was optional at $11. We ate dinner there a couple of times and it's worth trying the authentic Ethiopian food - lots of veggies, some meat and a lot of flavor. The Wi-Fi was almost always working and that was quite nice. Electrical outages were infrequent and short. There was more than ample hot water and pressure for the shower. We found the National Museum fabulous and the Ethnological Museum also well worth the time. We got our flight tickets to Lalibela direct at the Ethiopian Airlines desk at the Hilton Hotel and paid $130 RT versus paying $350 or so online. Would we stay at the Kefetew again? Yes, if they could fix the fly problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kefetew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefetew Guest House

Address: CMC Road | P.O. Box 888, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Kefetew Guest House what sets us apart from most other guest houses is that we take the ‘guest’ in our name seriously. You will be treated and feel like a truly special guest when you stay with us. Above and beyond our impeccably appointed premises, the soothing ambiance, and the full complement of amenities we make available to you, we will go out of our way to provide you with the personalized service that will meet each and all your wants and needs. You can relax in leisure after a busy day, work in a quiet and private environment, or mingle with our other special guests in our spacious and comfortable common area.Genet, the owner and operator, is always available to personally see to it that you are well cared for and to answer any questions you may have. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kefetew Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kefetew Guest House to your Saves list