We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kefetew Guest House - just great on lots of levels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kefetew Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kefetew Guest House
Save Saved
You added Kefetew Guest House to your Saves list
CMC Road | P.O. Box 888, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #3 of 116 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kefetew Guest House - just great on lots of levels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Myself and my family stayed with Genet at the begining of our holiday in Ethiopia. What a wonderful introduction! Genet is just so personable and warm. She really has created an oasis of relaxation and homeliness within the hustle and bustle of Addis. We also returned to Genet on our last day as we were not flying out until late at night. We did some sight seeing in Addis and spent the rest of the day and evening with Genet being fed delicious food and enjoying great converstaion. Thank you so much for all you did for us Genet and we hope to return to you again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was in transit through Addis for 16 hours and wanted to see a little bit of the city and I'm so glad I chose to stay at Kefetew. I crammed a lot into my stay thanks to Genet.
After casually mentioning I am interested in alternative building she arranged a personal trip to the building site of the fabulous new building at the botanical gardens - driver all sorted!

Genet is a kind-hearted, warm and fun person who will enhance anyone's experience of Addis. The guesthouse itself is stunning with large rooms, a comfy bed and excellent food.
Don't let Ethipian Airways tell you you must go to their choice of hotel.....sort out your transit visa and just leave the airport - not a problem.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay and I'll certainly chose an extended transit to you next time I travel through Ethiopia......

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Kefetew G.H. is probably one of the top 5 guesthouses in Addis today and that is not without true reasons: My impression after staying there was that this was a typical case scenario of a person triumphing simply over the fact that he/she truly loves what she/he is doing. You can read all about Genet the owner from other reviewers -- all they say is true! She is a fantastic and very sincere welcomer. My room was spotless!.. and always kept tidy and spotless. WiFi works well, meals are great, workers are sympathetic and satellite TV offers good channels to pass the time by. Location is not the most fantastic if you don't have continuous work with the U.N. but you really get to feel you are coming back home after a tiring day and the location becomes a secondary issue. Maybe a little pricey but for me it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came to Addis as solo traveler during holiday season, and stayed 5 nights at Kefetew Guesthouse. I cannot say enough good things about this Guesthouse. Genet and her staff were spectacularly welcoming, and this is what separates this place from other possible accommodations. Genet actually brought me with to a holiday party with her, and I had a great time. She also provided many good suggestions regarding what to do in Addis. The rooms are comfortable and clean with highly functional self-contained bathrooms. Internet was consistent and fast. The food was excellent. Located roughly 20 minutes from town, but very accessible by taxi and more often Genet provided rides into town, airport, etc. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Addis!

Room Tip: Stayed in regular guestroom in front, and found it very comfortable. Saw the other rooms which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genet k, Owner at Kefetew Guest House, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Josh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words.

Happy New Year!

Genet Kefetew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

For the last night of our holidays and a brief visit to Addis we booked this beautiful guesthouse. It was the best closure of our trip we could have wished for! Genet and her staff awaited us with a warm welcome and a delicious lunch. The cozy, spacious and very quiet bedrooms as well as the spotless bathrooms were a real delight after a long tour through the country, sometimes staying in rather ‘basic’ hotels. We had very little time to visit Addis, but no problem: Genet contacted for us a driver, who speaks perfect English and who took us from museum to restaurant, from shop to shop or airline office, etc… Before leaving for the airport (and a long night flight ahead of us) we watched the sunset on the roof terrace, sitting in the comfy armchairs and sipping a glass of excellent red wine. Thank you, Genet, for your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

You are home from the first moment you enter: Genet, welcoming you with open arms; delicious food at the long dinner table, a spacious room with comfi bed, and a large living room to chat with the other guests or sink into the sofa with a book, laptop or with a nice cup of tea. Well done Genet! I had an incredibly nice week at your place. Thanks a million.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Kefetew Guest House for 2 weeks. We were in the process of moving to Addis, and booked at Kefetew after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. I have to admit I doubted it could be as great as all of the 5 star reviews; but it actually surpassed our wildest expectations. Genet is an incredible hostess, and she facilitated our adjustment to life in Addis in many ways, from calling brokers on our behalf to helping us set-up cell phones and internet to lending us linens when we moved into a house before our belongings had arrived.

Genet has excellent taste, and our room at Kefetew had a large, comfortable bed with soft sheets and plush pillows. The spacious bathroom had thoughtful details, including plants, a lantern, and stained glass windows. The roof-top terrace is a lovely place to relax after the city's bustle; you can glimpse the mountains in the distance and at sunset watch the sky change colors.

And of course this review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the delicious food. Genet and her team prepare healthy, flavorful meals drawing on Ethiopian and 'slow food California' cuisine. You can indulge in avocado salads, lentil stews, local curries, spaghetti with caramelized onions, roast chicken, & more.

We cannot more highly recommend Kefetew & the 'Kefetew experience.'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kefetew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefetew Guest House

Address: CMC Road | P.O. Box 888, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Kefetew Guest House what sets us apart from most other guest houses is that we take the ‘guest’ in our name seriously. You will be treated and feel like a truly special guest when you stay with us. Above and beyond our impeccably appointed premises, the soothing ambiance, and the full complement of amenities we make available to you, we will go out of our way to provide you with the personalized service that will meet each and all your wants and needs. You can relax in leisure after a busy day, work in a quiet and private environment, or mingle with our other special guests in our spacious and comfortable common area.Genet, the owner and operator, is always available to personally see to it that you are well cared for and to answer any questions you may have. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kefetew Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.