We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean Food in Ethiopia!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enya's Mediterranean Kitchen

Enya's Mediterranean Kitchen
Bole TeleMedhanyalem, just off Namibia Street, behind Haimi Hotel | House No 064, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
+251 91 279 5876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 170 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OUR RESTAURANT IS NOT OPERATING SINCE AUGUST 2014.
Ramelton, Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Food in Ethiopia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This restaurant offers a good range of mediterranean food (mainly Greek). Check out the colanders and graters used as lamp shades. My only complaint was that the chairs were so uncomfortable it made a relaxing meal impossible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent about a month in Ethiopia and ate at many many places, and this place really doesn't stand out at all for me.
I went with two local friends and was stunned at the number of ferenji (foreigners). It was like being in the US! That's just an observation-it doesn't really help or hurt the review.

I ordered a fish dish. It was supposed to be Nile Perch, but they didn't have, so they served Tilapia instead :/ It was just okay. Nothing special by either Ethiopian or American standards. Service was VERY slow, but I would say that's the case most places. Took a long to get menus because the server couldn't find any. Lol.

Prices were higher than the average restaurant, no doubt, but still reasonable. Also, very limited vegetarian options (thus I ate fish :( )

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enya's Med Kitchen Great Food and Family environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Enya's Kitchen is great, I have spent the last 5 months in Addis and have eaten at least twice or three times a week there with work colleagues. Excellent Food and Service, great atmosphere and a pleasure to eat there. Had a great Christmas and New Year there too and Enya looked after us all. Thank you Enya hope to be back soon to see you all again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went for lunch and had a beautiful fresh and very authentic Greek salad with dips. Nice atmosphere - feels very Greek.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I planned to have pizza at the restaurant under the Haimi building, but found that to be way too crowded so we walked out again. When we looked around, we saw this cosy-looking restaurant, Enya, and decided to have dinner there instead. The best decision of the week :-) We loved the place: great atmosphere, very friendly host, great decor, good and fast service and... amazing food. We just loved it and should we go back to Addis, we'll definitely have dinner here again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enya's Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Enya's Mediterranean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enya's Mediterranean Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.