We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-see but emotionally heavy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum

Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum
Bole Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
+251- 11-5156197
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Addis Ababa
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must-see but emotionally heavy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Interesting, well-organised memorial on the dark years of the marxist dictatorship in Ethiopia (1974-1992).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    89
    21
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating and sobering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Very good museum, focused and detailed. Private ownership which makes it less biased. A real eye-opener in the history of Ethiopia.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This was worthwhile just to give you a better picture of Ethiopian history. There seems to be some disagreement among citizens (guide included) about how truly great and free the current government is but all concur it is better than the prior regime. What these people have been through is really brought home here.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naivasha, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Moving, well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

A quality small museum dedicated to remembering victims of the Red Terror. I knew very little about it so the visit was educational. A n Ethiopian gentleman greeted us as we entered and offered to show us around. I highly recommend that. About half way through the tour, we discovered that he himself had been imprisoned during the Red Terror. Very moving. I imagine that without the guided tour, we would have rushed through much too quickly. Our 11 year old son waited with a friend outside- depends on the child but it could be too disturbing for them. Our 16 year old daughter was also very moved by the tour.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Powerful and moving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We kicked off our day here which maybe wasn't such a great idea since I cried in the memorial room, but it's still a must-see.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Terror Martyrs Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.