We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in the storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheba Guest House
Save Saved
You added Sheba Guest House to your Saves list
Bole Kebele 03 / 05 House #22, Addis Ababa 1000, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 119 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Calm in the storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in the Villa Zed at Sheba guest house recently during a 3 days business trip and this was a perfect choice. Having lived in Addis before, I was running away from busy and noisy hotels and this was the best thing. The staff were amazing, my initial worries about not having successfully done an online booking were allayed. It is near the busy Bole airport but the place is calm.

Room Tip: Go for Villa Zed....offers plenty of history too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Sheba Guest House for 16 nights and savored the experience. Our room, The Dawit's Room, was perfect for us. The room was cleaned daily; so was our private bedroom. Except for a day when water supply was interrupted, I have no copmplaints about my experience at Sheba Guest House.

Service provided by the staff at Sheba Guest House was excellent. Binyam, Abeba, and Mulu were three of the employees my fiancee and I interacted with regularly, and we really enjoyed their company.

Breakfast was not like I'm used to in the United States, but my fiancee seemed to enjoy it. High speed Internet service was available at a cost of $5 per day. I would suggest to management to include the charges for Internet usage in the cost of stay; the appearance of free Internet service would probably be appealing to potential guests. A more reliable DSL service was installed a few days before our departure.

I will recommend Sheba Guest House to any traveler to Addis Ababa looking to dwell in a quiet residential neighborhood and also enjoy excellent service from a genuine staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay in Sheba Guest House was very nice. It is a nice secluded safe area, the guest house has a nice veranda, a garden and in the back a lawn where you can lay down in the sun. It feels like a home, rooms are well kept and cosy. People are super sweet and very helpful in every way A nice breakfast is served with love every morning in the cosy livingroom or on the veranda. If you want a taxi, a tour they will do anything to help you. The beds are great and clean. Showers are wonderfull and clean. The direct area is quiet, comparing to most of the centre in Addis. There are some good restaurants on walking distance. The airport is very close by. Their website will give you a good impression and all the information you need.
Big up the crew in Sheba Guest House! Tears in my eyes when saying goodbye last time. We will come back! Annet and Terrence

Room Tip: see website, Dawet rooms is the cheapest and confortabel, you have your own bathroom next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed last October in Sheba Guest house for ten days. The Guest house is located in a very quiet and decent living quarter of Addis Ababa. The area is extremely safe as it is a residential area for Diplomats of different countries. The Guest House offers different type of rooms including Villa. We were in Putty Villa. It costs 90 US dollar per day including tax and Breakfast (for 2 Adults and one Child). We found that Villas Zed was the best and hat its own big garden. Unfortunately, it was occupied by other guests at that time. Anyhow, Putty Villa offers us a sense of privacy and peace. Of course all private houses do not have Kitchen. If you want to cook by yourself, you have to use the Kitchen located n the Main Guest house. The compound is clean and very large. It was surprising to found such guest house with its large compound in the middle of Bole. We were so touched by the hospitality of the staffs. They were so friendly and ready day and night to fulfil our needs. Specially, we would like to thank Binyam, a young worker, who made our stay in the guest house more comfortable. They accept US dollar. It is also possible to pay by credit card. Their paying automat accepts only Visa Card. Our Master Card did not work. During our stay we did not face any interruption of electric power. There was an interruption of Water supply a couple of time. But this is nothing to do with the Guest house. It is a common Problem in Addis because of damage of pipe line during the construction of road. Breakfast is normal like everywhere in Addis Ababa. Of course, the breakfast in Ethiopia is generally disappointing for those who like to have a variety of meal-option.
In general, we had a good time in Sheba Guest house and recommend for others too.
Yonatan

Room Tip: If you have a doubt about the exact room price, contact and ask Binyam through telephone. He is genu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Me and my Husband stayed in Sheba Guesthouse for 3 Weeks and it was perfect.The Place is in a very nice,clean and secure part of Addis.It was always nice when we where out shopping or travelling up north, to come back to a lovely and clean place what we called for 3 weeks Home,The staff is absolutely fantastic and nothing is to much for them. Mulu the cook is brilliant and if you want to see how injera is made ask her she is the expert and a brilliant cook. Best breakfast ever!!!.Benyam the evening manager is a Diamond. You can ask anything and he will help and advise you to get whatever you want.Everybody there was brilliant and i only can recommend this place.The Rooms are lovely, with a brilliant hot shower and very reasonable, You can come day and night and the Door will be always opend by the lovely Gitacho who always has a smile for you whatever time it is, Me and my Husband can not wait to get back there, A little Heaven in Ethopia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schondorf am Ammersee, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family has been staying at the Sheba Guest House for 5 nights in November 2012. I have to say that the area is really good and the room and garden were nice.
Unfortunately that was it.
They don't tell you the real price when you book. When you ask for a rate be aware that they add 10% (tax) to your rate. They won't tell you that before hand.
They will call you in the middle of your stay and ask you to pay immediately in Birr or Visa Card. If you don't come immediately to their office they are really pesky and come to your room. This did not only happen to us but to other guest staying at the same time as we, too.
Also the pickup from the airport didn't work out. We've been waiting for 2 hours to be picked up.
Another thing is the breakfast. If you are not on a strict diet to loose weight bring your own bread. We had to wait every morning about 20 minutes for breakfast and then we had to ask for every single slice of bread and even one cup of coffee (no kidding, I never got coffee - only my husband got one cup ... without milk). The last day we had to leave at 7 am and didn't get a breakfast at all.
As I said, very disappointing for a price you can go to a much better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Sheba Guest House for 15 days (aug 2012) when coming to Ethiopia to adopt our daughter. The place is a nice, quiet sanctuary in Addis Ababa. Situated in the Center of Addis, in the Turkish Embassy area, close to everything. The only place in Addis we actually heard the birds sing!
The residence is huge in Addis standard! Big yard and nice big grass garden with trampoline for the children to play.
They have several different accomodations, we stayed in Villa Zed, a little privately located house, very nice! Only thing missing was a seperate bedroom.
The staff was very friendly, a special thank you to the receptionist Benjam for making our stay very pleasant!
We didn't lack anything during our stay, and if we did, the staff helped us!
We will recommand this place to anyone coming to Addis to adopt especially big children!

Kindest regards,

Family Jorgensen, Denmark
Zinash, Britt & Christian

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheba Guest House

Address: Bole Kebele 03 / 05 House #22, Addis Ababa 1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheba Guest House is the premier guest house is Addis. This gated estate's quiet and welcoming atmosphere includes four distinct Villas on an unheard of 2 acre lot in the most desirable location in the heart of Addis. Ideally located in the Bole area of Addis, only 3 short kilometers from the airport, it is walking distance to supermarkets, malls, movie theatres and popular restaurants and just a short drive to the various conference centers and major hotels in the area. The estate is part of a secure and private gated community known as the "Turkish Embassy Compound" - given the fact that several Embassies, including the Turkish Embassy are located here. What this means for our guests is unparalleled safety, smooth paved access roads, reliable power and water, and no noise pollution. Sheba Guest House is a sprawling, impeccably manicured property of nearly 2 acres - unheard of in most of Addis, let alone in the heart of the city. There are actually 3 distinct Villas and an additional suite that make up Sheba Guest House. We will work with you to find the accommodations that best fits your needs and requirements. Sheba Guest House is indeed one of the "Best kept secrets in all of Addis" - as one recent guest commented. It is also one of the best values for short term or long term accommodations. Our rates range from $40 - $90 per night. Special discounts are available for long term stays. Whether you are coming to Addis as a homecoming, for a business conference, or simply to explore this wonderful and exciting city and country, Sheba Guest House offers all the amenities of home in a warm, inviting and tranquil environment at a highly competitive price. The majority of our guests are return customers, which is the best endorsement we can hope for! Small groups or large, long stays or short; whether you choose to stay in the large mansion or in one of the more private villas, it's our job to ensure that your stay with us will be relaxing and problem free. WE LOOK FORWARD TO HEARING FROM YOU SOON ! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheba Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.