We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheba Guest House
Save
You added Sheba Guest House to your Saves list
Bole Kebele 03 / 05 House #22, Addis Ababa 1000, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 141 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay in Sheba Guest House was very nice. It is a nice secluded safe area, the guest house has a nice veranda, a garden and in the back a lawn where you can lay down in the sun. It feels like a home, rooms are well kept and cosy. People are super sweet and very helpful in every way A nice breakfast is served with love every morning in the cosy livingroom or on the veranda. If you want a taxi, a tour they will do anything to help you. The beds are great and clean. Showers are wonderfull and clean. The direct area is quiet, comparing to most of the centre in Addis. There are some good restaurants on walking distance. The airport is very close by. Their website will give you a good impression and all the information you need.
Big up the crew in Sheba Guest House! Tears in my eyes when saying goodbye last time. We will come back! Annet and Terrence

Room Tip: see website, Dawet rooms is the cheapest and confortabel, you have your own bathroom next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed last October in Sheba Guest house for ten days. The Guest house is located in a very quiet and decent living quarter of Addis Ababa. The area is extremely safe as it is a residential area for Diplomats of different countries. The Guest House offers different type of rooms including Villa. We were in Putty Villa. It costs 90 US dollar per day including tax and Breakfast (for 2 Adults and one Child). We found that Villas Zed was the best and hat its own big garden. Unfortunately, it was occupied by other guests at that time. Anyhow, Putty Villa offers us a sense of privacy and peace. Of course all private houses do not have Kitchen. If you want to cook by yourself, you have to use the Kitchen located n the Main Guest house. The compound is clean and very large. It was surprising to found such guest house with its large compound in the middle of Bole. We were so touched by the hospitality of the staffs. They were so friendly and ready day and night to fulfil our needs. Specially, we would like to thank Binyam, a young worker, who made our stay in the guest house more comfortable. They accept US dollar. It is also possible to pay by credit card. Their paying automat accepts only Visa Card. Our Master Card did not work. During our stay we did not face any interruption of electric power. There was an interruption of Water supply a couple of time. But this is nothing to do with the Guest house. It is a common Problem in Addis because of damage of pipe line during the construction of road. Breakfast is normal like everywhere in Addis Ababa. Of course, the breakfast in Ethiopia is generally disappointing for those who like to have a variety of meal-option.
In general, we had a good time in Sheba Guest house and recommend for others too.
Yonatan

Room Tip: If you have a doubt about the exact room price, contact and ask Binyam through telephone. He is genu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Me and my Husband stayed in Sheba Guesthouse for 3 Weeks and it was perfect.The Place is in a very nice,clean and secure part of Addis.It was always nice when we where out shopping or travelling up north, to come back to a lovely and clean place what we called for 3 weeks Home,The staff is absolutely fantastic and nothing is to much for them. Mulu the cook is brilliant and if you want to see how injera is made ask her she is the expert and a brilliant cook. Best breakfast ever!!!.Benyam the evening manager is a Diamond. You can ask anything and he will help and advise you to get whatever you want.Everybody there was brilliant and i only can recommend this place.The Rooms are lovely, with a brilliant hot shower and very reasonable, You can come day and night and the Door will be always opend by the lovely Gitacho who always has a smile for you whatever time it is, Me and my Husband can not wait to get back there, A little Heaven in Ethopia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schondorf am Ammersee, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family has been staying at the Sheba Guest House for 5 nights in November 2012. I have to say that the area is really good and the room and garden were nice.
Unfortunately that was it.
They don't tell you the real price when you book. When you ask for a rate be aware that they add 10% (tax) to your rate. They won't tell you that before hand.
They will call you in the middle of your stay and ask you to pay immediately in Birr or Visa Card. If you don't come immediately to their office they are really pesky and come to your room. This did not only happen to us but to other guest staying at the same time as we, too.
Also the pickup from the airport didn't work out. We've been waiting for 2 hours to be picked up.
Another thing is the breakfast. If you are not on a strict diet to loose weight bring your own bread. We had to wait every morning about 20 minutes for breakfast and then we had to ask for every single slice of bread and even one cup of coffee (no kidding, I never got coffee - only my husband got one cup ... without milk). The last day we had to leave at 7 am and didn't get a breakfast at all.
As I said, very disappointing for a price you can go to a much better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Sheba Guest House for 15 days (aug 2012) when coming to Ethiopia to adopt our daughter. The place is a nice, quiet sanctuary in Addis Ababa. Situated in the Center of Addis, in the Turkish Embassy area, close to everything. The only place in Addis we actually heard the birds sing!
The residence is huge in Addis standard! Big yard and nice big grass garden with trampoline for the children to play.
They have several different accomodations, we stayed in Villa Zed, a little privately located house, very nice! Only thing missing was a seperate bedroom.
The staff was very friendly, a special thank you to the receptionist Benjam for making our stay very pleasant!
We didn't lack anything during our stay, and if we did, the staff helped us!
We will recommand this place to anyone coming to Addis to adopt especially big children!

Kindest regards,

Family Jorgensen, Denmark
Zinash, Britt & Christian

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed in Sheba guest house for 4 nights. That 4 nights, I felt like I was at home. The bed, gosh...like I was in heaven and most importantly the staff and their service, excellent beyond words.
My flight was 6 in the morning, they insisted I should have my breakfast before leaving and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend to everyone who prefers a nice quiet place to relax and wind down, don't look further this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This could be on of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. When I was in my bed, I felt like I was in my own bed at home. Sheba is a large family house inside an embassy compound that has been converted (by the family) into a guest house. You really feel like you are a guest in someone's home, because you are. The grounds are beautiful, and the common areas feel just like home. Service was impeccable and my morning breakfast was perfect every day. The location is very quiet. It's a little hard to find. Turn in where it says South Sudan Embassy. Take the first right, then left. Black gate on the right. No sign. There are a few restaurants and cafes within short walk and a large shopping area about 15 minutes walk away. Overall, Sheba is great and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#8 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 83 in Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Addis
Sheraton Addis
#6 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#51 of 83 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheba Guest House

Address: Bole Kebele 03 / 05 House #22, Addis Ababa 1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheba Guest House is the premier guest house is Addis. This gated estate's quiet and welcoming atmosphere includes four distinct Villas on an unheard of 2 acre lot in the most desirable location in the heart of Addis. Ideally located in the Bole area of Addis, only 3 short kilometers from the airport, it is walking distance to supermarkets, malls, movie theatres and popular restaurants and just a short drive to the various conference centers and major hotels in the area. The estate is part of a secure and private gated community known as the "Turkish Embassy Compound" - given the fact that several Embassies, including the Turkish Embassy are located here. What this means for our guests is unparalleled safety, smooth paved access roads, reliable power and water, and no noise pollution. Sheba Guest House is a sprawling, impeccably manicured property of nearly 2 acres - unheard of in most of Addis, let alone in the heart of the city. There are actually 3 distinct Villas and an additional suite that make up Sheba Guest House. We will work with you to find the accommodations that best fits your needs and requirements. Sheba Guest House is indeed one of the "Best kept secrets in all of Addis" - as one recent guest commented. It is also one of the best values for short term or long term accommodations. Our rates range from $40 - $90 per night. Special discounts are available for long term stays. Whether you are coming to Addis as a homecoming, for a business conference, or simply to explore this wonderful and exciting city and country, Sheba Guest House offers all the amenities of home in a warm, inviting and tranquil environment at a highly competitive price. The majority of our guests are return customers, which is the best endorsement we can hope for! Small groups or large, long stays or short; whether you choose to stay in the large mansion or in one of the more private villas, it's our job to ensure that your stay with us will be relaxing and problem free. WE LOOK FORWARD TO HEARING FROM YOU SOON ! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheba Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.