We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Addis Hotel

Destiny Addis Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Addis Hotel to your Saves list
Destiny Addis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkos Subcity Kebele 01/19 | Bole District, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Pune, India
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Just about OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I missed my connecting flight to Mumbai as my earlier flight arrived late to Addis Ababa. Hence, the airline put me up in this hotel.

- The approach road to this hotel is very narrow and dark. It is difficult to find this hotel unless the driver is conversant with the route or one has come here earlier.
- Room was large and cool breeze flows across the windows.
- Breakfast was nice and wholesome, though limited.
- Lunch and dinner had very limited choices for vegetarians like me. Also, it may not be very safe to walk down the narrow alley onto the main road so shopping for fresh fruit is also out.
- Wireless internet access was extremely good and fast.
- Bathroom was stinking of drainage smell..the drain is at the entry to the shower section and not at a corner.
- There were only 4 channels on TV, not providing enough variety even on news channels.
There is no other facility for utilizing one's time apart from a small shop in the hotel.
- Access to the main market is limited due to location constraints.
- Reception was helpful providing adaptor conveteor / plug to connect laptop to socket.

Overall, hotel is avoidable for people who want to frequent the city but do not have means of transport.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
4
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Located in a warren of back roads off the old Bole Road, it's quiet apart from the barking of dogs at night; I changed rooms to the opposite side of the hotel to the dogs and was no longer disturbed by the barking. I had a huge room, clean, comfortable and with reasonable internet access (better connectivity downstairs in the dining room). Pleasant staff. However, if you want anything for breakfast such as a fried egg you must set aside at least half an hour even if you're the only person in the dining room. For some reason dinner is served slightly more speedily and is OK.

Room Tip: Locate the barking dogs and choose the opposite side
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Destiny Hotel is a jewel. Good bed. Good toillete. Very clean and with the most kind management and staff. It is not a luxury hotel, but everything is at the right place. Breakfast is ok, simple, but I never have a heavy breakfast.

I stayed here one week ago and came back. I guess this is the best compliment I can make.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our first expierence was not so good. Hotel was located in one very small, not paved street. Axcess road was difficult... But we didn't have a choice. All the other hotels in Addis were packed. But after we came in everything changed. We saw lovely new clean hotel, with new rooms, clean, quite, excellent service... Restoran with a good food was openned 24 hours a day. They also had a good choice of wine... Wireless internet was working very well... Generally, we were more than satisfied. After that, my housband and me stayed in Destiny Hotel every time we were in Addis Ababa (once or twice a month, during 3-4 months). We have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for a decent hotel with decent price, good service, friendly atmosphere, good internet...

Room Tip: In the rooms on the top floor wind makes a noise. Second floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Addis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Addis Hotel

Address: Kirkos Subcity Kebele 01/19 | Bole District, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Destiny Addis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Destiny Addis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Addis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.