We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but food disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Addis

Antica Addis
Off Bole Road, Cape Verde Street past Cherry's Coffee, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 150 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: African, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It is one of the best pizzerias, bars and restaurants in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The food is so delicious and healthy, with art gallery, brick oven pizzas, hot rock barbecue, underground night club, welcoming people.
Merlischachen, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location but food disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went there for food yesterday night and whilst I thought the set-up of the garden and restaurant was quite pleasant, the food was disappointing. The mozzarella / tomato starter salad was excellent but the pizzas were very average and disappointing. There was absolutely no flavour to it, it didn't feel fresh, the topping was very oily and the chicken had a very strange flavour. I dont think this will become a place to go back to for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad pizza, bad delivery, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I ordered a pizza to my hotel, which is not hard to find (off a major road), and I gave them directions over the phone. I felt for the driver because after my many conversations with the restaurant it became clear that it was his superiors who were giving him confusing directions - he clearly felt terrible by the time he finally made it to me. I finally had to put my hotel proprietor on the phone to give basic directions. The worst part was that once the pizza arrived (with a hefty 300 birr tab, my most expensive meal in Addis by far), it was terrible! It tasted like there was something rotten on it...could have been the sauce? Never again. Not sure what it's like to eat at the restaurant but I do NOT recommend delivery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The while the menu isn't super extensive, they do what they do well! We ordered a chicken pizza and a chicken dish off of their "African specialties" menu. We like the pizza enough to get another one as take-out for dinner that night. Going the extra mile to cook over a wood stove really made the difference in taste. The ambiance is a little odd-as if it was a Japanese restaurant in a previous life. Who cares! The service was great, the food was great. That's what really counts!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Handy before take off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Parking is on the road but there is ample space. Food is average. Wines are good. Ambiance is modern. On he pricey side

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Pizza and focaccia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice atmosphere and the Italian food was a tasty change after 2 weeks of travel. We had the 4 cheese pizza, focaccia and a veggie pizza. The pizzas are big enough for two people even if they tell you it's not! Popular with both foreigners and locals. The only disappointment was that they did not have coffee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Addis also viewed

 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Antica Addis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Addis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.