We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GT Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GT Guest House
Save
You added GT Guest House to your Saves list
Sierra Leone Street (Debreziet Road), | Beklo Bet, Coming From Meskel Square, Take a Right Turn Between Oromia Bank and Commerical Bank , Pass St. George Club Then Turn Left, Addis Ababa 21836, 1000, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 131 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Netherlands
1 review
“Felt at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I loved staying at theGT Guest house and it really felt like home. We came with a very large group, but they could absolutely handle it. Lee, the hostess, was so friendly to us and the little children that were with us loved her as she made drawings for them almost every single day.
The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the continental breakfast was by far the best I have ever had in Ethiopia. The guesthouse is in close walking distance to a street with nice restaurants and coffee places, as well as a bank with ATM. I can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
10
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Recently stayed in the GT Guest House for 3 weeks. They were extremely friendly and hospitable. They went about and beyond to look after our team - we took over the whole guest house. Very clean and comfortable beds. It truly felt like a family run business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had an amazing time at the GT guesthouse. We came with a large group and rented all 5 floors. They were amazing at hosting us - always friendly, helpful and flexible. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and I enjoyed their breakfast.
Every time we came after having gone somewhere it felt like coming home. The atmosphere is very peaceful and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The GT guest house was a great place to stay in Addis! What really made the stay at the GT Guest house was the service. I thought I had lost my passport and my flight was leaving at 6am. Lee (Guest House manager) woke up at like 4am in the morning because I called (she had given me her cell phone number just in case I needed anything) and helped me search for it. In the end it was found. She not only helped in this circumstance but she also speaks perfect English and gave great advise about things to see and do in Addis. We were also there for a Sunday morning coffee ceremony which was out of this world!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The other reviews on this site have this place as amazing - it's hardly that. It's a clean place with a shower, but with identical prices to mid-size hotels in Addis, I don't really see the point of paying so much to share a bathroom! It's about a 20 minute walk from the centre, as well...so you may find yourself paying lots of little extras ('afterhours' rates to the airport and very high prices for taxis into town that mid-size hotels in Addis will either offer for free (ie airport pick-up/drop-off at any time of the night) or for better rates)...it's probably a good place to stay if you're renting out the whole floor or working in one of the NGOs next door, but otherwise it's not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NebiatGebreselassie, Guest Relations Manager at GT Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We hope you had a wonderful time in Ethiopia. We would like to thank you for staying at GT Guest House. Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review. Your feed back is very important to us.

We mentioned on our email, before your arrival date that reservation for a single night is more than our standard rates listed on our website. Our airport pickup and drop off is always free unless after hours. We kindly upgraded you to a master room so you can have a comfortable experience at our guest house. We normally do not serve breakfast after hours but we nicely left some food for you so you do not have to leave the guest house empty stomach. Had you stayed for few more nights, you would have had the chance to witness our lovely coffee ceremony, and plentiful breakfast.

We are very sorry that you stayed with us for only one night and did not get a chance to have a memorable experience. We wish you a wonderful year.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I spent 5 nights recently at GT Guest house. The best experience ever. The service is excellent. Lee the manager is an amazing person. Always smiling and helpful and very very caring about her guests. I even got sick, and was treated like family. There is always someone to help and respond in a timely and efficient manner. The rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. The food (morning breakfast) is unbelievable. I have only good things to say about this guest house. Every person that was involved in the customer care was nice and smart and to the point. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The GT Guest House was excellent! We stayed there for a couple weeks during our adoption process. The house is beautiful. Hot showers, very clean and comfortable, fastest and most reliable Wi-Fi internet that I've experienced in Ethiopia! Nice courtyard. The location is great - safe area, walk to restaraunts, bakery, coffee shop, pizza, etc. The staff is very kind! The owners drove us (and waited with us) to the hospital late one night when our daugther was sick. Also, Lewam speaks excellent English. Adoption friendly.

We've been to Ethiopia several times and this is by far our favorite spot to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GT Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GT Guest House

Address: Sierra Leone Street (Debreziet Road), | Beklo Bet, Coming From Meskel Square, Take a Right Turn Between Oromia Bank and Commerical Bank , Pass St. George Club Then Turn Left, Addis Ababa 21836, 1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GT GUEST HOUSE provides the best accommodation for the business or leisure traveler as well as for family/group requirements at an affordable rate. We offer the most comfortable resting experience in one of the safest and finest areas in all of Addis Ababa. We are located about 10 minutes from Bole airport and less than 5 minutes away from city center, Mesqel Square.We are also located within walking distance to cafe's, supermarkets, great restaurants, banks,ATM's, bookstores, clinics, and hospitals.Each floor has two or 3 bed rooms with comfortable king/queen/twin size beds, 2 bath rooms, very specious living room and dinning room, specious fully equipped kitchen, storage room and specious balcony. All Living rooms have, sofa, dinning table, TV and french style patio doors with private balcony for you to enjoy natural light. Master rooms are equipped with en suite bathroom and standard rooms with shared bath (own water heater). We have discounts for groups, for reservation over 10 nights, and long term stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GT Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.