We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option in this area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ankober Guest House

Ankober Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ankober Guest House
The Piazza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 115 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good option in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent three nights in Ankober and were very satisfied. After horrible stay in Taitu hotel (which supposed to be the most famous in the area, the oldest etc.) Ankober was just a paradise! A bit cheaper and hundred times cleaner than the cleanest room in Taitu hotel!!!! Very friendly and helpful stuff, fluent in English. You can try to bargain, we were succesfull:) Rooms are rather small but furniture is very modern, nice hot shower, TV, parking. I think this guest house would even satisfied people who are expecting the "european standarts", which are rather unique in Ethiopia. This hotel doesn't have a view or shick garden and looks rather very basic from outside but what you get inside is really worth this money. View or bigger size of the room will mean nothing to you if are bitten by fleas all night like in many other hotels of this price level.

Nice location and feels very safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at Ankober for 6 nights during our trip to Ethiopia. Our first night we stayed next door and the room was a bit bigger but was quite dirty and bugs everywhere. The next day we checked out Wutma.. its across the street and quite popular with backpackers but was dirty, dark, and at the same price point as Ankober.
We were completely happy with our stay. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant, spoke excellent english, and was always willing to answer any questions we had. The rooms were big enough, clean enough, and we stayed in one of the courtyard rooms so it was quiet.
Tips:
We had them do our laundry and it came back smelly.. dirty. I had been washing our clothes on our trip through Africa in the sinks and my hand washing smelled WAY better. Negotiate a better rate if you're staying for a while.. also, their WiFi is pretty spotty. Fortunately, our room in the courtyard was right next to the wifi hub for the property next door and we got a pretty good reception.. Score!
Wutma hotel - while dark and crappy upstairs - made some of the better traditional food we had while visiting. Plus the macchiatos were good and cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A couple of friends and I stayed at this place for about a week after our friend from Addis took us here to check it out. First off, the prices are very good for what you get. They arn't the cheapest prices but the rooms are much cleaner and the staff is much friendlier than other budget hostels. You get your own bathroom with solid running hot water! yess!!
We paid 400 birr a night for a single room with 2 beds. The staff are very nice and speak good English. There is a guard there 24/7. The laundry is very cheap and the staff did a great job with it. Some small problems were that you have to pay for the wi-fi and one of the staff members tried to make us pay 100 birr more (500) after our 3rd or 4th night there even though we've been paying only 400. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and didn't run into any major problems there. Great place for the price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just down the street from the noiser hotels this place proved to be a gem.
I shall forever be grateful for the kind help given us by Mesfin in helping us arrange our internal flights and buses at short notice; this proved invaluable to us.

The hotel is simple, but rooms are perfectly spacious and clean and have hot water which is not a given in Ethiopia. We stayed there on three separate occasions during our time in Ethiopia and all the staff were smiling and helpful and we felt very safe returning there from some of the more arduous trips we went on.

There are several good eateries within a stone's throw of the hotel and a Dashen Bank just down the street, with an ATM which proved very useful to me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here three times during a recent trip to Ethiopia, at the beginning and end of our holiday and in the middle when we flew back from the Omo Valley part of our tour before setting of on the Northern Historical Circuit. Whilst perhaps not the height of luxury the hotel was clean, comfortable and well located. We always had hot water and found the staff to be extremely helpful. There is a nice restaurant on the opposite side of the road and slightly uphill from the hotel and a bank with ATM at the first junction down hill from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

we were a group of friends and stayed 2 nights at Ankober: nice guesthouse in the city centre (Piazza area), clean rooms with hot shower and the best thing are the people working there, so helpful and nice. price approx 30 US$ for a double. beds are ok and the place, although was in the city centre, was very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed a week at the Ankober guest House in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and I was very pleased with the experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. My room was a queen sized with a private bath and armoire (no closet) which was clean and well maintained. There is a restaurant/bar across the street from the hotel called the Wutma Restaurant which is very convenient with tasty food and a friendly staff, and if you'd like to venture out into the town, which is the Piazza section of Addis, there are plenty of places to eat as well. Transportation is easy to get - just make sure to negotiate your fare before you start your ride or you'll be in for a shock. The staff of the hotel can help you with that. I would definitely stay there again - the room was the equivalent of US$20/night and it is well worth the value.

Room Tip: Make sure to contact the hotel ahead of time and reserve your room and ask for a private bathroom. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ankober Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankober Guest House

Address: The Piazza, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ankober Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ankober Guest House to your Saves list