We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprise, you get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Hotel

Pacific Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Hotel
808 Dessei Road | Lamberet, Bole sub-city, Addis Ababa 9867, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Hillerod, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No surprise, you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at this hotel becaurse my connecting flight was cancled. I did not expect Ethiopien air to give us anything alse than a cheap hotel.
The staff was freindly and helpfull.
The interier looked old and it lived up to the 3 star rating.
The room was a bed, a 14 inch tv, table and closet that could not open. There was no curtains in the bathroom so try to take a shower :). The room wall was thin so you be able to hear everybody.
I gave the Hotel 2 stars since i think the hotel could need an update.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I rate this a 4, because I'd stay at the Pacific Hotel again.

Here are its good points:

- a very friendly and helpful staff.
- comfortable beds
- inexpensive, good value

Here are its weak points:

- very slow and unreliable Internet
- buffet meals lack variety
- menu is limited
- single rooms are tiny

I stayed here for two weeks. The staff was wonderful, they became friends.

The hotel is in a residential area, so there is no street noise. Of course you have the frequent Muslim calls to prayer and the nocturnal barking of the dogs to hamper your sleep... But this is Africa!

If you don't mind walking on dirt roads through a lower class neighborhood, you can get to the shops and Kaldie's coffee in about 15 minutes. Take a flashlight / torch if you go in the evening - it will be very dark on your walk back.

As I mentioned, the Internet service is lacking... in the lobby it isn't too awful, but in the rooms it is slow and the IP addresses get used up quickly. (hint: opposite the elevator on every floor is a wireless router, when nobody is looking, unplug it for several seconds to allow it to reboot...then rush back to your computer and connect!)

When you arrive at the airport, if you are expecting to meet the hotel transportation van, do not expect to see them holding a sign when you exit immigration and customs. Only the hotels that pay to have a presence inside the airport can meet you there. Instead, go outside, with all of yor luggage, and cross the car lane, continue on the ramp down the hill to the parking lot. There are scores of vans waiting there. Simply ask for the van from Pacific Hotel, and you'll be set. If not, then a taxi is $15 (US) - taxis are very expensive in Addis, while most everything else is very inexpensive.

For the price, it's not bad at all. If you want fancy, world class accommodations, then book the Sheraton or the Intercontinental - both are superb, and expensive.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Pacific Hotel offers clean rooms, doubles are spacious, singles very cramped. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Internet is fairly reliable in common areas. Sadly, the food is risky. Maybe watering the juice? Or just not taking care with preparation? I was not the only one in our group to feel its effects. If you are staying here before setting out on a trip around Ethiopia, follow all the safe food rules or you may be sorry!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff makes this hotel a very pleasant place to stay! Rooms are clean and conveniently arranged. With a more reliable internet provider this hotel would be just perfect for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Location of the hotel is very near to Bole Aierport, the rooms are clean, and more of all that the workers are very hospitable and wel coming. When I stay in Pacific I fill thet I am Home...

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Address: 808 Dessei Road | Lamberet, Bole sub-city, Addis Ababa 9867, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Hotel is a newly established five story building perfectly located in a quite district of Bole Subcity only a few minutes drive away from Bole International Airport. Pacific has 45 elegant & well decorated rooms that provide panoramic views of Yeha / Yerer Mountains & a nice airport view during the night time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.