We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in Addis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soramba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soramba to your Saves list
Hotel Soramba
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Belay Zeleke road, near Minelik Sq. | Arada Sub city Woreda 01 Kebele 03/09 House # New, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in Addis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stuff you might want to do or see in Addis Ababa is pretty spread out so selecting a hotel by location is tricky, nowhere is perfect. The Soramba is a fairly new hotel just north of the Piazza area, close to St Georgis Cathedral.
The rooms are spacious fitted with good size, comfortable beds, firm pillows. All the furniture matches, though the silly little handles on wardrobe doors, drawers etc are breaking and not being replaced. As always in Ethiopia the devil is in the maintenance, or lack of it. Roms have flat screen TVs with 9 or 10 channels including BBC World and AlJazeera English and at least 1 movie channel.
The hotel has free internet by ethernet cable, not wifi. Most rooms seem to be equipped with the cable to connect to your computer, so you plug it in and away you go, reasonably quick too (for a country where the internet is at best slow and often non-existent).
Bathrooms have everything you might expect including hair dryers and shower curtains (not a given in Ethiopia) though the shower curtains have dolphins on a pink basckground! Water is heated by solar and is generally hot and plentiful.
The restaurant serves some reasonable food (try the Grilled Fish - English style) at reasonable prices and there is 24 hour room service (or so they say - I didn't test the 24 hour bit)
The staff are friendly and helpful.
In 3 stays over 2 weeks in between going to other places I was in 3 different rooms - all with views of the road, all satisfactory.
So all very good, yet....one evening before I was due to check out the next day reception phoned me at 10:15 pm to ask if I would pay the bill then as something was happening to the accounts system next day. Irritating. That, coupled with the lack of maintenance and the low-level of attention to detail (tile grouting in the bathrooms that wasn't cleaned off properly when the hotel was built and is still there now) just leads you to think it might slowly go downhill. I hope not. I would be happy to stay again - it is a lot better than most hotels in Ethiopia - some of which just make you shudder! Don't mention the Qualiber Hotel in Dessie in my presence!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
12
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Soramba provided clean and modern services. The staff is friendly and efficient. No doubt due to Birtukan's (the day manager) outstanding leadership. This was my second trip to Ethiopia. If someone seeks a clean, modern, affordable place to stay in the capitol, Soramba is it. The in-house restaurant and bar are added conveniences.

Room Tip: go for 211 or a room with
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

It was my first time to travel to Ethiopia. I stayed in Sormba hotel and what a service? i got there.
the staff was so friendly, the bed was so clean and i loved their food and the whole service, i cant even express how great the shower was. i will 100% go back to that hotel and i recommend it to other travelers too

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, Ca. USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

By pure accident our tour hotel was changed from The Ghion Hotel where we had stayed for two awful days prior to moving to The Hotel Soramba. What a pleasant surprise The Soramba was. Clean boasts new and luxurious rooms with all the amenities, great service from the staff, plenty of TV channels, and free WiFi. Located close to St. George Church and the city market center.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Soramba is a glorious new 50 room hotel furnished with smart Chinese-made fittings and features and with a well trained, diligent and friendly team of staff. What a pleasant and unexpected surprise after 3 weeks touring the Northern Circuit! There is Wi-Fi throughout the property: in the lobby lounge area, bar and in the rooms. The rooms are comfortable, with a small balcony, bath/shower, hair dryer and even a pair of slippers thoughtfully provided. Satellite TV pipes in many channels including BBC World, Aljazeera & a movie channel. In the basement is a separate Jacuzzi and Scandinavian sauna but both facilities are strictly single sex only, which irritated my wife and I!

A decent buffet breakfast with unlimited refills of delicious Ethiopian coffee is served between 6.30 am and 10.00 am in the first floor restaurant. Dinner menu items include pepper steak and Ethiopian sparkling wine. The bar is a very pleasant and relaxing place for a drink and the beers that they stock include Kakim, an interesting locally-brewed stout. Prices are very reasonable.

The location in the north-centre of the city near to St George’s church is an excellent one. It is 10 minutes walk to the Piazza area, making the hotel an ideal base for self-guided walking tours of the compact and pleasant downtown area of Addis Ababa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Soramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soramba

Address: Belay Zeleke road, near Minelik Sq. | Arada Sub city Woreda 01 Kebele 03/09 House # New, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Soramba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Soramba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soramba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.