We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast

Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast
Ethio-Chiana Road or (Wello Sefer) | In front of Ibex Hotel, Addis Ababa 4449, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 131 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For the price, this place was lovely. It isn't luxurious by any means, if you want that pay 10-fold and go to the Sheraton. It is simple, clean and the staff is very pleasant. They let me check in early in the morning as I had been up all night flying with no extra charge. They were very helpful in showing us places on the map and pointing us in the right direction to get to the sites we wanted to see. It was New Years Eve (the January 1st one) and even though they celebrate it later in the month there, the host made a nice little party in one of the TV rooms for us knowing there wouldn't be much going on out on the town. They even stored some of our bags while we went away a few days on a horseback trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice in the last 6 months, and both time have had a very positive experience.

The double rooms are spacious and colourful, with clean shared toilets. Moola and Benjamin (sorry for spelling your names incorrectly!) are fantastic hosts. Very helpful with tips about Addis, making preparations for travel to other areas, and arranging transportation. For both stays, I had to catch early transportation that required leaving the hotel by 5am. In both cases, Benjamin had breakfast prepared at 4:30am, had called a cab, and made sure everything was in order for me to make my connections on time.

While the restaurant that used to be attached is no longer open, the italian restaurant next door is great, and the traditional food across the street at the Ibex is wonderful.

Thanks to everyone at Family Cozy for the generosity and hospitality - this is definitely our preferred place to stay in Addis!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very nice, family type gueshouse with lovely clean rooms and great staff. Jasmine who is managing the place was very helpful and kind thoughout our stay (greetings from Russia, Jasmine). It is quite close to the airport and Jasmine can also help with pick up from/to airport at cheaper price vs what is offered at the airport. Nice breakfast and great coffee!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A fantastic place where you really feel taken care of. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is very homely and made to order in front of you and the hostess really makes it comfortable with her tips and all the help with the local maps, bus routes and security guidelines.

The guest house is close to the airport and they arrange transport at a nominal fees as well.

Only drawback was the water pressure in the shower ( perhaps I was there on a bad day since another restaurant went out of water the same evening).

Also, this is convenient if you have a stopover or only make infrequent visits to city centre as this is a bit away from the center.

There is a 24 hour bar/restaurant called Red Fox just outside the B&B and is a FANTASTIC value for money ( Beer and main course for about $3.

I would go back to this place again if I have a short trip to Addis.

Room Tip: Warning: I was robbed by 5-7 year olds near this B&B. The hotel had warned me about them but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed here upon several occasions, and found the food to be wonderful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the staff nurturing. I will most definitely return when in Addis next.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are the quietest. I really enjoyed the way in which the staff che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very clean rooms and shower.
Not very far from airport.
Very-very helpfull staff.
I liked my time spent here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here several times, while in Ethiopia. The staff are wonderful- it is managed by Jasmine, a lovely woman, extremely helpful and kind. We were traveling with three children, who came to consider this a home from home. It is clean, value for money, and serves the most delicious food, with a Mexican slant- a welcome change from the usual fare! The location is good- a ten minute walk to Bole road.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast

Address: Ethio-Chiana Road or (Wello Sefer) | In front of Ibex Hotel, Addis Ababa 4449, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Cozy Bed and Breakfast offers clean and friendly accommodation close to the centre of Addis Ababa, within easy reach of restaurants and other amenities. We are just 10 minutes away from Addis Ababa Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Cozy Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.