We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Regency Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addis Regency Hotel
Save Saved
You added Addis Regency Hotel to your Saves list
K. 03/19 H.no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well run Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the Regency and were happy to do so. The staff is friendly, greeted us at the Airport, and welcomed us upon arrival at the hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. The restaurant was very good, the restaurant clean, and efficiently run. When we discovered that our vegetarian lasagna was cold, it was quickly replaced, and while we waited another salad was provided for us, in addition the manager gave us a free dessert in lieu of the problem. Now, that is service and something that many other hotels in Ethiopia can learn from! Also it is within walking distance of the Piazza, the shopping district and St George's church and I would stay here again and highly recommend it to other travellers. G&C Hughes Calgary,Canada

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    95
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
65
40
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Been there one year ago, enjoyed it, returned and enjoyed it even more! This place is definitely an excellent deal in Addis, where new hotels keep appearing but rarely keep their promises. At Regency you're sure to get a warm weclcome, a nice room and good food, for the best price. Above all Hewi, the manager, truly aims at quality... this definitely makes the difference. Sounds like paid advertisement, but I'm only a happy customer! Will return, no doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently held a conference at the Addis Regency, during which all of the guests stayed at the Addis Regency. The hotel is immaculately clean, very comfortable, with internet in all the rooms, and a great place to hold a conference. Hewi and the rest of the team are incredibly professional and nothing is too much trouble; they were truly a pleasure to work with, from the planning stages through to our stay. They provided all of our meals, which were very tasty, well-presented, and offered a great deal of variety. Everything went so smoothly, and all of the guests commented on how great their stay was, how good the food was,...

I highly, highly recommend this hotel - if you want personal service, a comfortable place to stay, and your conference to run without a hitch, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have stayed here twice . It is family run and a delightful and friendly place to stay - comfortable , immaculately clean, welcoming and a haven to escape from the Addis hustle and bustle. Nothing is too much trouble. On a really warm day when we had an hour to spare, they kindly opened up the roof terrace especially for us. Freedom, the hotel driver, is an excellent guide to Addis and very knowledgable on both places of interest and shopping! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Regency and it was a very good choice. The rooms are nicely furnished, the bathroom was big and had a good shower. Everything is very clean, especially in comparison to other hotels we saw on our 14-days trip through Ethiopia. The lobby is a good place to have a drink in the evening and it´s comfortable to use the Internet there (free of charge). Breakfast was good, the food in the restaurant only average. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. I can highly recommend the Regency especially if you come to Addis for the first time. The pick up service from and to the airport was perfectly organised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed here on two occasions and have had a very nice stay. For the price, they meet all expectations. Internet is good. Because of good restaurant options in the area, we opt not to eat at the hotel. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Addis Regency in October, 2012 and enjoyed coming back to it each time. Addis is not an easy city to be in - so having a hotel which is an oasis of calm with terrific service is essential. It is not a 5 star hotel: the rooms are somewhat small and services limited, but it is immaculately clean, has very comfortable beds, a good restaurant, a comfortable bar, free internet (both wifi and computers in the lobby), and the best showers around (and those are not easy to find in Ethiopia). The staff is terrific and the cost is very reasonable. The neighborhood is a little sketchy - but it is close to Piazza (about a 10 minute walk) and most of the hotels that aren't in their own compounds are in neighborhoods that require care when walking around (and walking in Addis at night is generally not recommended for tourists). A very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H.no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.