We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best hotel in Ethiopia for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Regency Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addis Regency Hotel
K. 03/19 H.no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Houston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best hotel in Ethiopia for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I spent 3 nights at this property and up to this point have never given5 stars for any hotel rating. I read all the reviews before going there and it lived up to its name and more. It is not perfect, the cons being that it is located somewhat out of the way, but within an easy taxi ride to any other spot and 15 minutes from the airport; no shampoo or conditioner but available for purchase. The room was electronically keyed and worked every time. Room and bathroom were in great condition; TV picked up BBC and CNN and a few other channels. Refrigerator was great, 24 hours restaurant and free wifi. Minor power outages. There were 110VAC receptacles, a computer in the lobby (small fee for printing); staff generally spoke passable to very good English and were very helpful. 24 hour security. The restaurant food was really good; breakfast was fine though no fresh fruit; kudos to their scrambled eggs. The Ethiopians are really friendly people and finding this gem in the middle of east Africa was unexpected---and for 1/3 the cost of the Hilton!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room but be aware that though the hotel is located off a small street, the rear faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    95
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
64
40
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Addis Regency Hotel offers the same kind if rooms and services as the most famous hotels in Addis for half the price. Mordern, clean rooms, big breakfast, laundry, room service, free pick up and drop off, fast internet... Nothing is too difficult for the staff at this hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was staying in Addis Regency Hotel in November 2011 and had a great stay.

+ : staff very available, Hewi is great, welcoming perfect, information available. Hewi made everything possible to accomodate my stay a few weeks after, coming back to Addis, because I did not book the right type of room. I had the deluxe room which is great. Overall best hotel I have been to in Ethiopia.

- : the hotel is located close to schools, so expect noise at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed for just one night before starting our trip round the country. The management were very hospitable and welcomed us like family, they were eager to assist us with any questions.
Room was very comfortable and very well presented.
The hotel is a little way from the centre back taxis are plentiful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have been to this hotel in Sep2011, and I arranged myself this hotel after reading the reviews written in Tripadvisor. Addis Regency is away from the happening areas of Addis and is calm and pleasant. However it is near the 0th Milestone of Addis and there is the nearby gold and shopping market of Addis unlike the big malls we are used to on our weekends in the city. Overall the Hotel has a good ambiance and the best part is with the rooms- they are luxurious and take care of all the basic amenities well. The food was good especially the American burger was done beautifully along with some fries and their authentic chicken dish is also worth a mention.

Room Tip: Single occupancy are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The almost unanimous enthusiastic reviews are well deserved and staying at the Addis Regency is certainly one of the best choice we have made under the influence of Tripadvisor! This hotel is very slightly off center but this is its only minor disadvantage and should not prevent you to choose it. The staff is particularly welcoming, the room are clean and nice, the breakfast is excellent and the airport transfer is both free and efficient.. did I mention that wifi is also free and fast? Almost too good to be true! Although not luxurious this hotel is very comfortable and no doubt the best value for money in Addis, as all the emerging new hotels in the city are twice or more the price. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We opted for the so-called "super deluxe" that were quite roomy, not sure about the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I read all the reviews of this hotel before staying here, and was not disappointed. The sleep quality is exceptional compared to many other Addis hotels that are awfully noisy. The service is above average, as is their organisation with taxis. However, all this is in the context of paying $65 per night. For that price, this can't fail to be the best hotel in Addis but don't think it comes anywhere near the league of the large multinationals where you are paying $250 and upward for a night, as some of the reviews may suggest. I have only one major gripe with this hotel - they hosted a wedding ceremony on a Tuesday night that was VERY loud until 22h30, without pre-warning us guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Addis Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Regency Hotel

Address: K. 03/19 H.no 504 | St. George Roundabout, Addis Ababa 21621-1000, Ethiopia
Phone Number:
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Arada region, Addis Regency Hotel offers 30 Standard/Deluxe rooms and 3 Executive Suites. Each spacious room offers International satellite TV, steam box showers and complimentary buffet breakfast. Conveniently situated near the Entoto Mountains, Piazza, National Museums, Addis Ababa University and other attractions; Addis Regency is a unique first class hotel amongst its peers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ethiopia, Addis Regency ...Where Distance Meets Comfort! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Addis Regency Hotel to your Saves list