We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rate and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aclana Lodge

Aclana Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aclana Lodge
Save Saved
You added Aclana Lodge to your Saves list
Djibouti Street, Addis Ababa 21300-1000, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 118 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent rate and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in december 2012 & I was pleasantly satisfied with the service, the rate and finally the room. There is no restaurant at the lodge but they have free breakfast. It's located in the center of the city, walking distance to many restaurants. I will definitely stay here if I ever go back to ethiopia again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for a week in late May. Clean, very large rooms with a small kitchenette. TV had many channels, clean room everyday, felt safe and secure. The staff was very responsive and nice. Great location although taxi cabs don't know it, but walking distance to a ton of things. Safe grounds and relatively quiet. Great breakfast included and stellar service.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor so you don't have to keep walking up. There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

i stayed at the Aclana Lodge in May 2012, I loved the rooms and the service very much. The Breakfast is prepared by one of the greatest chefs in Addis, the pancakes are awesome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Aclana Lodge for 2 weeks in March 2012. This place is a perfect answer to Addis' generally overpriced and substandard accommodation options. Clean, safe, centrally located in a quiet neighborhood close to restaurants and markets, friendly and helpful staff, 24-hr reception, 24-hr hot water, wi-fi internet (don't expext lightning speeds, but adequate), hearty breakfasts, laundry facilities, in short anything you would expect from a major hotel but at a fraction of the price and with an exceptional personal touch. We are planning a second visit to Addis in June and Aclana Lodge will be our choice once again. We are sending a few photos of our room. Maybe we'll see you at breakfast, over one of Maharit's exquisite omelets!

Vangelis & Ioanna

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

aclana is in the center of town, parallel to telebole road. it is close to the church.
the rooms are nice and clean, the staff is eager to help. the hotel is still new. taxis/cabs you can get easily. the prices for one night is to much for this town, in case you're not a businessman.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I was in Addis for a short-term work assignment. I stayed in 2 hotels, and 1 other guesthouse type place. I have stayed in at least a half dozen places in Addis in the last few years. Once I found Aclana Lodge I did not even look at any place else. Aclana, is well located - near Edna Mall and Shala Park in a quiet location. The rooms are a nice size, have small kitchens with microwaves and refrigerators, and are very clean and well-kept. Beds are great. I highly recommend this place if you are staying for more than a few days (even short stays are fine). Breakfast is included and they have a nice variety. Thre is no restauant on site (except breakfast), but it is easy walking distance to restaurants and other activities. Staff are great, helpful. All in all it is a very good option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed there a few times on business trips to Addis. Good Location, Clean Bedrooms, Functioning Bathrooms and Friendly service. Staff are very helpful make your stay in this hotel an excellent base from which to visit/work in Addis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aclana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aclana Lodge

Address: Djibouti Street, Addis Ababa 21300-1000, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcana Lodge offers a charming and affordable alternative to high priced and often ordinary hotel staying experience. It’s run by a dedicated family. Our rooms are spacious and bright, equipped with telephones, TVs and satellite channels and come with kitchenettes and balconies. We’re located in a quiet neighbourhood two blocks from restaurants, shopping centres, bars and cafes on Namibia St. We’re 10-20 minutes from major destinations such United Nations, airports and museums. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aclana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.