We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a simple enough option for the budget traveler in Addis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wassamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wassamar Hotel to your Saves list
Wassamar Hotel
Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“a simple enough option for the budget traveler in Addis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Located close to the airport the hotel is fine for a mid-level option. Large atrium with 8 floors of rooms. Wifi throughout along with a gym and sauna on the property. Rooms are clean if somewhat small. Food in the restaurant is generally to be avoided. Staff very attentive and are there to assist when necessary. Other than the high-end options in Addis this is a fine choice. Hotel does not exchange currency although there is an exchange rate sign on the front counter. You must go downstairs to the left to the bank. There is also a grocery store next door that carries quite a few items.

Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel and main street as the noise is quite noticeable - despite what the front desk says!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed only one night here and found the room clean and the bath above my expectation.
The bed was super comfortable and the towels and added amenities in the bath were a treat.

Our room was on the top (8th) floor, so there wan't any noise disturbance from the street our room faced.

The hotel entrance is over a wooden plank bridge, so the area was muddy and under construction, but not enough to bother us.

Staff was super helpful! They provided an extra room key as we had separate agendas for the evening.

The breakfast staff was super helpful and provided additional coffee service upon request. An "egg-to-order" service was being set up as we were departing for our flight.

Room Tip: Facing the main road may be a problem on lower floors. It wasn't on the 8th floor, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was on a business trip to Addis and stayed at Wassamar for about 4 days. The stay was not bad. There was no AC or fan in the room...and actually you dont need it at all. I have been told that temperature in Addis is quite steady between 21 to 25 degrees C.

Breakfast was average... but I loved the omlet bar... they can prepare a perfect one exactly how you want it... you just need to be specific of what kind of egg you want.

Location wise, very nearby to airport. Hardly 3-4 minutes drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed here on business twice. Both times have been good. Clean room, great shower, friendly staff and convienient location.

i only manage to eat breakfast here which is nice. The hotel is in town so its location is very convienient.

so far so good. Mohammed at the reception was very helpful especially with organizing a fantastic Taxi service for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in Bole area, in a walking distance of various restaurants and galleries.The rooms are spacious, even if you work and need to stay for a longer period. On the 7th floor, they also have suites with a separate bedroom.

During my stay, everything worked perfectly, including the bathroom, hot water was hot and it was plenty. Cleaning was excellent and laundry service worked well. For a business traveller, printing was organised at the reception. The staff was always very discreet and friendly.

The breakfast was quite a typical continental breakfast; it was copious enough to find something different every morning. Lunch and dinner were OK, nothing special. Comparing with the room prices in other hotels, Wassamar gives certainly the best value for the price.

My Finnish friends praised the sauna - it should be the best in the town.

Room Tip: In the rooms facing Bole Road you certainly cannot have your balcony door open; it's noisy and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights whilst working in Addis.

This is not quiet a western standard hotel but almost. It is very clean. The staff are delightful and this is what makes it a nice place to be. It is small enough for them to get to know you a bit and for example they learnt that I liked my tea made with boiling not warm water and this was always done for me, without any problem. The bed was comfortable and the room and en suite completely adequate with a good shower. Hot water was reliable. I would stay here again.

There is a useful small but well equipped gym.

Also very helpful is that the hotel is on top of a small supermarket, and next door to a bank. There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance, and there is a great (and very cheap by UK standards) spa across the road - Boston Day Spa.

Where there is room for improvement is in the food in the restaurant. It is cheap but pretty basic. The worst meal I had was a curry where the meat was mostly gristle. The soup was edible but not good - a chick pea soup more stock than anything with just the odd chick pea in it. I noticed that other guests stuck mostly to the hamburger and chips type menus and it may be that these are a better choice.

Breakfast is fine but limited. Fabulous fruit: paw paw and melon on most days with mango often there. The porridge was edible and they cooked a good omelette. The rest of the cooked breakfast looked highly suspect to me although my colleague ate them and pronounced them good.

They sell wine by the glass- one type only and ran out on a Tuesday. Despite the fact the the supermarket under the hotel sold exactly that brand, and that the supermarket (I was told) is owned by the same company, it did not help in the procurement process: it took until the Saturday for them to get more red wine because 'the buyer was away'.

Finally it is worth noting that this hotel is on a very busy road and my room was over-looking the road which made it very noisy. There are rooms on the other side of the hotel which would be much quieter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face out on to the front and the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spend 6 days here on a business trip. Took a suite for $150 as opposed to the $120 for a single room.

The rooms are fine, fairly quiet and with plenty of space, including a fridge and a safe. The furniture functional rather than anything special. The gym is excellent by Addis standards with plenty of machines which are reasonably up to date. My one meal in the resturant did not inspire another try.

The area is fine with several shops, bars and resturants within walking distance.

The staff were sometimes helpful but certainly did not go out of their way to provide information that may be not a usual request.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wassamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamar Hotel

Address: Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wassamar welcomes you at the gate of Addis Ababa, 1.2 km from the airport with its attractive amenities and excellent service. Wassamar offers on-site indoor/outdoor restaurant with complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet, gym, sauna and steam room. For those interested in business, we offer small and large conference spaces with a capacity of 10 and 100 individuals. Both wired for internet access and sound systems and projectors. Come and see us, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wassamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wassamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.