We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for median Ethiopian Standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wassamar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wassamar Hotel
Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent for median Ethiopian Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed only one night here and found the room clean and the bath above my expectation.
The bed was super comfortable and the towels and added amenities in the bath were a treat.

Our room was on the top (8th) floor, so there wan't any noise disturbance from the street our room faced.

The hotel entrance is over a wooden plank bridge, so the area was muddy and under construction, but not enough to bother us.

Staff was super helpful! They provided an extra room key as we had separate agendas for the evening.

The breakfast staff was super helpful and provided additional coffee service upon request. An "egg-to-order" service was being set up as we were departing for our flight.

Room Tip: Facing the main road may be a problem on lower floors. It wasn't on the 8th floor, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was on a business trip to Addis and stayed at Wassamar for about 4 days. The stay was not bad. There was no AC or fan in the room...and actually you dont need it at all. I have been told that temperature in Addis is quite steady between 21 to 25 degrees C.

Breakfast was average... but I loved the omlet bar... they can prepare a perfect one exactly how you want it... you just need to be specific of what kind of egg you want.

Location wise, very nearby to airport. Hardly 3-4 minutes drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed here on business twice. Both times have been good. Clean room, great shower, friendly staff and convienient location.

i only manage to eat breakfast here which is nice. The hotel is in town so its location is very convienient.

so far so good. Mohammed at the reception was very helpful especially with organizing a fantastic Taxi service for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in Bole area, in a walking distance of various restaurants and galleries.The rooms are spacious, even if you work and need to stay for a longer period. On the 7th floor, they also have suites with a separate bedroom.

During my stay, everything worked perfectly, including the bathroom, hot water was hot and it was plenty. Cleaning was excellent and laundry service worked well. For a business traveller, printing was organised at the reception. The staff was always very discreet and friendly.

The breakfast was quite a typical continental breakfast; it was copious enough to find something different every morning. Lunch and dinner were OK, nothing special. Comparing with the room prices in other hotels, Wassamar gives certainly the best value for the price.

My Finnish friends praised the sauna - it should be the best in the town.

Room Tip: In the rooms facing Bole Road you certainly cannot have your balcony door open; it's noisy and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights whilst working in Addis.

This is not quiet a western standard hotel but almost. It is very clean. The staff are delightful and this is what makes it a nice place to be. It is small enough for them to get to know you a bit and for example they learnt that I liked my tea made with boiling not warm water and this was always done for me, without any problem. The bed was comfortable and the room and en suite completely adequate with a good shower. Hot water was reliable. I would stay here again.

There is a useful small but well equipped gym.

Also very helpful is that the hotel is on top of a small supermarket, and next door to a bank. There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance, and there is a great (and very cheap by UK standards) spa across the road - Boston Day Spa.

Where there is room for improvement is in the food in the restaurant. It is cheap but pretty basic. The worst meal I had was a curry where the meat was mostly gristle. The soup was edible but not good - a chick pea soup more stock than anything with just the odd chick pea in it. I noticed that other guests stuck mostly to the hamburger and chips type menus and it may be that these are a better choice.

Breakfast is fine but limited. Fabulous fruit: paw paw and melon on most days with mango often there. The porridge was edible and they cooked a good omelette. The rest of the cooked breakfast looked highly suspect to me although my colleague ate them and pronounced them good.

They sell wine by the glass- one type only and ran out on a Tuesday. Despite the fact the the supermarket under the hotel sold exactly that brand, and that the supermarket (I was told) is owned by the same company, it did not help in the procurement process: it took until the Saturday for them to get more red wine because 'the buyer was away'.

Finally it is worth noting that this hotel is on a very busy road and my room was over-looking the road which made it very noisy. There are rooms on the other side of the hotel which would be much quieter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face out on to the front and the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spend 6 days here on a business trip. Took a suite for $150 as opposed to the $120 for a single room.

The rooms are fine, fairly quiet and with plenty of space, including a fridge and a safe. The furniture functional rather than anything special. The gym is excellent by Addis standards with plenty of machines which are reasonably up to date. My one meal in the resturant did not inspire another try.

The area is fine with several shops, bars and resturants within walking distance.

The staff were sometimes helpful but certainly did not go out of their way to provide information that may be not a usual request.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Still making the transition from a socialist economy, Ethiopia now has a growing number of privately-operated hotels and guest houses. Compared with the old state-operated enterprises (such as the old Ghion Hotel, which has some of the best gardens in the city, by the way) these new establishments are very entrepreneurial, which has both positive and negative aspects.

The Wassamar is a good example of this, being a new building wedged into a tiny space along a very busy road (Bole Rd, also known as Africa Ave.) and built over a supermarket (really just a largish grocery store); the entrance is so close to another hotel (KZ Hotel) that you need to look twice before entering to make sure where you are. Since there isn't room for a lobby on the ground floor, it is two floors up, and designed around an attractive atrium. A lot is packed into a small space: several computers with free Internet form the "business center" on one edge of the lobby, whose other edges are the entrance to a well-equipped fitness center, a bar, the entrance to the restaurant, the reception desk, and the elevators (lifts).

Most of the floors have (free) WiFi, but I found the connection unreliable, and used my own cable to connect to the provided Ethernet outlet. When the power goes off (frequently) a generator takes over, but the routers need to reset and interruptions are common.

I was initially given a single room which was tiny, had a door which did not close completely, and was located over a very noisy street. I was then offered a suite, which was quite a bit larger and the additional price seemed a reasonable deal (more on that later). The furnishings are well below international standard: somewhat clunky furniture with chipped corners or veneer comping apart, a badly located water heater in the bathroom whose power cable hangs just over the toilet, plumbing fittings which are a knock-off of name brands but poorly-fitting; and a high step just inside the bathroom entrance which seems a safety hazard. (Possibly there because the bathtub is too deep to fit into the floor otherwise? Not sure...); very dim lighting and a very noisy exhaust fan. The bed was reasonably comfortable and an oldish TV is in each room (living area as well as bedroom).

The cleaning staff are friendly and thorough,and laundry service is fast and inexpensive, quite unusual for hotel service. The minibar in the room has a basic selection (bottled water, soft drinks, local beer) and prices again were very reasonable. There is no A/C, but since Addis is seldom very hot this is not a big problem. There is no swimming pool, and indeed no outdoor area apart from a terrace adjoining the restaurant, which is right above the noisy road.

Prices in the restaurant are also inexpensive, though quality and presentation are iffy. Only a couple of Ethiopian dishes are on the menu (spicy portions of meat - "tibs" - in spicy berbera sauce, served with injera); after overcooked pasta and a soggy main dish salad, I stuck to the local dishes. At breakfast (included in the price) there is a counter in the dining area with a cook preparing eggs and waffles, but unfortunately no exhaust fan. Selection of breads and rolls was poor, but sliced fruit was excellent (especially papaya). Other breakfast items on offer I found completely unappetizing (rice with corn, boiled eggs fried in a crust, sausages of dubious color). A couple of blocks away is a Kaldi coffee shop (with a knock-off of the green Starbucks logo) which serves vastly better coffee and even freshly-made pancakes, which were far more appealing.

At the time I made the reservation I was told I was being offered a special corporate discount rate of $95 ($160 for a suite). At check-out I learned that this is in fact the "rack rate" and there is no such corporate discount. The credit card reader was out of service, and this caused another issue with the desk staff having to manually process a payment sheet (backed by a photocopy of my passport). The free shuttle to the airport is a useful service, but the 20-seat bus seemed a waste for a single passenger.

As the local market matures one can expect a shakeout and some realignment of pricing; a Novotel is under construction along the same road, which could offer stiff competition at the middle of the international market, while the new Radisson is said to be giving the Sheraton a real challenge at the upper end; the old Hilton has been allowed to deteriorate, though a renovation is promised "any day now." The state-owned Ghion has unique grounds but lags under bureaucratic management and quirky furnishings similar to the Wassamar. The Wassamar seems to be thriving due to over-priced alternatives, but I doubt that it can continue to be competitive as better-furnished and maintained hotels appear in a similar price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wassamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamar Hotel

Address: Bole Road, Africa Avenue | in front of Japan Embassy, Addis Ababa 512, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wassamar welcomes you at the gate of Addis Ababa, 1.2 km from the airport with its attractive amenities and excellent service. Wassamar offers on-site indoor/outdoor restaurant with complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet, gym, sauna and steam room. For those interested in business, we offer small and large conference spaces with a capacity of 10 and 100 individuals. Both wired for internet access and sound systems and projectors. Come and see us, you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wassamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wassamar Hotel to your Saves list