We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bole subcity, Haile G / Selassie Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent 24 in Addis Ababa due to an unexpected Layover.

Ethiopian Air booked me into The Panorama and gave me some meal vouchers for my stay.

Id like to start off my saying this is not a 5 star Hotel. Not even By African Hotel Standards. Ive stayed at 2 star hotels in the middle of nowhere in Uganda better than this hotel.

The Food served was terrible, and to top it off as a guest you are only allowed 500ml of drinking water per meal, anything more and you have to pay. (Dont even think about drinking the tap water)

The staff are pretty much clueless, and it doesnt make it any better that they dont really speak English. It took about 4 different staff and 30min to try and get the safe in the room operational.

If you have no choice, walk across the street, there is a guest house.

Room Tip: Walk across the street and book yourself into the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roman K, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Tinus,
Panorama Hotel is a 4 star hotel dedicated to meet the service quality of our esteemed guests. We believe we have competent employees who are continuously trained to provide standardized service. And therefore, pride ourselves with quality service we offer our guests. In addition, we are known for our excellent menu where we have permanent clients who come to enjoy the delicious food and good ambiance.
It is reasonable to believe that there are cases where there might be flows in the process. We hope our guest will bring it to the attention of management for resolution. However, it was not the case with you and we do apologize.
We look forward to having you with us here at the Panorama
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
12
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent the night here after missing a flight at the airport; Ethiopian Airlines arranged a transit visa and insisted I stay at this hotel as part of that package. The value was excellent. For US$50, I received my night's accommodation, breakfast, lunch, dinner and transport to/from airport.

The beds were comfortable and clean enough. The showers had good hot water but the pressure was poor. There was no climate control and I shivered through much of the night. There was a lot of noise in the hotel throughout the night. People talking, doors closing and the hotel seems to have some sort of alarm that goes off incessantly if guests leave their doors open. One such alarm went on for about half an hour. Consequently, I did not sleep well at all. Wi-fi internet was an acceptable speed and better still - free!

The highlight of my stay was the breakfast: fresh fruit, cold cuts, a nicely done omelette, cereals, breakfast cakes, good strong coffee, as well as crepes and french toast. What a treat! (Lunch was not quite as good, and I went out for dinner.)

This hotel could really do with some noise management and offering their clients a heater or an extra blanket.

Despite my complaints, I would stay here again - the price is a good deal for Addis!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on 2 different occasions as part of an organized tour. Our first room was on an upper floor and the bed cover, bathroom and room were worn and dirty. It reminded me of cheap, roadside motels in the U.S. We just arrived in Ethiopia, so we assumed this was how hotels were there. On our second visit, the bedroom was on a lower floor and was completely different with nice bed linens and a clean and updated room. Internet access via wireless was fine and the staff moved slow, but were friendly. Food is dull and limited, but edible. It was my least favorite hotel experience after 2 weeks of travel in Ethiopia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a full day here after missing an airline connection. Hotel was nice, we had a corner room with a wrap around balcony. Balcony had great views but only short wall between next rooms balcony. Hotel was not very soundproof but was well cared for and very clean. Staff was helpful. Answered several questions and arranged a driver to take us around the city. Had ok wifi. Ethiopian Airlines gave us three meals at the hotel. Everything was very spicy but was good. Evening and morning were buffets but with limited selection.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ther rooms are clean and kept up quite well ... if something is broken or wrong it will be fixed or corrected quickly (after your request). The resurant food is not very good. The internet service is very inconsistant - from very slow to none (for several minutes). The location is in an area where there are no resturants to walk to. There is a pharmacy across the street which is nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have "better" internet service. You don't hear the dog's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice hotel, but a bit out of the way. Not far from the airport though and they run a complimentary shuttle. The rooms have 2 double beds which can be made into one. No amenities like shampoo or hairdryer. Staff very helpful.and free internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of the nicest rooms I stayed at in Ethiopia . Good size clean very comfortable in an old fashion way. The staff was excellent and there is free internet . Breakfast good. Down side it is a bit out of the way in a safe but mostly commercial area away from tourist sites . A Few dollars and a cab ride will get you where you want to go
Good access to airport as near the Ring road and a free shuttle there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: Bole subcity, Haile G / Selassie Street, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.