We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afro Land Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afro Land Lodge
Save
You added Afro Land Lodge to your Saves list
Gabon Road | Bole, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 131 Addis Ababa B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large rooms, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really nice hotel at a good location in Addis. The manager and reception girls are very friendly and willing to help you! Shuttle from airport is included. Rooms are very large and look like studio's complete with kitchen. Price/quality is really good. Breakfast is good as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
21
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The room was reasonably priced and was more or less a suite that consisted of a lounge room with TV and sofas and a small kitchenette; an en suite bathroom; and a separate bedroom.

Assefa, the manager, kindly picked me up at the airport; allowed me to check in and take a shower about 9:00 a.m.; arranged a brief taxi tour of Addis; and helped me sort out things with Ethiopian Airlines by phone. He also arranged a complimentary airport shuttle early the next morning.

On my request, he allowed me to stay in the comfortable lobby of the hotel during a 14 hour layover a week after my stay, rather than sit in the airport all day long. He also kindly gave me a ride to the airport for my departing flight at the end of my stay in Ethiopia.

His staff was also very helpful, recommending restaurants and banks, and sharing an adapter and the password to the wifi connection, even though I was not technically a guest at that point.

I highly recommend this hotel because of its cleanliness, the large rooms, the reasonable rates, and, above all, because of the manager and the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in Sept 2012 for five days. The hotel was the best we have stayed in. We have adopted twice from Ethiopia so we have been there many times. The staff were very friendly, and the manager was also very understanding. The breakfast was very good (recommend the pancakes) The services the hotel provide made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Afroland a number of times over the last year and really enjoyed our time there.

The rooms are large and clean, great for families as they have a small kitchenette and living room. Really good breakfast brought to your room and the staff are really welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The area (Bole Road) is great - lots of good coffee shops and restaurants and you can get food sent in if you like. They also sell beer and water in the hotel which is convenient.

We found reserving rooms easy via email and the airport pick ups and drop offs were great.

Overall, a really good place to stay and enjoy your time in Addis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Afro Land Lodge. We had a King apartment room that was spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast was great, the staff very attentive.

The only downside was that the construction on Bole Road made traffic horrendous, and it took a really long time to go any where by car.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Afro Land Lodge for the first of two trips for an international adoption. The staff always went above and beyond to make our stay great. Our King room was very spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful...especially the coffee! The only complaints would be that we sometimes had trouble with the water pressure in the shower and the internet was sometimes hard to get a signal. Otherwise, we would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Addis Ababa...in fact we had it highly recommended to us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Afro Land Lodge very much. The staff was gracious and very helpful, the rooms were beautiful and clean, and the location was very convenient. I highly recommend the Afro Land Lodge - and give three cheers to the wonderful employees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afro Land Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afro Land Lodge

Address: Gabon Road | Bole, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Afro Land Hotel Addis Ababa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afro Land Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.