We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas International Hotel

Atlas International Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Addis Ababa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlas International Hotel
Save
You added Atlas International Hotel to your Saves list
Mickiliand Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for five nights and I was very disappointed by the overall experience. To begin with one of the women front desk receptionists was quite rude to the point of arrogance and doesn't want to help guests (or at least she didn't help me) and her answers to my questions were very irritating. Then the room I was given was so small you can barely move in it. You can also not use the toilet properly as it has very little space for you to sit. I was therefore always facing the wrong direction whenever I used the toilet. You should also definitely try the bed physically before you book the room if you can. I think they have one of these cheap Chinese mattresses and it was painful for my back. The only reason I didn't move to another hotel was because the location was central and I leave very early in the morning and return late in the evening for a few hours of sleep. At 65 USD for such a poor room it is definitely expensive. If you are not interested in the location then I advise you to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have a great expriance staying in Atlas Hotel and Atlas Resort in Duckem, it is very clean friendly enviroment, convinient, location close to a buisness, Night Live, govenment,market area .close to the airport. great customer service, Recomended. enjoy

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. I don't know what the other reviewer is talking about - everybody spoke English. I would definitely stay again... it's worth saving money that would be wasted on one of the major branded hotels. Even if you book online, call to be sure your room is reserved.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My wife is Ethiopian so we travel there a lot. This hotel has 'local rate' rooms and 'western rate' rooms. It is clean and centrally located - easy to get to from BOLE airport. The 'local rooms' are fine if you are on a budget. Service is 'good' by Ethiopian standards. Restaurant and bar are fine. Internet is free. Could do with a lick of paint but overall it is very good value for money. There are plenty of hotels that reach western standards but you pay four times more.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed at Atlas Hotel in January 2010 in a single room for $55.00 per night. The room was clean and comfortable and relatively quiet even though the hotel is situated at the intersection of two main roads with high volumns of traffic. Meal quality is very average with menu choices similar to those of other hotels of this quality level. All staff were extremely helpful, courteous and available in more than necessary numbers. Security staff in the parking area which is also the main access point from the street to the hotel premises are competant, professional, helpful and overly courteous. My biggest beef with the Atlas Hotel is its location. When you leave the hotel on foot during daylight hours you face the normal Addis hoard of street beggars with their persistant pursuit until you give them something; a single Birr (approx 8 cents) or even a few relatively worthless coins normally ends their harrassing behaviour. As soon as the sun goes down the streets around Atlas become a prime location for prostitutes who display their wares; so to speak.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Only one-night stay, with breakfast. The structure is modern, clean and nice looking. My room (on an high floor) was clean, spacious, but without cupboard! Bathroom was almost bigger than the room, equipped with bidet, but without an electric socket! So if you want to use some electric device, you must use TV-socket in the room…. Breakfast was good.
All in all, a nice hotel but some traveller may find it a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

One of the worst hotel I have ever experienced in my entire life. The room was dusty, old, and had flees. TV was not working, the food was terrible and the service extremely poor. English is not spoken, or spoken very bad. When we arrived they told us that each room was 15 USD per night, so we thought the price was sort of fair for what was provided. . However, the real cost was 50 USD per night: the hostess confused between fifteen and fifty. SO we had to pay (each) a total of 350 USD after an horrible week.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.6 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 83 in Addis Ababa
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#8 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#7 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Addis Regency Hotel
Addis Regency Hotel
#2 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Addis
Sheraton Addis
#6 of 83 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edna Addis Hotel
Edna Addis Hotel
#51 of 83 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas International Hotel

Address: Mickiliand Road, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.