We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Intercontinentaladdis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Intercontinentaladdis to your Saves list
Hotel Intercontinentaladdis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guinea Conakry Street | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 251) 115 180 444. Fax: (+251) 115 540 090, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Gastonia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Okay hotel....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, service is okay. The rooms are slightly cramped and the bathrooms score a 5 out of 10 for me. they are clean enough but questionable. By the way - the A/C's don't work in most hotels and many hotels in Addis do not have A/C's.

The location is relatively close to the Bole Airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
4
11
9
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here when I was upgraded on stopover between Pointe-Noire and Jo'burg. This is a reasonable hotel although in need of some renovation and service could be improved as some light difficulties in the restaurants. The room and food were reasonable and so as long as you're not expecting usual Intercontinental standards, you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Western Finland, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

my expectations we not high but staff was nice and helpful. The pool on the top floor was really nice. Our room though did smell heavy of bug spray which wasn't so pleasant but location was pretty central, good breakfast and free shuttle to airport. Go though with your own plan, the concierge wasn't too helpful regarding things to do.

Room Tip: get a room not overlooking the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown,Guyana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is quite a nice place. I was on business and the location was great for me since it is near to the UN and other similar offices. The lobby area is well done with lots of comfortable seating. The room was fine for the most part although the water pressure was a bit iffy and the plumbing needed upgrading. The Internet wasn't so great and my iPad couldn't connect.. They deliver a red rose to the room every evening, which was a nice touch. The hotel is in the midst of a commercial area so you have the option of eating out and doing some shopping without having to get into a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights in November 2012.

The rooms are really spacious and have a safe, large comfy bed, seating area and balcony (overlooking a building site but a balcony non-the-less). What I found strange is that none of the rooms have AC. My room in November was way too hot for me and whilst I was told I could have a fan this was very noisy as was the street outside so opening the balcony window was never much help.

The food isn't brilliant and whilst there is a pool it was so hot that it was hard to do lengths in.

Saying all this there is nothing 'wrong' as such with this hotel it just has quirks that mean you could most likely find better. The staff are very helpful and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel staff was extremely friendly at check-in and out, at the bar and the restaurant.
Standard of finishing works in room and bathroom is rather poor. I stayed twice for one night and got an upgrade to a junior suite, which provided only more space.
Food in the restaurant is good, nothing very fancy at acceptable prices for foreigners (but high for Ethiopia).
No Wi-Fi available but connection with cable worked properly
Transfer to and from airport well organized

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a good hotel with good value and easy walking access to the UN conference center. Request a high floor, corner suite for a great room with a balcony, sofa, comfortable chairs, and extra bed. Internet is free unlike some of the more expensive hotels in Addis although only wired connections are available in the room. At this hotel, one feels as though one is part of the city as it is accessible from the balcony. As usual in Addis, the staff are exceptionally nice and helpful. The only word of caution that I have is to call a few days of your arrive to confirm the availability of your room upon your arrival. The hotel has a general late policy check-out (6 pm) which means that if you arrive in the early evening, unannounced, your room may not be ready. A phone call ahead can take care of this. The hotel also has a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Intercontinentaladdis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinentaladdis

Address: Guinea Conakry Street | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa 251) 115 180 444. Fax: (+251) 115 540 090, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinentaladdis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Intercontinentaladdis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Intercontinentaladdis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.