We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Intercontinentaladdis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Intercontinentaladdis to your Saves list
Hotel Intercontinentaladdis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Georgetown,Guyana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very convenient for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is quite a nice place. I was on business and the location was great for me since it is near to the UN and other similar offices. The lobby area is well done with lots of comfortable seating. The room was fine for the most part although the water pressure was a bit iffy and the plumbing needed upgrading. The Internet wasn't so great and my iPad couldn't connect.. They deliver a red rose to the room every evening, which was a nice touch. The hotel is in the midst of a commercial area so you have the option of eating out and doing some shopping without having to get into a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
4
12
12
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 nights in November 2012.

The rooms are really spacious and have a safe, large comfy bed, seating area and balcony (overlooking a building site but a balcony non-the-less). What I found strange is that none of the rooms have AC. My room in November was way too hot for me and whilst I was told I could have a fan this was very noisy as was the street outside so opening the balcony window was never much help.

The food isn't brilliant and whilst there is a pool it was so hot that it was hard to do lengths in.

Saying all this there is nothing 'wrong' as such with this hotel it just has quirks that mean you could most likely find better. The staff are very helpful and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel staff was extremely friendly at check-in and out, at the bar and the restaurant.
Standard of finishing works in room and bathroom is rather poor. I stayed twice for one night and got an upgrade to a junior suite, which provided only more space.
Food in the restaurant is good, nothing very fancy at acceptable prices for foreigners (but high for Ethiopia).
No Wi-Fi available but connection with cable worked properly
Transfer to and from airport well organized

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a good hotel with good value and easy walking access to the UN conference center. Request a high floor, corner suite for a great room with a balcony, sofa, comfortable chairs, and extra bed. Internet is free unlike some of the more expensive hotels in Addis although only wired connections are available in the room. At this hotel, one feels as though one is part of the city as it is accessible from the balcony. As usual in Addis, the staff are exceptionally nice and helpful. The only word of caution that I have is to call a few days of your arrive to confirm the availability of your room upon your arrival. The hotel has a general late policy check-out (6 pm) which means that if you arrive in the early evening, unannounced, your room may not be ready. A phone call ahead can take care of this. The hotel also has a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had a very nice stay here for just a night. THe room was comfortable and clean and quiet, and the service was good. Breakfast was fine and the lobby area was welcoming and relaxed. I was prepared to be disappointed when I found out that it was not related to the hotel chain of the same name, but was quite pleased with the hotel. I think it's a very good option in Addis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is not related to the other famous Intercontinental chain of hotels. Hence do not be misled by the name or the 5 star ratings on the hotel website. Though it cannot be termed as 5 star, I would rate the hotel as a decent one. The room rentals are priced on the higher side though.

The rooms are large and spacious with a nice comfortable bed, flat screen TV, a private phone and an attached bath. The hotel has a conference room whose sound system is just adequate. The lunch provided during the conference was very good. Particularly, I liked the chicken cooked in local style. At the end of the conference, the hotel arranged for complementary cake and pastries which was a nice gesture from the hotel management.

Additional facilities include a roof top swimming pool, steam and sauna bath. The view from the top is good though there is nothing much to see. There was some construction work going on next to the hotel site. The location is ok with some shops nearby but nothing noteworthy. It is quickly reachable from the airport. The hotel arranges for pickup from the airport. The security people would be willing to wave down a taxi if you want to go somewhere. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a money changer /bank counter inside the hotel building itself thus saving the hassle of searching for one in the city.

Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

the rooms were big but the because the foyer is open the noise of the music in the evening can be heard in the rooms. Nice little balcony but not much to see a building site and some shacks when I was there.
breakfast was good and varied,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#23 of 81 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
0.1 mi away
Elilly International Hotel
Elilly International Hotel
#13 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Cazanchis
2.1 mi away
Jupiter International Hotel - Bole
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Addis
Sheraton Addis
#5 of 81 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Intercontinentaladdis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Intercontinentaladdis

Address: Kassanchiz | Kirkos district, Kazanchis area, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Intercontinentaladdis 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Intercontinentaladdis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Intercontinentaladdis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.